WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: "SNL" Makes Fun of British Gangster Films

Posted: February 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: SNL Makes Fun of British Gangster FilmsSubmit Comment
The latest episode of "Saturday Night Live" was hosted by Russell Brand and featured several skits making fun of British people, including a fake trailer for "Don' You Go Rounin' Roun to Re Ro."

This trailer is for anyone who has ever watched a movie like "Snatch" and had to turn on the subtitles to understand the British accent. I have stopped recommending that movie to friends when I realized that no one can understand the dialogue.

Look below for the trailer, which stars Brand, Fred Armisen and Bill Hader.

Trailer:


Source: NBC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 71 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 3:29:43 AM

This trailer is for anyone who has ever watched a movie like "Snatch" and had to turn on the subtitles to understand the British accent

I can't adam and Eve you come out with that load of old pony, my old china
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 3:51:55 AM

Come on, even us Brits don't understand Russell Brand all the time
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:09:01 AM

So it's for everyone who don't have english has mother tongue? That's a pretty big chunk of world.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:37:22 AM

Yeah, its called ENGLISH! not american! how can we be wrong in our own tongue? lol
Ari Gold writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:01:10 AM

If the main bloke has been in jail for 17 years why is his daughter so young? That's his daughter right? I probably wasn't paying attention..

You took the Ashes you pommie bastards but Warnie took Hurley! At least we got something..

I like these British movies, I find all Australians understand them. Brad Pitt in Snatch was a little hard to follow though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:10:14 AM

AytBall- Too right.

"I have stopped recommending that movie to friends when I realized that no one can understand the dialogue."

Alex you're on thin ice my pedigree chum, and i'll be under it when it breaks... can't even see the video but i assume its full of dodgy accetns and tired cliches. Snatch is a beautiful film but i've gotta say Lock Stock tops it in terms of the plot.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:15:15 AM

Almost watched this video til I saw that it involved Brand. To all my British peeps who frequent this site, please tell me you don't actually find this guy even slightly funny.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:22:33 AM

lol that was pretty good.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:24:24 AM

Thing with Snatch i bet it's the Brad Pitt Character you don't understand and he's an American playing a f*cking Pikey and a Pikey isn't British and you know what,

All us Brits f*cking Hate Pikeys !!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:26:48 AM

Johnny-

A lot of Brits hate Brand and don't find him funny at all.

But he's with K.Perry so we like to cut him a little slack now and then.

trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:27:46 AM

Just to Add he's better when he does stand up than when he's in a movie IMO
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:37:30 AM

Cinema-

Agree Lock Stock just edges out Snatch, More for it's originality when it first came out , Snatch was better than RockNrolla.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:05:03 AM

johnny- im from england and i love russell brand. Mostly as a comedian btu all of his arrogance is farcical he knows hwo ridiculous the celebrity game is but revels in it. People see him as a junkie and what not but if you listen to his interviews or stand up he's actually extremely intelligent and intellectual and isn't scared to break the rules of celebrity culture and challenge them. I probably relate to him more than most because of his sex and drug addiction, i know he's not for everyone and he pretty much plays himself in films but if you judge him on his comedy and wife, he's done pretty well. Everyone take a look at his interview with Paxman he rips him to shreads. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-NCDovAWB8
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:07:33 AM

Trailer- Yeah definetly agree, Rock n Rolla wasn't in the same league as the other two but i appreciate that he tried to make it different so as not to be seen as a 1 trick pony. Ritchie's a really talented film maker for making something like lock stock so entertaining with a lack of amazing actors.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:17:05 AM

Nice Link Cinema, Anyone who gives Paxman and his condescending interviewing style the run around can't be all bad can he.

That phone call with Ross was the making of him as it turned out and she should have been grateful for any sex she got, The Minger lol
Trip Maverick writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:19:10 AM

Hilarious!

YEah no one could understand Brad Pitt in snatch first time around. What a lot of americans need to understand is that Guy Ritchie is a wanna be c*ckney so his movies are just a little OTT.

But still I love Bill Hader in anything he does.. Man if it werent for him and Andy Samberg SNL would be in the toilet.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:27:03 AM

@Ari Gold

He was meant to be hard to follow, but it still is an awesome performence

Notforme....formema!

His what?

HIS MA!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:31:47 AM

trailer- i know he actually confuses paxman with his intelligence and forces him to reword his questions. Paxman even admits that the whole Manuelgate scandal was over blown and yep Manuels grandaughter is a gothic munter she loved the attention. BBC are just c*nts anyway it won't be long til Frankie Boyle gets assasinated lol
jdl107 writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:37:05 AM

@Trailer: Did not know you were a brit my good man.

But yeah, I have heard that those Pikeys are bastards. Some guy posted a big story on imDb on the Snatch forum, they sound like a bunch of dirty fellows.
Rambo writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:42:40 AM

it was funny but they made it too long...1.30 min would have been enough...
Ari Gold writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:29:05 AM

@Skip

Yeah I realised, I thought Brad Pitt did a sick job, I'm not complaining.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:31:53 AM

Lots of us brits on here it seems, yeah pikeys stink! but they have good taste in caravans...(trailers)

Perrywinkle blue!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:46:32 AM

WHY THE FECK DO I WANNA CARAVAN WITH NO FEKKIN WHEELS?
Farradin writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:58:57 AM

Americans speak good English but can't understand different dialects!

In England there are many dialects, most people in London don't speak 'The Queen's' or the c*ckney you hear in most film. Londoners usually speak an amalgamation of the two, often with a slight West Indian twang in the less affluent areas.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:30:51 AM

Farradin- I agree but americans do have different dialects aswell obviously not the large variety taht we have but southern americas talk differently to north. I think the main difference is english people are conditioned to american culture from a young age waatching cartoons, films, music. Where as a lot of americans have no idea what england is actually like and believe all of the stereotypes including how we talk.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:38:15 AM

jdl107 -

I sure am my friend and those pikeys can be VERY bad news.

Helpful hint:
Never let them lay your drive way, lol
coldplayesence writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:03:28 AM

Gotta love Bill Hader, mate.
masKritic writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:29:34 AM

Is Russell Brand to the British like Dane Cook to Americans? Because i f*ckin hate Dane Cook.
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:40:40 AM

RACISTS ;), gives me the right f*cking hump this tripe,yon lot want to av a butchers at yersel.f*cking septics at it again can't understand the Queens(God bless her) English...need kick up the arris bloody colonial window lickers....the only way you can make this up is to kidnapp Russell Bland and beat the sh*t out of the bird nest headed f*cker...the ONLY way.
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:43:04 AM

And i might have to have a gander at Snatch tonight.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:46:30 AM

Gander at Snatch , great way to spend an evening .....
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:49:15 AM

This scene from Snatch is one of All Time Favorites, The use of the Stranglers Golden Brown is Awesome IMO


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag_HToYi_Uc
SACdaddy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:50:56 AM

LOL now that's some funny sh*t. My dad is a big crime drama fan but after watching Lock Stock (the best of the bunch IMO) he swore off Brit flicks. Its kind of a shame because these movies fit his film needs so well, but he just can't seem to understand anything they say. I on the other hand love them and have never really had that hard of a time understanding the language. But, of all things, I did struggle to understand ANYTHING Ray Wintson said in Edge of Darkness which was an American film. He can be tough on us poor dumb Yanks.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 9:53:37 AM

FYI, I could barely make out a word from Robert Downey Jr. in Sherlock Holmes. Was that a good Brit accent or not?
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:02:20 AM

It wasn't as good as d*ck Van Dyke's in Mary Poppins ..
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:12:48 AM

Ray Winstone does tend to have a little mubble in his voice sometimes in his films add to that his strong Eastend accent and i guess it could be a little difficult to understand him sometimes.
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:15:43 AM

@Sac crap imo.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:15:56 AM

Not sure if you US guys would have seen this Ray Winstone film, This is a major cult classic here in the UK

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yn7o35NcJwo


I have never stepped foot in a greenhouse again after seeing the Sc*m, lol
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:16:58 AM

@TT yeah he does tear the arse out of it sometimes.
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:21:52 AM

@TT still shake with fear when i go to the garden center cos of that....
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:32:54 AM

hahahaha !!

I know what you mean mate, I buy all my plants for the garden on-line ....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:52:05 AM

SAC- Downey Juniors accent wasn't a bad attempt but he still couldn't get certain words to sound right. I don't think ive ever seen an american nail the english accent.
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:56:59 AM

And that because what they regard as a real English accent is anything but. God help em if they bump into a Georgdie.f*ck even spell check can't understand proper English.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:58:35 AM

Renee Zellweger Bridget Jones Diary was pretty good i thought (accent not the film)
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:06:53 AM

They are always to plummy,my father car is a jaguar etc.Shameless should be shown to all yanks in English lessons.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:09:55 AM

@ Trailer - "I fell sir"

ewwww lol

"THIS FACKIN TOOL!"
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:11:07 AM

@ rocket - up to episode 6 of the US version of shameless....rather than try understand it they just remade it! lol
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:13:30 AM

AYT- LOL , Classic
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:13:32 AM

They did what? wankers
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:14:47 AM

Remember this, A proper English lesson lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4VFqbroi1I&feature=related
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:16:09 AM

I didn't know they remade Shamless in the US WTF and does it work ???
rocketman writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 11:22:16 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxuEBUXJ2rQ&feature=related
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 12:04:35 PM

What the f*ck? How can yo uremake shameless in america its abotu council estates and chavs, what do they have hilbillys and farm houses.

Rocket- My mate from california went to manchester for 2 monrths he said he understood about 5 sentences the first time.

Trailer- Renee's was actually quite good in those films yeah and johnny depp in pirates but people dont really use that c*ckney accent its a bit over the top.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 12:09:21 PM

My verdict on Shameless US as a brit, Pretty much a carbon copy story and event wise, the dirty women are hotter, some really good actors in there, but still feels too british, just not used to seeing americans acting that way. worth checking out tho.
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:12:54 PM

You convinced me with part about the dirty women are hotter !!
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:29:24 PM

I had little problem understanding Snatch. And english is not even my first language. Except for pikey's of course.

@ayt

Alex you're on thin ice my pedigree chum, and i'll be under it when it breaks...

^ 5 stars
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:37:21 PM

@tt

Classic.

Tommy - "The Tit" - is praying. And if he isn't - he f*cking should be.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 4:42:22 PM

@ Trailer - Franks eldest daughter is the hot chick from The Day After tomorrow....

http://www.porhomme.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/emmy-rossum-details-main.jpg

and its pretty erm.....rude lol
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:01:59 PM

Kurskij - lol, Just love that scene, very cool

AYT- PHHHHHEW !!!

God Damn that is rude enough for me ..
SACdaddy writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 5:50:25 PM

@Trailer: Lol never seen Sc*m but that scene was awesome! Hard to believe Ray was ever that young and skinny. I thought they assembled him in a British lab out of severed body parts from fatass British gangsters.

Btw, the only words I understood in the entire scene were "I'M THE BIG DADDY NOW!!!"
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 6:27:38 PM

SAC-

LOL , Can't tell how many times we used that line at school.....

It's a good movie, In fact it's a remake of a BBC TV production from 1977 called the Sc*m.

The BBC made it and then banned it for nearly 20 years or so.

It's pretty much the same story with about 90% of the original cast coming back including Ray and is again Directed by Alan Clarke (Made in Britain starring Tim Roth another good TVM and Roth is Awesome).

Worth watching if you can, Very Tough viewing at times though.
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 7:42:09 PM

Funny, I guess, but like so many SNL sh*ts, they stretched the joke well beyond it's proper application.

In other words, too little material in too long a f*cking skit.

And, while I understand Snatch's dialogue fairly well, its Chad Kroeger that truly befuddles my ears.
Rodan writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 8:35:52 PM

Haha this is the only funny thing I've seen from SNL in a long time. I love these movies but occasionally I do have to turn on the subtitles. "Snatch" was fine though. The one I really need to go back and rewatch is "Layer Cake" and if I recall correctly, that's more because I didn't understand any of the expressions they were using than because I didn't understand what words they were saying. I don't care if I need subtitles or not, the British Gangster film "genre" is great. "The Long Good Friday" is next on my list.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on February 15th, 2011 at 10:06:28 PM

Knife!
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 2:32:58 AM

Rodan-

The Long Good Friday is Bob Hoskins finest hour my friend, he eats the screen up as Harold as the man who thinks he can take on the IRA and Helen Hirren as his wife is brilliant as well.

Simply a stunning british Gangster film, Enjoy !
The Real Joker writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 3:06:50 AM

wow, this movie seems alot better than American movies. I'll watch "Don' You Go Rounin' Roun to Re Ro." any time!
darkraven28 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 7:59:04 AM

f*cking brilliant.

What da fook i gon dew wit a caravan dat got no fecking wheeeels????!!!
darkraven28 writes:
on February 16th, 2011 at 8:00:32 AM

Oh yeah. f*ck BAMBI, GOD DAMN IT!!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 12:16:20 AM

that was actually pretty funny
Trip Maverick writes:
on February 17th, 2011 at 1:04:45 PM

Trailer - I'm the Daddy Now!
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2011 at 2:23:35 AM

lol !!!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved