WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr. Trashes "The Dark Knight"

Posted: August 13th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr. Trashes "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
Robert Downey Jr starred in "Iron Man," the biggest surprise-hit of the year. But how does he feel about the other comic book movie that is currently aiming to become the second biggest earner of all time, "The Dark Knight." Moviehole got the chance to speak to Downey, who was not shy about expressing his feelings toward the new Batman film.

"My whole thing is that that I saw 'The Dark Knight'," said Downey. "I feel like I'm dumb because I feel like I don't get how many things that are so smart. It's like a Ferrari engine of storytelling and script writing and I'm like, 'That's not my idea of what I want to see in a movie.' I loved 'The Prestige' but didn't understand 'The Dark Knight'. Didn't get it, still can't tell you what happened in the movie, what happened to the character and in the end they need him to be a bad guy. I'm like, 'I get it. This is so high brow and so f--king smart, I clearly need a college education to understand this movie.' You know what? F-ck DC comics. That's all I have to say and that's where I'm really coming from."

He added that if he never works with DC Comics, it will be fine with him. "You know, you're never too old to burn your bridges because I believe I have offended everyone," he said. "I think I've got a couple more. 'I'll burn that bridge when I come to it' is my favorite phrase I've ever coined."

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight."

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hammertime90 writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 6:37:36 PM

Gee, Marvel's biggest star hates DC's biggest movie? surprise surprise.
Sinestro writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 6:57:25 PM

Does that drug addled moron knows that DC comics in owned by WARNER BROTHERS? Aww, is the poor tin man angry his movie was overshadowed, outperformed and outclassed so soon after it was released? It's ok. f*ck Robert Downey Jr.
murphyslaw writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 10:13:58 PM

I like Robert Downey Jr., I like him a lot. I think he's a great actor, a cool guy, and he is truly the only reason why Iron Man was worth watching (I wasnt a big fan of it), but I don't understand how Downey Jr. could not understand Dark Knight. I mean, if he understood Prestige (which required a whole different, higher, caliber of thinking) how is he so baffled by Dark Knight. Well, Dark Knight was outstanding and much better than his modern day story of the tin man. And in case he hasn't realized, burning bridges is a very, very bad thing. And his career was being rebuilt so nicely.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 14th, 2008 at 8:02:29 AM

Lol Yeah like that statement will ruin his career. He obviously understands the film- but describes it with HEAVY sarcasm about the "intelligence" to the whole thing. I thought the Dark Knight was fantastic but the "intelliegence" is really overrated. He likes his popcorn movie- and hates this depressing masterpiece...like the rest of the tools that have an opinion on this site- you'll just have to deal.
tucsonkid writes:
on August 14th, 2008 at 1:40:17 PM

I agree with Jr. the only real reason Dark Knight has done so well is because Ledger has passed away otherwise it would be just another overrated batman movie, and would have been sent to dvd already.and you people are losers if you think that this movie would still do as good if ledger was alive.
bacci40 writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 6:23:45 AM

i think this is hilarious...its a throwback to the old infighting that went on between the two companies back in the 60s...with downey taking the role of jack kirby...and kirbys jabs never hurt him in the biz, and he ended up working for dc
James.Speed writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 7:12:07 AM

Wow, when The Dark Knight reference was used in the Tropic Thunder viral video, I thought this guy was a good sport. But infact, this d*ckhead believes that cause he had a number one movie, that hes gid gift to Hollywood. Well I've got news for him, Iron Man was great, but I dont think it was better than Spider-Man 2, X-Men or X2, and it doesnt even touch Batman Begins nd The Dark Knight.
Dude writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 10:41:39 PM

If nothing had happened to Ledger, The Dark Knight would have been just as big. I was incredibly excited about this movie a year ago when I had just seen a teaser trailer and only heard the jokers laugh. His performance made this movie and you're right, Ledger did draw the crowd for this movie because his performance was awesome. I don't think the fact that he died had much of an impact in the success of this movie. People saw the movie for the movie and his amazing performance. And obviously Downey Jr. is probably jealous of the success. It's only natural.
OrangeCrush writes:
on August 21st, 2008 at 9:04:01 PM

BS, The Dark Knight would not have been this successful had it not been for ledgers death and people who cant admit that are clueless or fanboys that cant admit the truth. Hell I know like 9 or 10 people alone that went to see it simply because of the ledger effect and they openly admit to it. There is no doubt that it would have gone on to be a very successful film but it is undeniable that ledgers death helped this movie. The free publicity alone was invaluable. So please people, stop trying to deny the obvious. The Dark Knight is a fantastic Batman movie and Heath's death has definitely played a role in this films incredible success.
bane writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:25:59 AM

Downey Jr

you c*ntin junkie piece of sh*t

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved