WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Rodriguez to Replace James Cameron on "Alita: Battle Angel"

Posted: October 16th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Rodriguez to Replace James Cameron on "Alita: Battle Angel"Submit Comment
James Cameron has been making plans to direct "Battle Angel" for over a decade, but after "Avatar" became a hit, he decided that he'll instead focus on "Avatar" sequels.

But now comes word from 20th Century Fox that "Battle Angel" is moving forward. Cameron is stepping aside to let Robert Rodriguez (Sin City) direct, while he'll remain as a producer. The title of the film will be "Alita: Battle Angel."

Plot: Set in the 26th century, the story focuses on Alita, an amnesiac female cyborg who is rescued from a scrapyard by a doctor. The rebuilt Alita, remembering only her training in a deadly martial art, becomes a hunter-warrior, tracking down and eliminating vicious criminals.

"Robert and I have been looking for a film to do together for years," said Cameron. "So I was pumped when he said he wanted to do 'Battle Angel.' He's very collaborative and we're already like two kids building a go-kart, just having fun riffing creatively and technically. This project is near and dear to me, and there's nobody I trust more than Robert, with his technical virtuosity and rebel style, to take over the directing reins. We're looking forward to learning a lot from each other while we make a kick-ass epic."

Rodriguez added: "'Battle Angel' is an incredibly rich and vibrant epic in the tradition of Jim Cameron's spectacular, character-driven films. Getting to work from Jim's terrific and visionary script while learning the cutting edge techniques he's pioneered is a master class in filmmaking. It's an honor to explore the world of Alita along with Jim and [producer] Jon [Landau], whose films have impacted me for decades."

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on September 11th, 2015 at 3:27:19 AM

Meh.
mіnkowskі writes:
on October 15th, 2015 at 7:27:40 PM

Ah. Smart choice. From that loser who gave us Aliens, Terminator 2, True Lies and Avatar, to the cinematic genius who gave us Spy Kids and Machete.

Thanks, Hollywood. And to think I was worried you'd royally f*ck this one up.
mіnkowskі writes:
on October 15th, 2015 at 7:33:08 PM

"The title of the film will be "Alita: Battle Angel"


Ah. Another smart choice. The film definitely needs the colon and contrivedly rearranged title and colon. How else would we know we're watching yet another brilliant Hollywood masterpiece?
mіnkowskі writes:
on October 15th, 2015 at 7:42:36 PM

Man, I sure do f*ck up a lot a lot a lot on this piece of sh*t site site site.

-and colon
Rambo_redux writes:
on October 15th, 2015 at 10:21:59 PM

Robert Rodriguez should stick to what his talented for which is...

eh..

i need help here,guys.
ВadChadВ33 writes:
on October 15th, 2015 at 11:08:46 PM

^^Sucking d*ck?
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 15th, 2015 at 11:53:00 PM

Well, why dont i just scratch my eyes out
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 16th, 2015 at 12:14:33 AM

I thought that MACHETE KILLS AGAIN...IN SPACE was MeXt on RR's greasy plastic taco plate.
-BULLIT- writes:
on October 16th, 2015 at 4:14:48 AM

Robert f*cking Rodriguez!?

Everything he touched turned to sh*t!

Matador From Dusk Till Down are so f*cking stupid. He must be smoking some ancient Inca sh*t! I hate that f*cker.
Prime writes:
on October 16th, 2015 at 5:02:34 AM

Hell of a job on Sin City 2, you wetbacked lettuce-picking illegal alien taco-chomping greaseball.
WyattMack writes:
on October 16th, 2015 at 12:01:32 PM

ill watch it in hopes of over the top CGI blood splatter scenes and the inevitable cameo from Danny Trejo cause that guys acting ability is just so goddamn hilarious...
Kurskij writes:
on October 16th, 2015 at 8:48:30 PM

I like Rodriguez. He's a good DIY filmmaker.

Average music, aslightly below-verage cinematography, average editing, average editing... f*cking painfully average editing. Directing. - he can do it all.


But here we have a previously unknown case of world's most technical action director handing the keys to what was (once) to be the world's most sophisticated sci-fi/manga action thriller to the world's most Robert Rodriguez Robert Rodriguez.

Who is used to make movies in his very own Austin TX backyards studio.

Sin City was great. Spectacular for its time even.

But this feels like a huge mistake.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved