WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr. Trashes "The Dark Knight"

Posted: August 13th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr. Trashes "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
Robert Downey Jr starred in "Iron Man," the biggest surprise-hit of the year. But how does he feel about the other comic book movie that is currently aiming to become the second biggest earner of all time, "The Dark Knight." Moviehole got the chance to speak to Downey, who was not shy about expressing his feelings toward the new Batman film.

"My whole thing is that that I saw 'The Dark Knight'," said Downey. "I feel like I'm dumb because I feel like I don't get how many things that are so smart. It's like a Ferrari engine of storytelling and script writing and I'm like, 'That's not my idea of what I want to see in a movie.' I loved 'The Prestige' but didn't understand 'The Dark Knight'. Didn't get it, still can't tell you what happened in the movie, what happened to the character and in the end they need him to be a bad guy. I'm like, 'I get it. This is so high brow and so f--king smart, I clearly need a college education to understand this movie.' You know what? F-ck DC comics. That's all I have to say and that's where I'm really coming from."

He added that if he never works with DC Comics, it will be fine with him. "You know, you're never too old to burn your bridges because I believe I have offended everyone," he said. "I think I've got a couple more. 'I'll burn that bridge when I come to it' is my favorite phrase I've ever coined."

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight."

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hammertime90 writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 6:37:36 PM

Gee, Marvel's biggest star hates DC's biggest movie? surprise surprise.
Sinestro writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 6:57:25 PM

Does that drug addled moron knows that DC comics in owned by WARNER BROTHERS? Aww, is the poor tin man angry his movie was overshadowed, outperformed and outclassed so soon after it was released? It's ok. f*ck Robert Downey Jr.
murphyslaw writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 10:13:58 PM

I like Robert Downey Jr., I like him a lot. I think he's a great actor, a cool guy, and he is truly the only reason why Iron Man was worth watching (I wasnt a big fan of it), but I don't understand how Downey Jr. could not understand Dark Knight. I mean, if he understood Prestige (which required a whole different, higher, caliber of thinking) how is he so baffled by Dark Knight. Well, Dark Knight was outstanding and much better than his modern day story of the tin man. And in case he hasn't realized, burning bridges is a very, very bad thing. And his career was being rebuilt so nicely.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 14th, 2008 at 8:02:29 AM

Lol Yeah like that statement will ruin his career. He obviously understands the film- but describes it with HEAVY sarcasm about the "intelligence" to the whole thing. I thought the Dark Knight was fantastic but the "intelliegence" is really overrated. He likes his popcorn movie- and hates this depressing masterpiece...like the rest of the tools that have an opinion on this site- you'll just have to deal.
tucsonkid writes:
on August 14th, 2008 at 1:40:17 PM

I agree with Jr. the only real reason Dark Knight has done so well is because Ledger has passed away otherwise it would be just another overrated batman movie, and would have been sent to dvd already.and you people are losers if you think that this movie would still do as good if ledger was alive.
bacci40 writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 6:23:45 AM

i think this is hilarious...its a throwback to the old infighting that went on between the two companies back in the 60s...with downey taking the role of jack kirby...and kirbys jabs never hurt him in the biz, and he ended up working for dc
James.Speed writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 7:12:07 AM

Wow, when The Dark Knight reference was used in the Tropic Thunder viral video, I thought this guy was a good sport. But infact, this d*ckhead believes that cause he had a number one movie, that hes gid gift to Hollywood. Well I've got news for him, Iron Man was great, but I dont think it was better than Spider-Man 2, X-Men or X2, and it doesnt even touch Batman Begins nd The Dark Knight.
Dude writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 10:41:39 PM

If nothing had happened to Ledger, The Dark Knight would have been just as big. I was incredibly excited about this movie a year ago when I had just seen a teaser trailer and only heard the jokers laugh. His performance made this movie and you're right, Ledger did draw the crowd for this movie because his performance was awesome. I don't think the fact that he died had much of an impact in the success of this movie. People saw the movie for the movie and his amazing performance. And obviously Downey Jr. is probably jealous of the success. It's only natural.
OrangeCrush writes:
on August 21st, 2008 at 9:04:01 PM

BS, The Dark Knight would not have been this successful had it not been for ledgers death and people who cant admit that are clueless or fanboys that cant admit the truth. Hell I know like 9 or 10 people alone that went to see it simply because of the ledger effect and they openly admit to it. There is no doubt that it would have gone on to be a very successful film but it is undeniable that ledgers death helped this movie. The free publicity alone was invaluable. So please people, stop trying to deny the obvious. The Dark Knight is a fantastic Batman movie and Heath's death has definitely played a role in this films incredible success.
bane writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:25:59 AM

Downey Jr

you c*ntin junkie piece of sh*t

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved