WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"

Posted: July 31st, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"Submit Comment
Today we have the first photo from the upcoming "Demolition," starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Naomi Watts and Chris Cooper. Check it out below.

Plot: Davis (Gyllenhaal), a successful investment banker, struggles after losing his wife in a tragic car crash. Despite pressure from his father in law Phil (Cooper) to pull it together, Davis continues to unravel. What starts as a complaint letter to a vending machine company turns into a series of letters revealing startling personal admissions. Davis’ letters catch the attention of customer service rep Karen (Natts) and, amidst emotional and financial burdens of her own, the two form an unlikely connection. With the help of Karen and her son Chris (Judah Lewis), Davis starts to rebuild, beginning with the demolition of the life he once knew.

The new movie is directed by Jean-Marc Vallee (Wild, Dallas Buyers Club) and will next be shown at the Toronto Film Festival in September. It's set to hit theaters on April 8th, 2016.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 24th, 2015 at 7:42:02 AM

“ALLOW ME TO BREAK THE ICE”
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 26th, 2015 at 7:22:56 AM

Fabulous!
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 1:30:56 AM

Sounds like an episode of Jerry Springer.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 1:51:52 AM

Damn Alex. You're on a roll
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 1:59:58 AM

Alex likely woke up with an impending nightshart and ran to his bath tub and decided to update.
Rambo_redux writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 2:36:05 AM

I got a headache from reading the plot
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 2:55:18 AM

You read it!?
Rambo_redux writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 2:58:06 AM

I did.
Avirex writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 3:58:14 AM

Its like a movie written by middle aged white people for middle aged white people. How f*cking exciting.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 4:20:09 AM

Dear Vending Machine Company,

Please stock more Baby Ruths.
They are ribbed for my pleasure.


PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 4:25:26 AM

Dear Vending Machine Company,

I seriously cannot take any more of your Twix candy bars.

In my ass
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 4:29:09 AM

Dear Vending Machine Company,

Your shotty machines keep taking my money.

I find the vacuum cleaner to be the sexiest of the household appliances.
jafinbham writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 5:48:43 AM

Dear Jake,
Does your sister like d*ck in her butt?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 8:03:12 AM

Thanks for giving the while movie again Alex!!
boogiel writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 8:48:02 AM

Very mediocre. Period!
The_Architect writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 9:01:05 AM

^Your avatar always beats any article on this site.
Cannon writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 9:42:30 AM

And so continues the career campaign of Jake 'Give-me-an-Oscar' Gyllenhaal.

Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 10:07:55 AM

Prisoners: Symbolism With A Purpose

Much has been written of the currently playing movie “Prisoners” and its heavy use of Christian symbolism. Some critics have decried the movie as being heavy-handed with the dogma: others have extolled it for elevating a relatively straight-forward thriller movie. For myself, I spent the first half of the movie questioning whether the symbolism was necessary — in the second half I sat back and merely admired the way it mirrored the plot.



People constantly complain about movie adaptations being worse than the original book, the source material. My theory? An author has to think about everything. Words are precious. Every sentence needs to have a purpose, including the descriptive passages. The tone needs to be the same throughout, and theme needs to be coherent as paragraphs transition between dialogue, narrative structure, and physical description. Movies sometimes forget that — the background is merely a set piece, it doesn’t say anything. So I appreciated that in “Prisoners”: everything meant something. Almost every Chekhovian gun went off, and every camera angle was carefully considered. Once the symbolism was decoded, it could be tracked to figure out the plot.

The clearest symbolism throughout the novel was based upon Christianity. The first shot involved the main character reciting a Biblical verse, while his son shoots a deer. Immediately following the scene, the camera focuses on a cross (I couldn’t tell if it was a cross or a crucifix) swaying from the rearview mirror of the character’s (Dover) truck. We soon learn that Dover is a carpenter. Because he’s played by Hugh Jackman, we know that the movie will focus on him, on his sorrow, his grief, his turmoil. The message is clear: this is our Messianic character.

A little more is learned about Dover — that he stockpiles in his basement, is prepared for anything, loves Springsteen and the Star-Spangled banner. This is a man who sees in black and white. His faith does not align with the Judaic tradition of questioning — it is a stark world of good and evil.

The beauty of the movie is in how little dialogue it takes for us to learn these facets. We see them in the background, in the setting, in little asides and brief glimpses of cans in a basement. It’s a classic case of “show, don’t tell” and it’s beyond effective.



Then there are the trees: the movie begins, as I already stated, in the woods. The whole movie takes place in rural Pennsylvania — rife with the deep woods. The crosses displayed throughout the film are wooden. Dover’s best friends are the Birches. At one point, when an RV crashes into a tree, there is a long moment in which the camera focuses on a tree branch that has broken through the tree. The symbolism is simple and striking — who can help but associate wood with the crucifix. There is something wholesome about wood, something pure — it features strongly in the Christian narrative, but also in pagan faiths — there are gods in the woods, (Old Gods, if you read Game of Thones). Every religion, it seems, associates at least one god with the woods.

Perhaps this is the symbolism spoken of in so many woods — the clear crosses shown in mirrors, in tattoos, in backgrounds of shots — but the movie goes beyond.

The Trinity

There are three suspects throughout the movie. The first suspect is an RV-driving man with the intelligence of a ten year old (Alex Jones). We know next to nothing about him, at the beginning — everything that we learn is through the words of his aunt, who adopted him and raised him. The second suspect is a priest, with a mysterious hidden basement who confesses to having killed at least two men. There is, then, a suspect who is a Father, and a suspect who is a Son. Sure enough, about an hour into the film, another suspect emerges — a man whose name we do not know, whose backstory we do not know — a man who flees when we first meet him, but somehow sneaks into houses and elude the cops. A ghost.

Snakes

There is no more clear representation of evil in Christian dogma than the snake. Satan is, of course, referred to as a serpent, time and again. There are Christian creation myths in which the snake is deprived of legs and forced to crawl along the earth because it aided Satan. And, in its most traditional form, there is the snake in the story of Adam and Eve. In “Prisoners” the snake makes two separate appearances. We are told that the father of one suspect kept snakes — we later find that a youth who was abducted by that father keeps snakes. The father had abducted at least 16 children: the youth did not abduct any, and he locked the snakes away in caskets, creating a kind of Pandora’s box of snakes and evil — an attempt, one assumes, to lock away the evil of his past. A detective, of course, opens the box and lets the snakes free.

The Roman Soldier

In a fun twist, our original Messianic character, Dover, “turns to the dark side” about halfway through the movie — desperate to recover his daughter, he grabs the first suspect, kidnaps him, ties him to a sink, and proceeds to torture him. Not exactly the most Christian of actions. It’s likely that the filmmakers wanted the audience to agree with Dover — to believe that the suspect had abducted the girls, and was the main villain — to agree with Dover that he knew something. Halfway through the film, we discover that Dover is not as certain as he’s been acting — he has his doubts. But, in his belief of black/white, in his firm gender-role of protector, he is not allowed to have doubt. He tortures the man, and turns to carpentry as the final form of torture — Jesus was put to the cross, but in “prisoners” it is a more modern torture — an isolated chamber with water torture, alternately scalding hot and freezing cold. As Dover turns to carpentry, he converts into the ROman soldier, who begs forgiveness from a God that he isn’t certain he believes in, while the only person who can deliver forgiveness and truth, is within his wooden creation.

Nordic Mythology

What made the film even more tantalizing fun to follow was the juxtaposition of the more familiar Christian symbolism with the ancient and more confusing Nordic. On the one side we have Dover and the Birches, with their children Grace and Hope, with their wooden crosses and carpentry. On the other is Detective Loki (Gyllenhal) who has tattoos with origins in the zodiac, judaism, christianity, and the freemasons. His name — Loki (a Nordic God) is out first hint that there is symbolism beyond the apparent Christian.

The Maiden in the Labyrinth

Mazes are a recurrent theme — a corpse found in the priests’ basement wears a maze-like pendant — one of the suspects repeatedly draws crosses — and, when tortured, Dover learns from his suspect that his daughter is “in the maze.”

Mazes are not a terribly important component of Christian mythology — in Greek, Roman, and Nordic mythologies, however, they abound. Nordic mythology in particularly involves a “maiden in a labyrinth” — a girl, generally a princess, who is at the center of a labyrinth, guarded by a troll-like creature. In Prisoners, it is made clear early on that Dover will find his daughter “in the maze.” Unfortunately, this is one of the uncertain symbols of the movie — outside of the traditional “maze of suspects” that appears in every thriller movie, there is never a “maze” in the film — apparently we are supposed to be satisfied that the original villain was fascinated by mazes, and passed that sick fascination on to every one of the children he abducted.

One-Eyed God

Another frequent visual in the film is that of the single eye. After being tortured by Dover, Jones has one eye that is bruised so much that it is permanently shut — in later scenes, he is filmed so that the light falls only on his one, open eye. And, during the climax, Gyllenhal’s character is shot just over his left eye, so that blood seeps into it, pops blood vessels, and veils his vision. In Christian mythology, there is limited symbolism of a single eye (at least that I know of). In Nordic mythology, however, the God Odin gives up one eye to the Three Fates in exchange for Wisdom. In Prisoners, Jones is the one character who, from start to finish, knows and is willing to divulge the location of the missing girls — similarly, Gyllenhal is blinded when he discovers a girl. Wisdom comes with its price.

I am certain that there are other symbols that I missed — but what was there gave heft. The central theme — taking justice into ones own hands — is furthered by the symbolism. Religion is meant to give meaning and explanation to the world in which we live — it helps to inform, teach, and help us in living positive, valued lives. In “Prisoners” everything is distorted — a safe suburb is no longer safe, a Christian man no longer embodies Christian values, and the martyr is both villain and hero. It makes for a compelling backdrop to a movie.

In novels, there are “books/stories/novels” and there is “literature” and we all know there is a difference. In movies, no such differentiation exists. If there were, however, I am confident that “Prisoners” would lift itself above the rabble to movie-literature.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 11:02:13 AM

Deaft if your post has the word "Christian" in it, I'm immediately scrolling past to the next comment. Go watch Passion of the Christ already.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 11:27:26 AM

@Tan

Lol, I am not a Christian.

If you read any of my posts from The Night Before thread, they are from kyroot.com

Which is "500 Reasons Why Christianity is False."

The Prisoners article is just discussing the religious symbolism used in the film, which is completely unrelated to what I posted yesterday.
kate writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 12:07:40 PM

@deaf

great post.
Bandolero998 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 12:30:51 PM

Show your tits Kate or go black
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 12:46:52 PM

I would also like to see Kate's breasts.
Bandolero998 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 12:48:41 PM

Rambos playing separate accts
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 12:51:01 PM

@kate

Tits or gtfo!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iDczj5u-Cdk
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 1:15:42 PM

Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 1:30:26 PM

Alex is really stepping his game up fellas, we got two new movies to review!
The_Architect writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 2:54:55 PM

tan is the man.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 5:01:41 PM

tan is in boy
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 5:38:58 PM

Superman is named Hernan Guerra and is the son of General Zod who was rocketed to Earth as a child and raised by a family of honarable and hardworking Mexican migrant farmers, having to go through the troubles that non paper people have in the United States it leads him to become short tempered and withdrawn from humanity.


gracias but no gracias
Bandolero998 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 6:32:34 PM

Rip rowdy piper
The_Architect writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 6:58:54 PM

^sad news. 61 is still too young.

He did a great job in 'They Live'.

RIP.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 7:07:05 PM

Also Hell Comes to Frogtown.

RIP Roddy
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 7:14:35 PM

Damn
will watch They Live today
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 7:17:39 PM

Lol, mink is banned again, so he's posting with The Architect:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=666
alleyg21 writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 7:22:59 PM

@ Just saw your post Pap. Climbing slowly but surely ahah. Crock of sh*t if you ask me, NBC just couldn't deliver. Red Dragon episodes are definitely most enjoyable by far. Should have started the season off with the Red Dragon Saga! Tisk Tisk NBC, TISK TISK.

Has anyone watched the Black Mirrors series? Dark and twisted and f*ckin BRILLIANT! Definitely worth a watch, and on Netflix as well. Burned through it in two days...excellent show, casting as well.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 7:30:17 PM

@alleyg

These first 2 Red Dragon eps are decent so far, but if you didn't notice, they used the lines "That's the same atrocious aftershave you wore in court." And "Have you ever seen blood in the moonlight Will? It appears quite black." In episodes in the last 2 seasons.

Those lines are in the Red Dragon novel so it was odd they were used out of context earlier on the show but are now being used again in the proper context for the story.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 7:31:17 PM

Those lines are also in Manhunter and Red Dragon with Tony Hopkins.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 31st, 2015 at 8:48:31 PM

tanx fer yer too cents ya smert motherr f*ckerr!


The_Architect writes:
on August 1st, 2015 at 1:42:09 AM

@deaf

I am not mink.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved