WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good

Posted: February 27th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very GoodSubmit Comment
After making a name for himself with "District 9," director Neill Blomkamp moved on to the $115 million sci-fi movie "Elysium," starring Matt Damon. The movie grossed $286 million worldwide and has a decent 68% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. But according to Blomkamp, he didn't do a good job with it.

"I feel like, ultimately, the story is not the right story," he explained. "I still think the satirical idea of a ring, filled with rich people, hovering above the impoverished Earth, is an awesome idea. I love it so much, I almost want to go back and do it correctly. I just didn't make a good enough film. I feel like I executed all of the stuff that could be executed, like costume and set design and special effects very well. But, ultimately, it was all resting on a somewhat not totally formed skeletal system, so the script just wasn't there; the story wasn't fully there."

Blomkamp continued: "The problem with me is I get so caught up in concepts and ideas. Like I just said, 'the ring is so cool.' The satirical idea of a diamond encrusted ring above slums is such a satirically cool idea. I'm not like a normal person in the sense that I have to have a story for something to be interesting. Concepts are just as interesting to me as stories are."

Source: Uproxx


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Papillon writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 5:20:54 AM

No sh*t!
Minkοwski writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 5:23:32 AM

Neither is District 9 or Chappie.
Minkοwski writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 5:26:45 AM

In fact every film the guy makes pretty much sucks.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 8:02:14 AM

^Exactly!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 8:31:57 AM

I do think he's slightly overrated.
DarthMaul writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 8:59:22 AM

Guy is not overrated. District 9 was one of the best science fiction films in the past decade.Elysium is exactly what he said...great concept,art directions and sfx but a loose script let it down.And the guy has balls enough to admit his mistakes.

MINK IS A CHILD MOLESTER
DriveMemento writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 9:54:41 AM

Darthmaul well said!
Raider writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 10:22:06 AM

But chappie hasn't come out yet so mink can't say sh*t. f*cking pretentious c*nt.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 12:26:55 PM

What most have said here. The idea was good, but the way he progressed the story wasn't. You know it's funny, I feel that all that bitching about "Selma" getting snubbed because of racism was actually contributed to the same thing. It had great performances, great cinematography and even direction and the look of the 1960's, but it's story was so scattered that all the other elements had an inability to shine. I mean the film must have switched between Johnson and King and Wallace about 10 times in 20 minutes. It was exhausting. Lesson of the day, you could have all the best intentions in the world with a film, but if the story that glues it all together fails, then the film fails. People can get awesome costume designs and physical elements anywhere (There are sites dedicated to concept art) but a good story is needed for it to mean something. I liked "Elysium" for the most part but it dragged so much in the middle and by the end it felt like a robot rumble between Copley and Damon more than a fight for equality.
DarthMaul writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 1:40:11 PM

There's something about Matt Damon that I feel as an audience member I can't relate to this dude or feel his pain,when he got zapped with the radiation I did not give two sh*ts!

Good Will Hunting is the only flick of his I actually had a connection with the character he played.Different lead would of helped the film slightly,also his love interest.... That actress plays the same character in every movie I've ever seen her in! I am legend,Predators and Elysium.Same f*cking performance over and over again.





Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 1:51:01 PM

@DarthMaul
LOL All those movies you just mentioned were actress Alice Braga. The girl in Good Will Hunting was Minnie Driver. They aren't even the same race! LOL
Raider writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 2:12:17 PM

The movie was ok, I've seen worse sci-fi movies.
DarthMaul writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 4:45:08 PM

@sleuth that's who I am talking about you f*ck wit.I no the difference between a pale British chick and a f*cking Latino
Confucius writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 5:09:35 PM

The ring wasn't cool, dude.

The ring wasn't cool at all.

Confucius writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 5:17:05 PM

Alice Braga is just one of those performers (like Matt Dillon) who neither take anything from movie or really contribute.

They're just there. Doing their job (like Matt Dillon).

Cute, competent actress, but nothing more (like Matt Dillon).
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 6:18:04 PM

@DarthMaul
I think the f*ck wit is someone who writes a giant sentence that transitions from Good Will Hunting to Elysium and expects everyone to know what the f*ck he is talking about. Be specific. Friendly words of advice.
WallyDee writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 7:22:31 PM

I f*cking loved Elysium! Could it have been better? Sure! But that goes for thousands of movies. Blomkamp may not have been satisfied with the final result, but he still delivered a solid movie. Cant wait to see Chappie.
Rambo_redux writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 8:24:16 PM

It was a solid movie but forgettable.Matt Damon was a miscast.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 8:38:28 PM

Totally^ His spanish was f*ckin horrible, yet alone his acting.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 28th, 2015 at 1:31:31 PM

Ive said it before...I will never see Damon as an action star,...he is great in movies like Good will hunting, but i really never see him as a badass !!
Movie was alright !

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved