WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gun Replaced by Walkie-Talkie in "Watchmen" Trailer

Posted: July 18th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gun Replaced by Walkie-Talkie in "Watchmen" TrailerSubmit Comment
The amazing trailer for "Watchmen" hit the net yesterday, and even if you watched it several times already, I bet you missed a secret easter egg that director Zack Snyder talked about with MTV News.

"[The assassin] has a gun," Snyder explained, remembering the difficult process of transforming his dark, R-rated film into a trailer for the masses. "So the MPAA said, 'Look you can't have him [holding the gun]' ... I don't even think it's one second. I think it's like 12 frames. He's pointing the gun at the camera, and they said, 'You can't do that.'"

For years, the MPAA has prohibited weapons from being pointed at the "viewer" in advertising, presumably for fear that it will freak them out. That's why you always see guns pointed at angles on movie posters and in film trailers.

"So we erased the gun," Snyder grinned. "And put a walkie-talkie in his hand."

As many filmgoers remember, Steven Spielberg famously re-released his family classic "E.T." in 2002 after using CGI to transform the gun-wielding federal agents into less-threatening agents holding walkie-talkies.

"It was a total Spielberg reference," laughed Snyder. "Because I was like, 'Well, it worked for Spielberg, so we should do that. Just put a walkie-talkie in his hand!' ...[The editors] were like, 'But then you cut to a real gun! but I'm like, 'No one will ever see that; they'll think he had a gun in the other shot, so it's fine.'"

Take a close look and you'll see the two shots at 1:30 in. The first shows a walkie-talkie, and then we see the gun.

"I was thinking about it afterwards, and I was like, "Damn, we should have given him a bouquet of flowers, or a box of candy," Snyder laughed. "Maybe next time."

Walkie-talking Angle: (click to enlarge)


Gun Angle: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Watchmen."

Click here to check out the trailer

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pioneerseo writes:
on November 16th, 2016 at 6:46:55 AM

I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well.cheap car insurance quotes
pioneerseo writes:
on November 19th, 2016 at 7:41:03 AM

Actually, you can use our transfers services as a city cab, but if you take a taxi to Athens or Piraeus at the airport's arrival point, you will not succeed in savings, because fare is high, trips cost several times more than the actual prices.airport transfers
pioneerseo writes:
on December 1st, 2016 at 9:44:29 AM

wow, great, I was wondering how to cure acne naturally. and found your site by google, learned a lot, now i’m a bit clear. I’ve bookmark your site and also add rss. keep us updated. office furniture
pioneerseo writes:
on December 27th, 2016 at 10:33:27 AM

Excellent Blog! I would like to thank for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. I wanted to thank you for this websites! Thanks for sharing. Great websites! annonces
pioneerseo writes:
on January 16th, 2017 at 9:14:42 AM

Valentine's Day, also called Saint Valentine's Day or the Feast of Saint Valentine,[1] is an annual holiday celebrated on February 14. It originated as a Western Christian liturgical feast day honoring one or more early saints named Valentinus, and is recognized as a significant cultural and commercial celebration in many regions around the world, although it is not a public holiday in any country.Happy Valentines Day 2017 Images & Quotes
pioneerseo writes:
on January 27th, 2017 at 11:16:25 AM

Very interesting article, actually i was looking a website like this, It was nice to land on this website post and to see such superb stuff. I have bookmarked it and I will be back for read new blog articles. Thanks for taking the time to share this.word porn
pioneerseo writes:
on February 1st, 2017 at 8:10:11 AM

Great post i must say and thanks for the information. Cleaner Brooklyn is definitely a sticky subject. However, is still among the leading topics of our time. I appreciate your post and look forward to more.
uali20 writes:
on February 1st, 2017 at 10:30:21 AM

This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality. This is very nice one and gives indepth information. Thanks for this nice article.home cleaning new york
pioneerseo writes:
on February 4th, 2017 at 9:47:05 AM

This is a wonderful article, Given so much info in it, These type of articles keeps the users interest in the website, and keep on sharing more ... good luck.who makes the best motorcycle battery
Robinjack writes:
on May 21st, 2017 at 7:00:01 AM

I can see that you are a specialist at your field! I am propelling a site soon, and your data will be extremely valuable for me.. Much obliged for all your help and wishing all of you the accomplishment in your business. read full article
sheeraz writes:
on July 2nd, 2017 at 1:55:44 AM

Very informative post ! There is a lot of information here that can help any business get started with a successful social networking campaign ! Lean Belly Breakthrough
sheeraz writes:
on July 3rd, 2017 at 3:09:16 AM

I just got to this amazing site not long ago. I was actually captured with the piece of resources you have got here. Big thumbs up for making such wonderful blog page! Make him desire you
sheeraz writes:
on July 3rd, 2017 at 7:56:20 AM

Here at this site really the fastidious material collection so that everybody can enjoy a lot. GE Oven Igniter
sheeraz writes:
on July 3rd, 2017 at 8:32:20 AM

Your website is really cool and this is a great inspiring article. extracteur de jus avis
sheeraz writes:
on July 4th, 2017 at 4:57:31 AM

This is an excellent post I seen thanks to share it. It is really what I wanted to see hope in future you will continue for sharing such a excellent post. Watch here
sheeraz writes:
on July 4th, 2017 at 6:38:12 AM

دانلود قسمت 3 سوم فصل دوم سریال شهرزاد, دانلود رایگان فصل اول و دوم سریال شهرزاد, دانلود سریال جدید شهرزاد , دانلود سریال شهرزاد با لینک مستقیم, دانلود فیلم های جدید و برتر, دانلود رایگان فیلم و سریال با لینک مستقیم دانلود قسمت سوم فصل دوم شهرزاد
sheeraz writes:
on July 6th, 2017 at 5:15:19 PM

This is very educational content and written well for a change. It's nice to see that some people still understand how to write a quality post! Friendship Day 2017
Robinjack writes:
on July 10th, 2017 at 2:56:53 AM

I truly like you"re composing style, awesome data, thankyou for posting. majestic theatre schedule
Robinjack writes:
on July 23rd, 2017 at 8:26:31 AM

The latest craze fidget spinner toys everybody is talking about are here from C2BPromo.com for your customization with your brands, logos or business messages as promotional fidget spinners or branded fidget spinners or Logo Fidget Spinners for your marketing campaigns, trade show giveaways, corporate gifts, promotional gifts and event giveaways. You are guaranteed your audiences will love them, spin them right from the package and spread your business message out! Check out the largest product line of Custom Fidget Spinners in the industry at C2BPromo.com, the No. 1 factory-direct Custom Platform of promotional products to save up 60% and free shipping and free logo here! Personalized Fidget Spinners
Robinjack writes:
on July 26th, 2017 at 7:13:11 AM

I needed to thank you for this incredible read!! I unquestionably adored each and every piece of it. I have you bookmarked your site to look at the new stuff you post. social media competitive analytics

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved