WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Exclusive: David Wain Talks "The Ten" and More

Posted: January 14th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Exclusive: David Wain Talks "The Ten" and MoreSubmit Comment
David Wain is a friendly, funny guy, and when WorstPreviews got the chance to speak to him about the upcoming release of "The Ten" DVD, he was all jokes. In fact, this is how he summarized his opinion of his own movie:

"It's really a classic I think, I saw that movie and I literally couldn't stop laughing. This might sound crazy, but I think this might be one of the funniest and one of the most exciting movies that have come out in the last five, six years."

Now for the interview, which goes into some detail about his other projects, like "Little Big Men," starring Seann William Scott and Paul Rudd.

What's great about "The Ten" is that you can't get bored by it, since it's broken up into ten-minute stories.
Even though each story on its own might be boring, together they won't be.

Was it originally planned as a ten story movie?
The concept was "let's do a movie exactly what it is." Ten commandments is a springboard for ten stories. Then we set ourselves out to write each story for each one. Which we did.

Some people have stated that you replaced the second commandment.
We did not present the stories in the order that they appear on film. We used all the ten commandments, but what some people don't realize is that depending on which denomination of religion you follow, the ten commandments vary. I think in the Jewish religion its "do not covet thy neighbors goods or thy wife," while in Christianity those are two separate ones. So, the ten commandments that we used are a normal list of them. I am Jewish, but I also have a doctorate in religious comparative scholarly philosophy from the University of F*ck F*ck you, in California.

Have you heard anything from the religious folks?
No, the only people we have ever heard anything from are blog-poster emails, from people that haven't seen it, saying "I can't believe they are satirizing religion." The truth is, anyone that sees the movie, will see that it is just ten silly stories using these moral concepts as a theme. We are certainly not bashing Christianity or religion or anything. Anyone that has seen the movie, its like "its just silly and funny and brilliant."

How did you manage to assemble such a big cast?
That was definitely a fun and challenging puzzle. We went out to our favorite people that we wanted to be in the film, and then we kind of bent over backwards with our low budget and our quick schedule trying to find ways to accommodate everyone and for many of the actors, we would have to go to them. Olive Platt was able to come home from his summer vacation for one day. We shot his whole part in one day. Jessica Alba could only do it in LA, so we shot during our pre-production period in LA. Just where and when people could be there, it was kind of a funny game. No matter how many scenes any particular actor is in, we tried to do them all in the same location.

It must have been real tough to get Paul Rudd for the movie, to make out with Jessica Alba and Famke Jennsen?
He really didn't feel like doing it, but it's a job. You got to earn your money.

Is the "State" a reason why you went into that type of format?
Ever since I met those guys in college and we worked together as a group of eleven for seven years pretty constantly. All of us have continued to work together in different configurations, since then. And doing a movie like "The Ten" was definitely an opportunity to work again with every other member of "The State" and to work with some version of the sketch format, but still in a feature film. So, yeah.

Are you guys planning something similar again?
We are in the early stages of a new "State" project that all of us are going to be doing together.

Can you give me more information?
It's just a new project with the whole group. That's all I can say right now.

You are also involved with "Little Big Men"?
Correct, although that's no longer the title. It is actually the "Untitled Mentor Project." We'll have a title at some point.

What's the status of the movie?
The status is that it is being edited now. It is really funny and I'm working on it every day. The potential, hopeful release is in August.

Will there be a trailer for this movie?
There are not going to be any trailers. No ads or anything. It's a weird way of doing it. They are also not going to even list it at the theaters. It's going to be viral, you will just kind of have to know that it's playing. (Seriously) there will be a trailer fairly soon.

Was the movie originally planned as a drama?
Timothy Downling wrote the script as a comedy but it was the original writer, Blake Haren, who I believe wrote a drama version of it. Then Timothy Downling turned it into a comedy. There were a number of other writers involved. And I came on relatively late in the game.

Do you want to say anything else about "The Ten"?
The one exciting thing that I want to say about "The Ten" DVD, the commentary track with me, Paul Rudd, Ken Marino and my parents is worth the price of the DVD on its own. My parents giving their honorary opinions about the film. They weren't crazy about a lot of things and they weren't afraid to say so, and it was pretty entertaining to hear about it.

Why your parents?
My parents are in their late 70s in Shaker Heights, Ohio. They weren't exactly the demographic for this film, and that's why I chose to have them think about it for two hours.

"The Ten" hits stores on January 15th.

Click here to read our "The Ten" DVD review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved