WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is Fox Destroying our Favorite Movies?

Posted: August 28th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is Fox Destroying our Favorite Movies?Submit Comment
In just the last couple of days, I have heard numerous directors and lots of fans complain about 20th Century Fox and the way they deal with some of their upcoming movies.

First, there was "Watchmen." The studio announced that Warner Bros did not have the rights to make the movie and as a result they will do everything in their power to sue, win and then simply throw the movie away.

Then, there was "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." Director Gavin Hood had a big set built for a scene which he requested to look "dark, dinghy and somber." After being away from his newly designed set for a few days, he returns to find it completely repainted on orders from Fox co-chairman and CEO Tom Rothman. The now different set became brighter and less depressing. The source says that he was utterly surprised to see what has happened. But it is nothing new from Rothman.

Then there was "Babylon AD." Director Mathieu Kassovits revealed that 20th Century Fox kept sending their lawyers who made everything difficult. "I never had a chance to do one scene the way it was written or the way I wanted it to be. The script wasn't respected. Bad producers, bad partners, it was a terrible experience."

In the end, "Babylon AD," which is based on a French novel "Babylon Babies" by Maurice Georges Dantec, fails to deliver the book's messages. "It's pure violence and stupidity," he admits. "The movie is supposed to teach us that the education of our children will mean the future of our planet. All the action scenes had a goal, instead parts of the movie are like a bad episode of 24. I should have chosen a studio that has guts. I'm ready to go to war against them, but I can't because they don't give a sh*t."

And now, there is "The Silver Surfer." It was previously rumored that director Alex Proyas (I, Robot) would go on to helm a "Silver Surfer" spin-off. Proyas recently revealed that he would never consider making that film. But why? "Because it's a Fox picture," he said. "And I'm determined never to work with them ever again because of my experience on 'I,Robot.'"

What can be done about a studio like this that's holding rights to some potentially great movies? I don't know for sure, but I can tell you that they got very worried when fans began spreading the message to avoid seeing "Australia," "Wolverine" and other large Fox movies. To appease the fans, Fox has considered letting "Watchmen" go on as planned.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 7 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PoisonApple88 writes:
on August 28th, 2008 at 4:49:00 PM

you know I hate to miss out on wolverine but Fox did it to themselves...and besides if they continue to interfere with the wolverine movie, it may not even be worth seeing. And maybe this would explain why I, Robot blew. Hey Fox! Quit screwing with the fans, viewers, and even the people you hire to make quality films
swoooop writes:
on August 28th, 2008 at 6:12:29 PM

I mean, how many blows to the head are you willing to take before you see the truth? Fox have some issues man, and I hope every single dissent director avoids Fox, so the studio and their lawyers rot inn their multimillion dollar homes.
NuclearWessels writes:
on August 28th, 2008 at 11:29:37 PM

FOX, just change replace the 'o' with a 'u' in your name and get it over with...
Debeik writes:
on August 29th, 2008 at 3:37:23 AM

How about Vin Diesel playing the Red Skull?
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 29th, 2008 at 1:43:31 PM

Fox's Heads are obviously failed film makers trying to control and change Directors' and Writers' artistic visions in hopes of making prfit over art/entertainment. It's a sad time indeed over there. Reminds me of how sad working at Disney was a few years back before Pixar's head got steering control. I'm over Fox with their disgusting attempts at blocking Watchmen when they sat on their no talent asses with that property for years.
Kame writes:
on August 31st, 2008 at 11:21:23 AM

You forgot to mention the horrible, horrible upcoming Dragon Ball movie. They changed everything about the character. Instead of being a very powerful boy who grew up alone on a mountain, they make Goku an unpopular highschool student who gets bullied. His future wife, Chi-Chi who also grew up on a mountain and was raised by her father, is the popular girl who dates the bully. Yeah, it's more of a crappy rip-off of Spider-Man than anything like DB. Did I mention they casted Justin Chatwin, the skinnies, wimpiest guy in Hollywood to play Goku, who's supposed to be buff? They also changed characters like Roshi from being an old, bald, bearded pervert to a middle-aged clean-cut man.
James.Speed writes:
on December 15th, 2008 at 2:11:37 AM

Sorry, but as the war between Watchmen fans and X-Men fans continue, I'm siding with X-Men. I think its imature to say 'hey guys, dont go and see Australia or Wolverine, cause Warner bros didnt have the rights to make our little movie.'

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved