WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr. Trashes "The Dark Knight"

Posted: August 13th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr. Trashes "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
Robert Downey Jr starred in "Iron Man," the biggest surprise-hit of the year. But how does he feel about the other comic book movie that is currently aiming to become the second biggest earner of all time, "The Dark Knight." Moviehole got the chance to speak to Downey, who was not shy about expressing his feelings toward the new Batman film.

"My whole thing is that that I saw 'The Dark Knight'," said Downey. "I feel like I'm dumb because I feel like I don't get how many things that are so smart. It's like a Ferrari engine of storytelling and script writing and I'm like, 'That's not my idea of what I want to see in a movie.' I loved 'The Prestige' but didn't understand 'The Dark Knight'. Didn't get it, still can't tell you what happened in the movie, what happened to the character and in the end they need him to be a bad guy. I'm like, 'I get it. This is so high brow and so f--king smart, I clearly need a college education to understand this movie.' You know what? F-ck DC comics. That's all I have to say and that's where I'm really coming from."

He added that if he never works with DC Comics, it will be fine with him. "You know, you're never too old to burn your bridges because I believe I have offended everyone," he said. "I think I've got a couple more. 'I'll burn that bridge when I come to it' is my favorite phrase I've ever coined."

Click here to read more about "The Dark Knight."

Source: Moviehole

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hammertime90 writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 6:37:36 PM

Gee, Marvel's biggest star hates DC's biggest movie? surprise surprise.
Sinestro writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 6:57:25 PM

Does that drug addled moron knows that DC comics in owned by WARNER BROTHERS? Aww, is the poor tin man angry his movie was overshadowed, outperformed and outclassed so soon after it was released? It's ok. f*ck Robert Downey Jr.
murphyslaw writes:
on August 13th, 2008 at 10:13:58 PM

I like Robert Downey Jr., I like him a lot. I think he's a great actor, a cool guy, and he is truly the only reason why Iron Man was worth watching (I wasnt a big fan of it), but I don't understand how Downey Jr. could not understand Dark Knight. I mean, if he understood Prestige (which required a whole different, higher, caliber of thinking) how is he so baffled by Dark Knight. Well, Dark Knight was outstanding and much better than his modern day story of the tin man. And in case he hasn't realized, burning bridges is a very, very bad thing. And his career was being rebuilt so nicely.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 14th, 2008 at 8:02:29 AM

Lol Yeah like that statement will ruin his career. He obviously understands the film- but describes it with HEAVY sarcasm about the "intelligence" to the whole thing. I thought the Dark Knight was fantastic but the "intelliegence" is really overrated. He likes his popcorn movie- and hates this depressing masterpiece...like the rest of the tools that have an opinion on this site- you'll just have to deal.
tucsonkid writes:
on August 14th, 2008 at 1:40:17 PM

I agree with Jr. the only real reason Dark Knight has done so well is because Ledger has passed away otherwise it would be just another overrated batman movie, and would have been sent to dvd already.and you people are losers if you think that this movie would still do as good if ledger was alive.
bacci40 writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 6:23:45 AM

i think this is hilarious...its a throwback to the old infighting that went on between the two companies back in the 60s...with downey taking the role of jack kirby...and kirbys jabs never hurt him in the biz, and he ended up working for dc
James.Speed writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 7:12:07 AM

Wow, when The Dark Knight reference was used in the Tropic Thunder viral video, I thought this guy was a good sport. But infact, this d*ckhead believes that cause he had a number one movie, that hes gid gift to Hollywood. Well I've got news for him, Iron Man was great, but I dont think it was better than Spider-Man 2, X-Men or X2, and it doesnt even touch Batman Begins nd The Dark Knight.
Dude writes:
on August 15th, 2008 at 10:41:39 PM

If nothing had happened to Ledger, The Dark Knight would have been just as big. I was incredibly excited about this movie a year ago when I had just seen a teaser trailer and only heard the jokers laugh. His performance made this movie and you're right, Ledger did draw the crowd for this movie because his performance was awesome. I don't think the fact that he died had much of an impact in the success of this movie. People saw the movie for the movie and his amazing performance. And obviously Downey Jr. is probably jealous of the success. It's only natural.
OrangeCrush writes:
on August 21st, 2008 at 9:04:01 PM

BS, The Dark Knight would not have been this successful had it not been for ledgers death and people who cant admit that are clueless or fanboys that cant admit the truth. Hell I know like 9 or 10 people alone that went to see it simply because of the ledger effect and they openly admit to it. There is no doubt that it would have gone on to be a very successful film but it is undeniable that ledgers death helped this movie. The free publicity alone was invaluable. So please people, stop trying to deny the obvious. The Dark Knight is a fantastic Batman movie and Heath's death has definitely played a role in this films incredible success.
bane writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:25:59 AM

Downey Jr

you c*ntin junkie piece of sh*t

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Chris Evans Wants to Play Captain America After His Marvel Contract Expires

"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved