WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise Held His Breath for 6 Minutes for "Mission: Impossible 5" Underwater Scene

Posted: June 6th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise Held His Breath for 6 Minutes for "Mission: Impossible 5" Underwater SceneSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures recently unveiled a new trailer for "Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation," showing a scene in which Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise) has to jump into a water tank (pictured) to somehow save his team.

And now, in a new interview with USA Today, Cruise revealed that since the sequence was so important to the film, everyone decided to shoot it without cuts. Which means that Cruise had to become really good at holding his breath.

"I have done a lot of underwater sequences. But we wanted to create a suspense underwater sequence without cuts," he said. "So doing that sequence was really interesting. We're underwater and we're doing breath-holds of 6 to 6 1/2 minutes. It was very taxing stuff."

Cruise is known for not backing down from a stunt, but holding his breath for 6 minutes is incredible. Most people can't hold their breath for even a minute, but it turns out that the record is a whopping 22 minutes.

"Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation" is set to hit theaters on July 31st.

Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 5th, 2015 at 10:25:35 AM

Interesting.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 7:19:15 AM

Wow, he's amazing. He held his breath for six whole minutes. Stop the frigging presses.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 7:21:14 AM

"has to jump into a water tank"

At least it wasn't a couch this time.
ᴉʞsʍoʞuᴉɯ writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 7:26:14 AM

I'll bet anything the cold water helped induce bradycardia....
jafinbham writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 8:04:54 AM

David Blaine: How I held my breath for 17 min

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFnGhrC_3Gs

Really cool TED talk David Blaine did about holding your breath. I couldn't stand this dipsh*t until I saw this talk. Really worth the watch.

That being said, Tom Cruise is full of sh*t. No way did he hold his breath for 6 minutes while swimming around and moving underwater. I don't care how many Thetans he's cleared. Anything after six minutes and you run the risk of brain damage...according to those glib physicians with their medical degrees.
boogiel writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 8:12:58 AM

They'll promote the sh*t out of the airplane part and it'll probably last ten minutes, but it's definitely a great stunt. I just hope they aren't showing everything and there's actually a few more things left to be seen.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 8:15:36 AM

My personal best is over 2 minutes. But 6 minutes is f*cked and I also don't really believe he did. Probably an exaduration.
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 8:28:14 AM

well he had a lot of training with deep throating John Travolta's d*ck in Scientology meetings.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 9:19:31 AM

So...hes out of the closet ?!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 9:20:35 AM

Good for him, I'll give him a mother f*cking cookie!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 11:37:03 AM

Here ya go TANny boy

http://collider.com/the-x-files-reboot-starts-filming-monday-pictures-tease-reunion/
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 11:38:58 AM

Remember reviews?

http://collider.com/insidious-chapter-3-review/

PORN-FLY writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 11:40:13 AM

http://collider.com/the-stand-movie-to-conclude-8-part-showtime-miniseries/
Rambo_redux writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 11:55:34 AM



Rambo_redux writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 11:57:19 AM

DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 12:43:21 PM

I held my breath for 69 minutes when I f*cked Mink's mother.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 12:43:45 PM

Tom Cruise is f*cking great.
PORN-FLY writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 3:21:48 PM

I call BULLsh*t
he's got midget lungs
An American in Paris writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 3:41:41 PM

Holding one's breath for six minutes is no big f*cking deal.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 5:24:15 PM

Who needs WP to bring me the news I want when I have Porn? :P
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 6th, 2015 at 9:51:54 PM

Pure Oxygen
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 7th, 2015 at 12:33:13 AM

Everyone knows the last toes are always the coldest to cut.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 7th, 2015 at 4:20:39 AM

Yeah... ^
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on June 8th, 2015 at 8:53:14 PM

...counting all the takes of the scene totaled.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved