WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Posted: June 23rd, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and StraightSubmit Comment
An agreement between Marvel and Sony recently leaked online, revealing that Sony is contractually obligated to keep Spider-Man white and straight in its "Spider-Man" films.

This news immediately split fans into two groups. One that believes that Spider-Man should remain white. And the other that believes that the entire point of Spider-Man is that anyone, of any race, can be behind the mask.

Today we have a comment from Spider-Man co-creator Stan Lee, who said: "I wouldn't mind, if Peter Parker had originally been black, a Latino, an Indian or anything else, that he stay that way. But we originally made him white. I don't see any reason to change that. I think the world has a place for gay superheroes, certainly. But again, I don't see any reason to change the sexual proclivities of a character once they've already been established. I have no problem with creating new, homosexual superheroes."

He continued: "It has nothing to do with being anti-gay, or anti-black, or anti-Latino, or anything like that. Latino characters should stay Latino. The Black Panther should certainly not be Swiss. I just see no reason to change that which has already been established when it's so easy to add new characters. I say create new characters the way you want to."

Source: Newsarama


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 17th, 2015 at 12:37:41 AM

Neato!
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 18th, 2015 at 10:40:03 PM

Coolio!
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 22nd, 2015 at 6:28:12 AM

Dr. Dre-eo, or something.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:32:36 AM

f*ck Stan Lee.
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:32:44 AM

in other words - he didn't say anything important.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:37:21 AM

If the damned niggras want their own goddamned comic book heroes, they need to do what they alwys do when they want something: go out and steal it.
Papillon writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:37:30 AM

Much ado about nothing!
Avirex writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:37:39 AM

Its $100 for Stan Lee to autograph your sh*t.

I bet if a fan paid to have him sign a copy of the black Spider-Man comic he'd still do it.

With that being said, I don't give a f*ck. None of the popular characters have any meaningful message regardless of what color, genitals they like or disabilities they have.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:37:44 AM

^^...said Stan Lee.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:46:51 AM

"I have no problem with creating new, homosexual superheroes."



You're up, Tanman.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:51:42 AM

Is Spiderman getting ready to f*ck that black kid in his head?
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 8:10:03 AM

BadChadB33 writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 8:20:19 AM

Omfg updates!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 9:16:29 AM

Mink-
I have the sudden urge to shoot up a church..

Bad-
I know right!?!?

Also. Who gives a poop. Keep him white. Don't. I'm not watching the reboot regardless.
alleyg21 writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 11:24:49 AM

Nicely said the "almighty" immortal being Stan Lee.

#SAVEHANNIBAL

Already a petition I'm praying Netflix makes the right call. Holla Holla holla.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 11:35:45 AM

Stan Lee is a god amongst Men.

He speaks truthiness!
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 12:25:23 PM

Rambo_redux writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 12:27:42 PM

Tom Holland Is Marvel’s New Spider-Man; Jon Watts to Direct Standalone Film

http://collider.com/tom-holland-is-marvels-new-spider-man/
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 12:29:02 PM

New spiderman :

triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 1:36:22 PM

I thought they said he wasn't going to be gay?
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 1:36:26 PM

I thought they said he wasn't going to be gay?
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 1:57:16 PM

I think I actually would've watched a black tranny Spiderman over this pre-teen looking kid.
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 2:47:08 PM

bad ass music :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MaL6NxTvWRM
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 3:12:52 PM

Where's Jesse Jackson when tha brothas need his words of quiet wisdom?..

Ps Rambo f*cking owns today.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 3:16:38 PM

Let's make Blade white and Black Panther Asian.

For no f*cking reason at all.

Because that's how the world is today it seems:

1. Come up with a stupid idea no one really asked for.
2. Drag race into it even if little sh*t is kicking.
3. ???
4. Profit(?)
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 3:27:14 PM

Very off topic.

I hadn't realized they Finally put more season of King of the Hill on DVD. I was pissed when I went to get season 7 years ago and found out they decided to stop making season to DVD. Like 8 years later they finally continue.

Gotta get the 4 seasons (7,8,9,10) that are out now.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:09:47 PM

RIP King Roland
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:13:27 PM

Did everyone all of a sudden get life's?
Where y'all at!?
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 7:56:18 PM

Check yo mommas house
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 11:49:28 PM

We're fingerbanging your father....oh, that's right. My bad.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 23rd, 2015 at 11:55:29 PM

I see what u did dur!
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 24th, 2015 at 3:00:32 AM

I heard the song Eat the Rich, so I showed up at Aerosmith's mansion with a knife and fork.

True story.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 24th, 2015 at 3:25:19 AM

Did.. Did yeah eat em?
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 24th, 2015 at 3:32:43 AM

Fun Fact :

If you go visit Collider.com you will see tomorrow's worstpreviews news.

true story.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 24th, 2015 at 3:41:09 AM

Pffft. WP is run by a lazy, greedy Jewish plagiarist. Collider has nothing on WorstPreviews.
Bandolero998 writes:
on June 24th, 2015 at 3:50:50 AM

Saw the second trailer for hitman there

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved