WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Bay Talks "Transformers 2," "Friday the 13th," "Nightmare on Elm Street" and Ouija Board Movie

Posted: July 16th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Bay Talks "Transformers 2," "Friday the 13th," "Nightmare on Elm Street" and Ouija Board MovieSubmit Comment
Entertainment Weekly got the chance to speak with Michael Bay about his upcoming "Transformers" sequel, "Friday the 13th" remake, "Nightmare on Elm Street" remake and a movie based on the Ouija board game.

Transformers 2: "When we were writing the script, I said to the writers, 'I hate sequels that try to make it to the third movie. Pretend like we're never having a third movie, so let's go for broke on the second one. I hate those cliffhangers! Let's just make this movie stand on its own.' I really feel this movie is not a forced sequel. I think the script is really good, and I think it's got a lot of new stuff in it. There are a lot of rumors out there, but we've released a lot of fake stuff. We've done a really good job of keeping things secret."

"You're just not going to believe the first 12 minutes! It's a twist in itself."

Friday the 13th: "It's a re-conception of the original. We're introducing a whole group of new kids. What we always try to do is add a little bit of freshness to these movies that were really scary back then and update them for a new audience."

"I haven't seen the director's cut because he's still cutting, but I know this one will really be scary; it's also funny, as well. It's a fun college adventure that goes awry."

He added that plots from the first two "Friday the 13th" films have been used in the remake.

Nightmare on Elm Street: "We haven't made our deal, but it's worth every penny."Ouija Board Movie: "It's something we're playing with, yes. I'm just producing it. We're just meeting with writers now. There's a plot that I actually wrote the outline for; we're just trying to get the script right."

EW also asked whether Bay read the hilarious "Michael Bay's Rejected 'The Dark Knight' Script" that has been floating around the internet. "[Laughs] That's complete bulls***! I might've read one line of that," said Bay. "It's just, where do people find all of this time?"

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 2 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bacci40 writes:
on July 16th, 2008 at 10:06:09 PM

f*ck michael bay....f*ck him right up his untalented, lets blow everything up real good, ass
Covenant writes:
on July 19th, 2008 at 12:08:28 PM

He makes decent mindless action films that hold little in the way of sense or aspects of reality. But f*ck him, yes indeed. He's a self-important dipsh*t that, due to his lack of understanding and constant disrespect of the franchise that's been going twenty years strong without his ass, never should have been allowed near Transformers. When all other avenues of argument about the film come crashing down, many of those who think Bay sh*ts gold love to quote a one-liner from him said none too long after he was brought onboard, "We are reinventing how the robots look, transform and move". The problem there lies in two fold mostly. One being that Don Murphy, long before Bay was brought on, informed us of likely Alternator & MP like designs done up in cgi, as it truly should've been. Little confirmations of what was coming came in, for one example, the form of a covered big rig w/trailer decked out in it's visible areas as a G1-like, flat nosed, originally color-schemed Optimus Prime in alt mode showing up at a convention a couple to few years back. The other reason it's a trouble is that the movie designs are both obvious departures in design and admitted to be so by those that created them (unless you're a hardcore movie-supporting fan, then it's a departure when needed, a recognizable 'update' when not), and there was never such a need for it (unless you wish to remain a douche that can't see past the 80's Trigger Crotch Megatron) what with primo Alternators, wonderful Masterpieces & choice Classics available to work off of, and those are mere toy representations! In other words, they used bits to show there was a market for a new TF film by using fan hype to get a green light, then departed from it completely. The head honcho, the one that called the shots, the one that okay'd this & decided that, the guy that approves it in the end isn't a Transformers fan. The recent HBO behind the scenes special showed the full care & extent of respect for the preexisting media well enough. A picture of a semi with a paintjob Bay's already about shows up among the images he's choosing from and instantly he's got what he wants Optimus Prime to be. Just like that. And the special itself? A special that in every other such instance has gone well into displaying & explaining the fiction it's coming from? There wasn't a single image or mention. Not. A. One. Indicative, to be sure. And it's a mindset that's spread well from a director's lack of faith & concern to become a tsunami of fanboys trying to justify the results from within faith & concern of all things. You've got fans struggling to support every little aspect of all associated with the film, telling you LAM Starscream has enough physical attributes to make him recognizable as being the new incarnation (and none of them include the simple & only actual tag of "he's the jet"), telling you flames on a semi are as common as sand on a beach, and that the designs are inspired of some in-depth study that focused on designs from the never made follow up series to Beast Machines, Transtech. Talk about giving too much credit where it isn't due. There's just currently and has been a lack of respect for the franchise. Bay laughs off what he can only seem to understand as "blocky designs", Murphy's calling a while back for long standing and fandom made Transformer websites to be "taken down" & his more recent bs on "lonely ranters" (sorry, it's less about everyone being suddenly all about Bayformers, more about the - in the end - less fanatical getting tired of arguing the same bs daily), and even a rep (be unintentional or intentional depending on if you believe his word or reality) for Bay once going to far to not just imply but say flat out Transformers wasn't worthy of the effort at all. That lack of respect's been ever present in the mistreatment/belittling of the fandom & the fiction by those involved with the flick. The fans are the best now, though. Bay makes a bad comment to the fanbase, the statement finds its way to message boards, and the next thing you know you've got TF fans coming out of the woodwork to support him. NEWSFLASH, he's talking about YOU too. Bay in particular just doesn't care, and if he ever did he hides it well, when it comes to prior continuity that is. The movie designs are his own, just ask. The comic continuities of yesteryear to today weren't given a consideration until IDW was signed up to do the prequel & adaptation of Bay's film, expecting some deep consideration of never used concept art being some driving force for a design team that Bay only checkmarked the approval on is a bit much given he reports this is his superhero movie, the designs are of what he was trying to do, and he's always adamant to tell you he makes his own films & no one tells him what to do. Hell, that last bit of mentality there, when reading back about the duder that interviewed Bay early into Mikey coming on to Transformers about the art concepts for Scorpinok & "robot...was all silver metal and had many sharp angles" (take a wild guess at this point on who that was) and things like "fan input" don't even register. I mean, ffs, ILM could barely get their input across. Heck, when recently asked if there was any concern that Bay was also serving Hasbro, in regards to ensuring that Mikey was true to things like the original toys and characters? Bay's answer? "Well, I said 'Listen, if I do this, I'm going to redesign these things. You might not like everything, but I'm going to do it my way or I'm not going to do it.'" He even reported that they had huge issues with LAM Starscream. Speaks, no, shouts to the amount of control Bay had over all of this venture despite the claims of others. Oh sure, now that he's manufactured Transformers the way he likes them, he's all about being a supposed fan. You can quote him as saying, "I was not a Transformers fan before I signed on to this movie." You can also quote him with, "So I quickly became probably one of the bigger Transformer fans in the world." Riiiiiiiight. That's is why it's so honestly easy to quote him as saying, "Watch the 1986 animated movie, go watch the cartoon. You'll want to shoot yourself," verbatim. He's not a fan of Transformers and he's still not. Mikey's a fan of his Transformers, period. And while I'm one to think a protest does little in any issue, thus making the one some fanboys did on this movie ridiculous, and have noted since Skir's experience with Beast Machines that fans sending death threats sickens me, the fact Bay once urged Transformers fans that take these extreme measures that they indeed should watch the old cartoons & animated movie shows a cluelessness beyond compare. And it's unfair to even joke you'll want to put a bullet in your head from watching such material. Many, many, hell, most of the Bay supporters within the preexisting fandom will tell you how much they love the original material and those of us who are parents get a giggle out of how our own children immediately take a shine to such things. Some of those prior mentioned supporters will say they can respect the old cartoons for what they are and the new movie for what it is. Good for them, Bay can't and he can't help being insultive about it. The only reasons Bay's so down on the original material are (1) due to him only focusing on semi-detrimental aspects from the cartoon only (seriously, in no interview does he refer to anything but the cartoon material from the 80's) (2) his lack of attention on the multiple other fronts available dating from the trifecta of original materials (toy line, comic books, toon) all the way up to Masterpiece & Alternator Transformers (objects both quite a deal realistic, fully functional & Transformery) and (3) that his consideration is made in the polar opposite position of what the most fanatical of fans are doing (pitting all preexisting Transformers media against the film itself). Speilberg claimed Bay perfect for the job. To put it mildly, I disagree. http://www.transformersfanfic.com/viewstory.php?sid=4667&chapter=1

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved