WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Exclusive Chat with Uwe Boll

Posted: January 11th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Exclusive Chat with Uwe BollSubmit Comment
WorstPreviews got the chance to talk to director Uwe Boll about "In the Name of the King," which is in theaters now, and his other projects.

What attracted you to "In the Name of the King"?
It was an opportunity for me to do a totally different genre. To do a big epic fantasy adventure movie. I always try to acquire games with different genre backgrounds. I have a zombie movie like "House of the Dead," a creature movie like "Alone in the Dark" and a vampire movie like "Bloodrayne." It would be boring for me to only do horror.

Did the game makers get involved?
Absolutely. I had the opportunity to get all the feedback from the game company. I think it really paid off. They really like the movie. It was released in Germany and has been running very successfully. We have been in the top ten for three weeks. I think what people saw is that it is much bigger than any of the other movies that I have done.

Was it difficult to get the actors?
Everything worked out fine, even though we had huge logistics for that movie. We had 1500 extras, we shot everything on location in the Rocky mountains, Ray Liotta almost broke his back and was knocked out for a while, Jason Statham twisted his ankle and couldn't run for two weeks. We structured the shooting schedule and finally made it.

"Postal" was taken off the release schedule, will we ever see it in theaters?
It will appear in theaters, we are looking for the right weekend. Now the strategy is to move it against the summer blockbusters. To put it against Narnia 2, which is almost alone on the weekend, we cannot lose that much. It is better to go against a non-competitor.

Right now I'm happy about "In the Name of the King" and "Postal" and that people are writing positive reviews, people are giving them a chance. I will spend the next two or three months in America to support the release of "Postal," because it needs my full support, that I do press conferences and that I go to festivals, to get the word of mouth out.

I think "Postal" is by far my best movie and I'm super happy with it. There is a bigger impact and statement in "Postal," even though it is a totally dirty comedy, than in political movies like "Lions and Lambs" or other dreadful movies that are anti-war, anti-Bush. They are not naming the situation, they are not movies that you should have after what happened in the last eight years on the planet. Because "Postal" is so absurd, it is way more political than those serious political movies about the situation. We are living in an absurd world. If you look at Al Gore, he makes a movie about global warming and gets a Nobel prize and everything is great, but he was Vice President of the United States for eight years and did nothing. And then he makes a documentary when he doesn't have power anymore. This is absurdity and I don't think that I'm alone with this feeling that there is lots of stuff around us that is not explained through the media and that we don't believe the official stories anymore.

If you cannot play a movie like "Postal" in Germany because exhibitors are afraid of the Muslims living here, then I think that something went completely wrong. We lost our freedom, because we are all so politically correct that we have to put our brain in the closet and we cannot say anything anymore at all, against nobody. From this point of view, "Postal" is a movie with a lot of courage and I'm really proud that I made it. I think it was necessary to do this and make a statement that a few people in all the countries in the western civilized world are getting blackmailed and we are going down the drain because of fanatics in the terrorist groups and fanatics in the oil and weapons industries.


What is the status of "Far Cry," "Tunnel Rats" and "Zombie Massacre"?
"Zombie Massacre" is still in the future, but if I ever do a zombie movie again, it will be "Zombie Massacre." It has a cool story. You are in a city where everyone is a zombie and you have a nuclear bomb in your car, which you have to deliver to the middle of the city. And you're getting attacked non-stop. I think this could be an interesting zombie movie. You could do it a little like "Crank," where you run against the time.

We are doing sound mixes on "Tunnel Rats" and we were able to secure the rights to great songs from the 60s, like "In the Year 2525," "Wild Thing" and "I Heard It Through the Grapevine" by Marvin Gay. All the songs from 1968, when everything began, like the Black Panthers, Martin Luther King got shot in 1968, Bobby Kennedy got shot in 1968. "Tunnel Rats" is a Vietnam War movie about the Cu-Chi tunnels, 260 kilometer tunnels were used by the Vietcong. And these tunnels were the reason America couldn't win that war, because all the weapons and the food went through the tunnel systems. The soldiers that were in the tunnels fighting against the Vietnamese, said that we did it absolutely realistic. I think the movie is very strong and it shows that in a war nobody wins. We show the Vietnamese and the Americans and it shows that you either lose your life or you lose your soul. We only have young actors in it, they went to a boot camp in South Africa with real mercenaries, people in the bush, who were fighting in Rwanda. And this was so effective for these young LA guys, they basically ended up forming their own army.

"Far Cry" is like "Die Hard" on an island. We have Jack Carver renting out his boat to the young journalist to get to the island where she thinks a Dr. Krieger is making genetically modified soldiers. And she wants that story. And Carver doesn't care, he drops her there, but then his boat is destroyed by a rocket launcher, so he gets stranded on the island with her and has to fight for survival. I think this is a really cool commercial movie. This will take another 3 or 4 months for special effects.


You can also read about Boll's upcoming movie "United Stated of America" here. And see what he had to say about the infamous boxing matches with the critics here.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved