WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Daddy's Home" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg
Jun 20th, 2015
Julia Stiles to Return for "Bourne 5," Viggo Mortensen May Play Villain
Jun 20th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says Gambit Won't Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 20th, 2015
First Look at "Ghostbusters" Reboot, Slimer Will Return
Jun 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Babylon AD" Director Says Movie is Stupid

Posted: August 26th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Babylon AD" Director Says Movie is StupidSubmit Comment
"Babylon AD" director Mathieu Kassovitz is not a happy man and he is making it very clear. In an interview with AMCTV, he reveals: "I never had a chance to do one scene the way it was written or the way I wanted it to be. The script wasn't respected. Bad producers, bad partners, it was a terrible experience."

He blames 20th Century Fox for "sending lawyers who were only looking at all the commas and the dots. They made everything difficult from A to Z." Then the studio interfered with the editing of the film, cutting it down to 93 minutes. This even astounded Vin Diesel, the star of the film, who was quoted as saying: "Am I even in the movie any more, or am I on the cutting room floor?"

According to Kassovitz, "Babylon AD," which is based on a French novel "Babylon Babies" by Maurice Georges Dantec, fails to deliver the book's messages. "It's pure violence and stupidity," he admits. "The movie is supposed to teach us that the education of our children will mean the future of our planet. All the action scenes had a goal, instead parts of the movie are like a bad episode of 24."

At this point, Kassovitz regrets ever to have signed on with Fox. "I should have chosen a studio that has guts," he says. "Fox was just trying to get a PG-13 movie. I'm ready to go to war against them, but I can't because they don't give a sh*t."

Finally, the director feels that "Babylon AD" will likely have a strong first weekend, but will then die off after fans see how bad it is. "I don't see how people who went through all these amazing blockbusters like 'The Dark Knight' and 'Iron Man' this summer will take it."

Now that you know how Kassovitz feels about his own film, are you still planning to see it this Friday (August 29th).

Click here to read our exclusive "Babylon AD" preview.

Source: AMCTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 4 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ubergrease writes:
on August 26th, 2008 at 4:34:22 PM

It's Fox. I've come to the conclusion over the past 5 years that Fox is the most worthless company out there and should be completely boycotted in everything they do. Sure that means there will be a few films that I'll miss out on, but I'm pretty sure I won't lose sleep over them.
swoooop writes:
on August 26th, 2008 at 5:23:18 PM

Let Fox dig their own grave. When they don't care about the quality of their products they should know that people skip the movies, and download from the nett instead.
vaodsi writes:
on August 27th, 2008 at 2:02:43 AM

dude...... sounds like fox. Fox is basically doing BAD. they've had a bad summer... with their big summer release, X-FILES drowning in it's opening day. Now they're trying to get watchmen iced and WOW!!!!!! now they prove they are SUPER LAME by making a bad movie worse. Poor kassovits. i feel for him. as a fellow film maker... i cry with him. This is why i don't work for fox.
NuclearWessels writes:
on August 28th, 2008 at 9:52:09 AM

Fox is obviously doing this so they can double dip on the DVD/Blu Ray release, just so they can release an 'extended' edition somewhere down the line.

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved