WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Babylon AD" Director Says Movie is Stupid

Posted: August 26th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Babylon AD" Director Says Movie is StupidSubmit Comment
"Babylon AD" director Mathieu Kassovitz is not a happy man and he is making it very clear. In an interview with AMCTV, he reveals: "I never had a chance to do one scene the way it was written or the way I wanted it to be. The script wasn't respected. Bad producers, bad partners, it was a terrible experience."

He blames 20th Century Fox for "sending lawyers who were only looking at all the commas and the dots. They made everything difficult from A to Z." Then the studio interfered with the editing of the film, cutting it down to 93 minutes. This even astounded Vin Diesel, the star of the film, who was quoted as saying: "Am I even in the movie any more, or am I on the cutting room floor?"

According to Kassovitz, "Babylon AD," which is based on a French novel "Babylon Babies" by Maurice Georges Dantec, fails to deliver the book's messages. "It's pure violence and stupidity," he admits. "The movie is supposed to teach us that the education of our children will mean the future of our planet. All the action scenes had a goal, instead parts of the movie are like a bad episode of 24."

At this point, Kassovitz regrets ever to have signed on with Fox. "I should have chosen a studio that has guts," he says. "Fox was just trying to get a PG-13 movie. I'm ready to go to war against them, but I can't because they don't give a sh*t."

Finally, the director feels that "Babylon AD" will likely have a strong first weekend, but will then die off after fans see how bad it is. "I don't see how people who went through all these amazing blockbusters like 'The Dark Knight' and 'Iron Man' this summer will take it."

Now that you know how Kassovitz feels about his own film, are you still planning to see it this Friday (August 29th).

Click here to read our exclusive "Babylon AD" preview.

Source: AMCTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 4 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ubergrease writes:
on August 26th, 2008 at 4:34:22 PM

It's Fox. I've come to the conclusion over the past 5 years that Fox is the most worthless company out there and should be completely boycotted in everything they do. Sure that means there will be a few films that I'll miss out on, but I'm pretty sure I won't lose sleep over them.
swoooop writes:
on August 26th, 2008 at 5:23:18 PM

Let Fox dig their own grave. When they don't care about the quality of their products they should know that people skip the movies, and download from the nett instead.
vaodsi writes:
on August 27th, 2008 at 2:02:43 AM

dude...... sounds like fox. Fox is basically doing BAD. they've had a bad summer... with their big summer release, X-FILES drowning in it's opening day. Now they're trying to get watchmen iced and WOW!!!!!! now they prove they are SUPER LAME by making a bad movie worse. Poor kassovits. i feel for him. as a fellow film maker... i cry with him. This is why i don't work for fox.
NuclearWessels writes:
on August 28th, 2008 at 9:52:09 AM

Fox is obviously doing this so they can double dip on the DVD/Blu Ray release, just so they can release an 'extended' edition somewhere down the line.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved