WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Sinks to a New Low

Posted: May 5th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Sinks to a New LowSubmit Comment
Out of all the studios that WorstPreviews deals with, no other tries to bully us and other sites around like Paramount. While our direct contacts are some of the nicest people, the studio's legal department, which looks to be outsourced to a third party, consists of a bunch of trigger-happy lawyers, who do their job by shooting first and asking questions later.

As a result, (in the past) we have been shut down due to some "Transformers" pictures, TheMovieBlog was shut down for the same reason, and what happened to IESB was the worst thing of all. Let me explain.

Pictures and videos leak onto the internet all the time, and every single studio simply contacts the site owner asking them to take down certain material with promises of official content to replace whatever was removed. Paramount's legal department skips that step and goes directly to the web hosting companies to make sure that the site is shut down. The reason given by Paramount: their legal department tries to take care of the problem quickly.

When our sites are shut down, we immediately begin losing money, since our sponsors' ads do not show up anymore. Our readers begin looking for content elsewhere, thinking that the site they like to visit is having technical issues. To get the site back up, is a headache on its own, which could take a day or two.

But Paramount just went a step further, making me wonder whether they truly appreciates what the online community does for them. Which is provide endless FREE marketing for their films.

Since "Iron Man" grossed over $100 million this weekend, it is obvious that many of you went out to see it. But did you notice that at the end of the movie, Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) is holding up The Chronicle newspaper with the headline reading "Who is The Iron Man?," plus a paparazzi-type shot of the superhero.

That shot was actually taken by IESB, which caused their site to be shut down by Paramount. The picture turned out to be completely legal, due to the fact that the movie was being filmed on a public highway, but the legal department was still able to shut them down for three days.

Now Paramount is using that very same picture in their movie, without any credit to IESB or even their permission. It is simply revenge.

Director Jon Favreau claims to follow all the blogs and online press for his movies, but he still let this happen in his great movie. I just hope that this man of the people was not responsible for this, otherwise he might have a mutiny on his hands.

If Paramount or Favreau want to set the record straight, contact us and we'll do a follow-up/update.

Photos: (click to enlarge)




Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 4 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bubba8193 writes:
on May 5th, 2008 at 3:56:29 PM

Wow. You have a really good point. I just lost some respect for Paramount...
paulina_0228 writes:
on May 5th, 2008 at 8:08:37 PM

They are horrible, how can they do that. Shut down a site without giving them any kind of notice just like that.
bacci40 writes:
on May 5th, 2008 at 11:12:55 PM

dont forget, favreau f*cked christopher when he stole all his ideas for his female hitman movie...so i wouldnt put it past him...now all the bloggers need to find that red headed jewess and f*ck her up the ass
LORD BUTCH writes:
on May 18th, 2008 at 1:36:46 AM

I agree with Bubba8193, I have lost a lot of respect for Paramount now. That is such a nasty thing to do. Here in Australia we dont have the hype you guys have or the frenzy with movie studios and stars but we still get right into it. I was so looking forward to the new Star Trek movie thats coming out here soon but now due to the way Paramount does business, I dont think I want to support their movies as they really dont seem to give a sh*t about the fans. Thats so sad. A lot of people here in Oz will be dissapointed apon reading this or hearing about this. what a shame.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved