WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Free State of Jones"

Posted: March 10th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Free State of Jones"Submit Comment
Today we have the first photo from the upcoming "The Free State of Jones," which stars Matthew McConaughey and just started filming in New Orleans. Check out the photo below.

Plot: Set during the Civil War, "The Free State of Jones" tells the story of defiant Southern farmer Newt Knight, and his extraordinary armed rebellion against the Confederacy. Banding together with other small farmers, and with the assistance of local slaves, Knight launched an uprising that led Jones County, Mississippi to secede from the Confederacy, creating a Free State of Jones.

His marriage to a former slave, Rachel, and his subsequent establishment of a mixed race community was unique in the post-war South. Knight continued his struggle into Reconstruction, which distinguished him as a compelling, if controversial, figure of defiance long beyond the War.

The new movie is directed by Gary Ross (The Hunger Games, Seabiscuit) and co-stars Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Beyond the Lights), Keri Russell (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes) and Mahershala Ali (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1). It's set to hit theaters on March 11th, 2016.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 6:48:50 AM

No thank you!
Minkοwski writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 6:53:58 AM

Oh god, another sanctimonious, historically ignorant film that panders to left-wing sensibilities while lecturing everyone. Either that or an ugly, boring, dirty film on war. Or Both. Starring that drawling Texas surfer-hick.
Minkοwski writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 7:02:53 AM

Matt's like, I have to sh*t where and into what, again?!
Cannon writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 9:04:09 AM

Alright, alright, al—oh, you know the rest.
Rambo_redux writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 9:27:32 AM

bomb bomb bomb

every movie about that time era was either boring or flop.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 3:57:43 PM

What the f*ck happened to Gary Ross! He use to be this awesome director and writer who did less than conventional films and yet now he's done Hunger Games and this piece of crap!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 10th, 2015 at 9:52:01 PM

@Sleuth

Pleasantville and Seabiscuit are the only other 2 films that Gary Ross has directed aside from being a hired gun by the studio to direct The Hunger Games.

Pleasantville was unique but relies on a gimmick to surprise the viewer but it only works the first time. I will never need to see it again.

Seabiscuit, while being a conventional drama, is also very re-watchable because of great performances from everyone in the cast and especially Tobey Maguire who I feel was better than he was in Pleasantville.

As for this film, I seriously doubt it will be a "piece of crap". Civil and Revolutionary War dramas can be hit or miss just like any other period war film but films like Glory, Gods and Generals, the classic TV miniseries North and South, and Lincoln are all excellent examples of the genre.

jafinbham writes:
on March 11th, 2015 at 2:04:59 AM

"I was way up Lincoln's ass, long before anybody was paying me to be." said Matthew McConaughey.

Newt Knight's actions went on to put Mississippi at the forefront of being one the most awful sh*tholes in the newly unified U.S. of A. The kind of stain on the earth that assures everyone passing through, on the way to the Indian Casinos, that there is in fact no God. We are truly all alone. No one is ever coming to help us, and the sweet embrace of death is ultimately a gift.

You da real MVP Newt Knight.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 11th, 2015 at 2:07:40 AM

@Deaft0ne
I suppose. I just liked Ross's early works where he was allowed to be inventive. Even when he just wrote for a film he had so much imagination and brains. I loved "Dave" which he wrote in the 80's! Maybe it will be good! But like you said, hit or miss. And the fact it's being released in March worries me that it is not on the top list of whatever studio is producing it. Although, who knows, the screening could impress them and change it to the summer.

As for Macguire, thank you for recognizing his good acting. Many hate him but I like his subtle style. Although I disagree on his placement in "Pleasantville". LOL I felt he looked and fit the 1950's era so well with his "Oh boy!" attitude. I feel that was part of why Ross picked him. I will say this about f*cking Hunger Games...Banks kicks ass as Effie and, to me, is the best part of the series. Her energy and eccentric style really adds flair to the story. Her story arc is also one of the most interesting going from Capitol stooge to a full on rebel. And I owe that to Ross since, I imagine, he liked working with her so much in "Seabiscuit" he gave her a call to audition for it. And I know we disagree on HG's quality but, for the first one anyway, you could tell Ross's heart wasn't in it. He sort of just did it for the paycheck I imagine and the fact of tacking his name to a big franchise to help boost his cred. The second two are better on a visual level but it's just too over-the-top and contrived for me and all the blatant rip-offs of other dystopian stories just annoys me. But yeah banks makes it bearable character wise and her interaction with everyone.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved