WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Villain Rumors for Third Batman Film

Posted: August 1st, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Villain Rumors for Third Batman FilmSubmit Comment
As with any popular movie, sequel talks begin immediately after the film's theatrical release. "The Dark Knight" is no different.

Director Christopher Nolan has yet to confirm a third movie in his Batman series, but internet rumors are already out of control. It was recently reported that Angelina Jolie has been talking to studio executives about taking the role of Catwoman in the sequel to "The Dark Knight."

Now, UK's Daily Telegraph has quoted their unnamed source who said that Warner Bros is targeting Johnny Depp to play The Riddler and Philip Seymour Hoffman to take the role of The Penguin.

"Producers are convinced that the role of The Riddler is perfect for Depp. Johnny's a pro. He'll be able to take direction and still make the character his own," said the source. "And what better Penguin is there than Philip Seymour Hoffman?"

There is no guarantee that any of these characters will make it into the third film, but I believe The Riddler seems like a perfect fit into the dark, reality-based storyline. The Penguin... not so much.

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight" review.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
parabola1 writes:
on August 1st, 2008 at 11:17:49 AM

i had heard that christopher nolan wasnt going to the the penguin character.... also, i think they could continue the joker and just use johnny depp, im normally not a fan of swapping actors, but they have similar physical appearance, and we all know depp can play a hell of a psycho (sweeney todd)... but at the same time he would make great riddler... either way... hey they are all just rumors anyway right?
-Jack_sparrow- writes:
on August 1st, 2008 at 11:48:43 AM

I would totally see Johnny as the riddler. I don't know so much about Batman, and i've never actually seen a batman movie except the dark knight. But Johnny COuld be a really Good riddler, I could see a new riddler as a Jack Sparrow kind Character ;) Phillip seymour hoffman is a great actor, And he's a fantastic villain, He could play him. Just Like Mission Impossible III.
James.Speed writes:
on August 1st, 2008 at 6:43:49 PM

I personally would hate the see them replace Heath Ledger with someone else. In a way, thats insulting to Heath's fantastic performance. However, I dont think Riddler or Penguin should be included in Chris Nolan's dark version of Batman, which is much more realistic. I would want to see them put in a new villian, like Mad Hatter, or the Hangman, or the clone Batman, or someone else. Penguin lives underground with giant penguins. Riddler could work, with Johnny Depp, but im pretty sure Nolan and David Goyer said that Riddler, Catwoman, Penguin, Freeze and Poison Ivy wouldnt be included. Thats what I heard!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 1st, 2008 at 7:48:18 PM

I never want to see teh Penguin in a Nolan batman.It just won't work. Although Hoffman is a excelent actor it just won't work. My thoughts of the Riddler is that he is changed into a bomber who leaves riddles or blackmails the citizens of gotham into doing sh*t. sort of liek that guy from the saw films, without the gore! I think david Hyde Peirce or David Tennent for that role. But i would like to see the Joker, but possibly in small role. I think Depp could pull that off, he is playing Heath Ledgers charcter in The Imaginarium of Dr Pausannus, if we can see he could successlfuly take ont hat charcter in that film, perhaps he can play the Joker!
Nohands[NL] writes:
on August 2nd, 2008 at 2:52:26 AM

sounds great, but again a joker?
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2011 at 8:07:45 PM

Hey, maybe they'll cast Anne Hathaway as the Catoman. That would be purrrrrfect!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved