WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"

Posted: July 20th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She IsnSubmit Comment
While speaking to The Hollywood Reporter, Ava DuVernay (Selma) was asked about why she turned down the chance to direct Marvel's "Black Panther" film.

"For me, it was a process of trying to figure out, are these people I want to go to bed with?," she said. "Because it's really a marriage, and for this, it'd be three years. It'd be three years of not doing other things that are important to me. It was a question of, is this important enough for me to do?"

DuVernay continued: "At one point, the answer was yes, because I thought there was value in putting that kind of imagery and culture in a worldwide, huge way that they do in a certain way: flying, exciting action, fun, all those things, and yet still be focused on a black man as a hero — that would be pretty revolutionary. These films go everywhere from Shanghai to Uganda, and nothing that I probably will make will reach that many people, so I found value in that. That's how the conversations continued, because that's what I was interested in. But everyone's interested in different things."

"What my name is on means something to me — these are my children. This is my art. This is what will live on after I'm gone. So it's important to me that that be true to who I was in this moment. If there's too much compromise, it really wasn't going to be an Ava DuVernay film."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 19th, 2015 at 9:53:12 PM

Hasta la vista, baby.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 19th, 2015 at 9:53:18 PM

I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 17th, 2015 at 6:20:29 AM

Seems like I've seen this news somewhere.

Immediately after I took a steaming dump, perhaps?

Yeah, that's it.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:29:19 AM

She sounds like your typical stupid black person: high on politically-correct black power gobbledygook and low on IQ and ambition.

Well, sister, I hope you like directing episodes of Blacked.com and BET Kwanzaa specials, because that where you and your racialist claptrap is going.

f*ck. A lefty too left for Hollywood. Thought I'd never see the day.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:29:47 AM

's.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:31:52 AM

What an arrogant little twat. Selma was an average melodrama that no one gave a sh*t about.

Black Panther can't fly.

Your next movie about sympathizing with the Hurricane Katrina looters will be a piece of sh*t too.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:33:21 AM

One in the pink..two in the mink
Cause it's his duty to take it in the booty !!
Homo Troll
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:35:36 AM

Translation: she wanted to make another hating whitey piece of sh*t, and Marvel said no, we're making a movie that appeal to everyone.

What a pretentious burnt c*nt.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:39:14 AM

I hear she's making a new movie entitled 'Michael Brown: A Real American Hero'.

Because nothing says awesome like strong-arming a clerk for cigars, jaywalking, and then trying to murder a police officer.


Sleep tight, Gentle Giant™.




ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 6:40:31 AM

'll
jafinbham writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 8:06:13 AM

I have no idea who the hell this person is or why they're being interviewed. Next.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 9:04:45 AM

This will be Marvel's lowest grossing opener.
boogiel writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 9:09:30 AM

Am I the only one who doesn't think a black director needs to direct a movie about a black superhero or a female director needs to direct a movie about a female superhero? What about, oh I don't know... Just getting a director that's a good fit for the film?
Rambo_redux writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 9:18:25 AM

why did alex post a photo the predator in this article ?
boogiel writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 11:42:46 AM

@rambo

LOL! Nice!
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 2:05:59 PM

Who does she think she is?
Blackfred Blackc*ck??

So what.
does this mean that if Vern Troyer directed Ant-Man it would have performed better?

Maybe Spike Lee and Tyler Perry will let her direct something for them..pppaahahahaaa!

They're gonna be like,"niggra plz, i got FIVE kids to feed."
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 2:12:02 PM

WHAT!?
No DuVernay ??!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 2:31:27 PM

"If there's too much compromise, it really wasn't going to be an Ava DuVernay film."

Bitch thinks she's Martin Scorsese.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 2:43:38 PM

I could maybe see if she was nominated for Best Picture or Best Director

What'd she get Best Song nom or somthn?
Or just the Oscar's token performance?
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 20th, 2015 at 4:59:36 PM

It won best song but that was obviously a consolation prize.

The movie had the quality of a TNT Original. Very dull and melodramatic and ham-fisted direction.

I'm glad she turned down Black Panther because she would have been detrimental to the film, not a benefit.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on July 21st, 2015 at 10:51:56 AM

dumb. why not take the money and not have to worry about work ever.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved