WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Would You Pay $35 Per Movie Ticket?

Posted: March 26th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Would You Pay $35 Per Movie Ticket?Submit Comment
A recession may be looming, but a group of investors thinks Americans are ready to pony up $35 for a movie ticket. Village Roadshow Ltd, Act III, Lambert Entertainment and the Retirement Systems of Alabama pension fund have partnered to bring the luxury cinema circuit Village Roadshow Gold Class Cinemas to the US.

The partners will spend $200 million to build 50 theaters nationwide over the next five years, with the first two venues set to open in South Barrington, a suburb of Chicago, and the Seattle suburb of Redmond in October. Others are planned for Fairview, Texas, near Dallas-Fort Worth, and Scottsdale, Arizona.

Each complex will sport theaters featuring 40 reclining armchair seats with footrests, digital projection and the capability to screen 2-D and 3-D movies, as well as a lounge and bar serving cocktails and appetizers, a concierge service and valet parking.

But the circuit will especially push its culinary offerings -- made-to-order meals like sushi and other theater-friendly foods from on-site chefs (a service button at each seat calls a waiter). Moviegoers will have to pay extra for any food they order, however.

The Burbank-based company's hoping to attract 10 million "upscale and affluent" consumers per year to its theaters that will be housed in high-end shopping centers and malls. Each complex will typically house eight screens.

"It's a new way to go to the movies," said Graham Burke, managing director and CEO of Village Roadshow Ltd. "It's like what Mercedes is to a Toyota or like flying first class in an airplane."

Click on the link below, which will take you to the Village Roadshow Gold Class Cinemas in Australia. There you can see a video of the experience.

Click here to check out the site

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Joshntx31 writes:
on March 27th, 2008 at 11:33:59 AM

We already have theaters like that here in Texas! The Alamo Draft House, The Movie Tavern, and Movie Studio Grill and they don't charge 35 a ticket! Actually they have the cheapest tickets in town! I would never go to a Gold Class Cinema even if it was comped!
fullquiver writes:
on March 28th, 2008 at 12:53:12 PM

"Would You Pay $35 Per Movie Ticket?" NO!! I winced when my wife and I had to pay $12 a ticket. We usually take the whole family to the drive-in where the seven of us can see a double feature for $20!
glock78 writes:
on March 28th, 2008 at 3:49:56 PM

Sure. If it came with a complimentary blow job or two.
imissdan writes:
on March 28th, 2008 at 6:52:26 PM

I live in Australia where Gold Class theaters have been around for some time. The experience is truly something else. Much smaller theaters, holding between 25-40 people, make for a quieter more intimate movie experience. The ticket price itself (here about $30) keeps out the youth element, for so long the ruin of many a great cinema visit. Inside the theater you sit in a very large and comfortable armchair, which reclines with a foot rest so you can adjust your viewing position, from upright to nearly laying flat. There is a waiter service with whom you can order food before entering the theater. They will deliver the gourmet food and snacks, and the wine, sparkling wine and beer to you in your seat, which you can enjoy while watching the movie (there is a small table between seats) - you can also set the time the food and beverages arrive at, say i'd like another beer at the one hour stage, or could i get my food about halfway through. I realize the price is high, but it really is the difference between flying coach and flying first class, and it makes for an entirely new cinema experience, feeling more like a night at the opera in it's execution. I reserve the gold class visits for event movies, not for my week-to-week viewings (i'm not that loaded) but it can certainly punctuate a movie you've been dying to see - i saw Trnasformers there several times, and the rest of the summer tent-poles. Plus, it will impress a date no end. Don't be so quick to knock Gold Class.
mary writes:
on March 29th, 2008 at 5:57:06 PM

I will try anything once. The pampering, the food will be nice an all. The expense unfortunately will prevent enjoying the overall experience
snowyowl687 writes:
on March 30th, 2008 at 7:59:29 AM

I don't see how waiters coming to your seats would provoke a more intimate movie experience, it would just disrupt the movie. I'd rather pay a mere $8 to enjoy a movie with minimal disruptions of 'youth,' then pay $35 to have to hear someone ordering food from a waiter during the movie. But sure, go ahead and build these 'luxury' theaters in rich suburbs, where people who live there are only deemed such accommodations. In my opinion, anyone should be able to go and enjoy a movie in a theater, not just people who happen to have extra money to spend. Seriously, how spoiled do americans have to be? Save it for gas, you're gonna need it...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved