WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight ...
Trailer for "Central I...
Trailer for Melissa Mc...
Avatar
User Reviews
OVERVIEWCASTPREVIEWREVIEWDVDTRAILERSPOSTERSIMAGES
NEWSBOX OFFICEBUZZ CHARTUSER REVIEWSQUIZZES
Write Your Own Review
User Name:
Members Only (Register)

Have You Seen This Film?

Rating:

Title:


Review:


Avatar Exceeds
December 19th, 2009 [5:59:48]
 10/10

drgnbear: There has been much criticism of the simple story but frankly I can't imagine anything more complex competing with the visuals. I saw it in 3D and yes I would say it fundamentally changes something about film for me. It was so real so realized as a piece of visual art. I can't wait to see it again in IMAX 3D. Go see it... Go see it in 3D. Just amazing.

avatar
December 28th, 2009 [10:49:30]
 8/10

papajohn4169: very good movie dialogue was a little off. 8/10

Avatar 3D.... missing something???
December 29th, 2009 [12:33:47]
 6/10

Jdconfor: Hi All,
Please help me understand something. I just saw Avatar in 3D at a local IMAX theatre. Yes, I really enjoyed the show and the special effects were impressive as was the beautiful scenery that the 3d images seemed to highlight. However, can someone please explain to my why there was an extreme lack of things "popping out of the screen"? If you've ever seen 3D at lets say... MGM or Universal Studio's, their presentations seem to pop out of the screen so they literally appear right in your face and you feel as if you could reach out and touch them. This movie could have had a ton of scenes go from good to amazing had they used this effect. For example, the seeds of the old tree, as they are floating down how much cooler would it have looked if they seemed to be floating in the theater?? Could someone please explain to me why I feel like this movie was lacking the classic 3D imaging that makes you want to see 3D?? Thanks.

Avatar...Again
January 5th, 2010 [12:55:26]
 8/10

subupamerica: Love the movie...but I seen this movie before with my kids, it was called "ferngully the last rainforest" just cartoon verus that came out in 1992 and I guess James came up with this plot in 1994 mmmm. Check it out! Still a great movie.

Action packed, emotional ride.
January 10th, 2010 [12:04:33]
 9/10

makingcircles: I had low expectations for the story of this film based on what I read. Half way through I forgot about that because I was really drawn into the world and characters. This is a wonderful movie with a good message.

The Best Sci-Fi Movie ever
January 18th, 2010 [1:20:22]
 10/10

Spedattack: No offense to worstpreviews but i hav to say u r stupid to give this movie a 5. This was the best movie i saw this year and i dont usually say that about a movie. The special effects r gorgous, the acting is flawless, and although the story is simple this is a lengendary accomplishment. And might i add something the story in Star Wars is dirt simple but its the most valueble movie franchise today so no one has the right to judge this movie's story.

Ice Cream
January 22nd, 2010 [3:51:29]
 10/10

Demiser of D: Your analogy of watching Avatar without the visuals is like having a bowl of ice cream, except for without the ice cream. The Bowl is a solid foundation to fall back apon and keep yourself grounded in reality, while the ice cream is the amazing part of the movie that can draw you in and make you love the world.

The love bit is clearly defined; It is over the passage of time, and unless you want to have a 4 hour movie, that is the best way to go around this. Remember, this is an adventure/romance, not just a romance like titanic was.

One of the ideas behind jake was that he became the VIEWERS 'avatar', allowing you to take his place throughout the film. That is why james cameron loved the fact that he seemed like the sort of guy you'd like to have a beer with. You can picture yourself better through his eyes.

What seems to be your trouble is that in your attempts to remain aloof and review the movie, you missed some of the fundamental parts of the movie. You didn't allow yourself to be immersed into the reality of the movie, to feel with the characters and with the world. If you were to do this, you would quickly realize that if the characters were any more dynamic and powerful, they would overwhelm you and draw you back into the real world before you are ready.*

Because it, in essence, becomes your avatar into the Avatar world, and allows you to experience the world so well, i give this movie a 10.


*@jdconfor, the same reason applies. The idea is to draw YOU into the MOVIE, not to expand the movie into your world, like other movies have done. Thus, while to do something like you suggested would be quite cool, it would detract from the movie in general.

EPIC!
January 31st, 2010 [9:23:17]
 10/10

the joker: This movie was extremely good and I was suprised with the great effects. This is a movie that is along the lines with Lord of the Rings.

Visuals are awesome. Story feels lacking.
March 10th, 2010 [5:54:29]
 7/10

gcerda88: I believe this movie is way overrated. The oscars felt that way too. It has a cliche story. The only thing that makes it quite entertaining to watch is how it felt so very real. The movie is also the best to use the 3D gimmick. It almost not makes it feel like one.

Avatar Misunderstood - Again
May 12th, 2010 [4:34:42]
 10/10

mkp: Like most movie reviwers who diss Avatar you have totally missed the point. A common criticisim is that the plot has been done before..Pocahontas, Furn Gulley, Terra,etc. The new Robin Hood movie is going to be out Friday. I wonder if one of the complaints will be that the story has been done before? Spiderman has been done before, Batman too. Yet none of the films of either series has ever been accused of using an old story line! Really, it doesn't matter what parts of the Avatar story line is similar to whatever. There is only one point to consider - AVATAR does it better than anyone else. Avatar blew everyone else out of the water - Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas, Furn Gulley, Terra, King Kong, etc. A lot of attention has been paid to the CGI and 3D effects. But these were only used to bring us into the world of Pandora and to advance the story line. They were not an end into themselves, and no, the 3D did not need to make things "fly out at you." That was NOT the point. The point was to emerse the audience into an alien world. I can only surmise as to the reasons behind the hatred directed towards Avatar by critics and movie industry insiders. I guess James Cameron must have pissed a lot of people off in the past. Or maybe it is just cool to diss what is popular. Avatar is an epic film that manges to work it's magic, give us a great story and characters we actually care about - in a mere 3 hours and forty minutes!

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/moviereviews.php?id=266#ixzz0nkWlgIpX

Avatar Mania
June 20th, 2011 [5:32:38]
 10/10

ReeceM: One of my 2010 favorite movies was Avatar by James Cameron and I didn't hesitate to turn for my personal loans to watch and buy a copy of Avatar DVD. What I love about James Cameron is offering and bringing out a good fusion of 3D system.

Situs Judi Poker
March 23rd, 2018 [3:16:48]
 7/10

situ judi poker: situs judi poker


Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton

Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart

Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy

Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"

First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart

Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online

Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel

Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"

Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller

First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters

First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"

New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"

Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint

Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film

Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth

New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved