WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

Posted: February 26th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Neill BlomkampSubmit Comment
Director Neill Blomkamp (District 9, Elysium) is a huge fan of the "Alien" franchise. So when he cast Sigourney Weaver in his "Chappie" film, his obsession became even more intense.

Blomkamp used his own money to put together a bunch of concept art of what his "Alien" movie would look like. That concept art included the return of Weaver as Ellen Ripley and Michael Biehn as Corporal Dwayne Hicks.

The helmer went on to say that he never actually had any talks with 20th Century Fox about this. But a bit later came word that Fox has officially greenlit Blomkamp's new "Alien" installment and that Weaver is in talks to reprise her role.

Now that he's promoting "Chappie," Blomkamp revealed that his movie will completely ignore the existence of "Alien 3" and "Alien: Resurrection," stating: "I want this film to feel like it is literally the genetic sibling of 'Alien.' So it's 'Alien,' 'Aliens' and then this movie."

Weaver added that the plan is to give Ripley "a proper ending."

Source: Sky


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 4:08:56 AM

Uh huh. Because they can do something with the mess made in the fourth film.
Minkοwski writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 4:11:42 AM

I see. So basically ignore two of the movies in the franchise just t reintroduce a 702 year-old Weaver to a franchise that's about as f*cked up as Shia Lebeouf's mind.
Minkοwski writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 4:19:11 AM

I wonder how he'll work in those annoying beat-up CGI robots that are the typecast hallmark and staple of his visually-monotonous films and the off-beat, erratic attempt at leftwing social commentary.

After Prometheus. I've had more than enough of a franchise that died after Aliens. Don't need Blomkaamp f*cking it up even more.
Papillon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 5:55:15 AM

AS long Blomkamp can make it as good
Papillon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 5:55:42 AM

as the first two then why not?
Rambo_redux writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 6:05:42 AM

I like what I'm reading so far.ignore alien 3 and 4 ? f*cking brilliant,those 2 were dreadful.
Papillon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 6:15:07 AM

Also, it's an excellent idea to kill off Ripley's charcater once and for all just to end her torments.

Poor girl.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 6:27:52 AM

Sounds good !
Third one was god-awefull but the fourth was pretty good.
Hopefully, this will end all and Ripley can ride the Alien into the sunset !!
boogiel writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 7:22:12 AM

So basically he's pulling a Superman Returns. It's hollywood. If the reboot and remake didn't work, then retcon it.
nahdogg writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 8:05:45 AM

Alien 3 and 4 took place in an alternate universe.
Cannon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 9:41:18 AM

You know what? Bullsh*t.

Of course I don't think Alien 3 and Alien Resurrection are as good as the first two, but I still consider them respectable, or at least entertaining, outings on there own and I still recognize them as continuity.

This move is about ego more than anything else. It's Blomkamp attempting to position himself up alongside Ridley Scott and James Cameron at their finest and, in the process, sh*tting on not the work of two other filmmakers, but the fans of those latter two films as well. And, yes, those movies have their fanbase.

Somewhat ironically, it's also a case of obnoxious, bitchy, fanboy self-entitlement at its worst: Blomkamp kicking and screaming his way right through the continuity of a franchise he had nothing to with simply because the latter two are not up to his liking.

Figuring out a way to reengineer a 5th installment in between the events of Aliens and Alien 3 (to do whatever one pleases with Ripley and Hicks) without completely dismissing the second half of the franchise would be tricky but hardly impossible, especially with this being a science fiction setting/premise. All it would take is some clever imagination, and I'd be fine with as much.

Instead, Blomkamp is showing nothing but arrogance and contempt, which in truth doesn't surprise me when taking into account his lefty-socialist mentality. I'm sure he justifies it all with a "for the greater good" of the franchise.

I hope a xenomorph bursts open his chest and f*cks his mother. And I hope he's audited.

Cannon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 9:42:26 AM

Edit *not ONLY the work*
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 10:07:10 AM

Alien's For
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 10:07:11 AM

Alien's For
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 10:30:48 AM

Michael Biehn is happy. Poor guy needs to be in more.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 10:50:42 AM

I have the Alien Quadrilogy on DVD and I only watch the first 2 once a year but never the latter 2. I think a lot of people do the same.

District 9 did not have any "annoying beat-up CGI robots" and were only a minor aspect of Elysium.

Chappie appears to be a hodgepodge of Short Circuit, Batteries Not Included, E.T., and Wall-E, and seems to only feature the titular robot.

Replicants are an aspect of the Alien film mythos so I assume they will be in Neil Blomkamp's sequel. Just bringing back Lance Henriksen would be awesome enough.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 10:57:33 AM

I would so give weaver a proper "ending".

@Cannon I dig 3 and 4 too. Especially 3. Very cool film. I mean....Brian Glover....what else needs to be said? I liked 4 but its hard to watch Ryder in anything outside Beetlejuice. Liked the story though.

Oh and I didnt respond to you on the Black Spidey thread. My phone kept jamming up and flip screening. I didnt watch the Oscars. I heard it was insufferable.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 11:10:55 AM

^Yeah the Oscars were a sh*t-show, NPH should never host again. Michael Keaton got robbed by a british puff.
defiant1 writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 12:42:40 PM

I wonder if they're gonna bring back Hicks, Newt, and half of Bishop.
Cannon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 2:10:45 PM

In other words, game not over.

Tanman32123 writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 3:31:17 PM

Aliens 2
Alien 3
Alien: With a vengeance
Papillon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 4:46:19 PM

Deaf: you're an idiot. Think before you speak.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 5:02:07 PM

@pap

http://www.buzzfeed.com/louispeitzman/remember-when-eddie-redmayne-made-out-with-hugh-da

LOL
Papillon writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 5:09:28 PM

@Deaf

For whatever that counts, he's a former Eaton graduate along with Prince William but whatever to the mass, he's good at it and his Oscar is well deserved.

Not sure about his next project though...
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 5:16:49 PM

@pap

I recommend watching Birdman if you have yet to see it. I have seen many actors portray real-life and fictional characters with physical disabilities but Michael Keaton perfectly captured a man with a personal disability, being unable to really connect with others around him.

He deserved the Oscar for that. Redmayne was good but I have seen it before, My Left Foot being an example and a far superior performance by Daniel Day-Lewis which was absolutely deserving of the Best Actor Oscar.

I know Hawking has Lou Gehrig's Disease and Christy Brown had Cerebral Palsy but you know what I mean.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 6:05:37 PM

@Papillion
I have to agree with Deaft, Redmayne did a good job but his role was far from spectacular or unique. In fact I'm noticing a lot of Oscar winners lately have had to play characters with mental and physical disorders to get an Oscar. I feel Julianne Moore did "Still Alice" just because she knew it would earn her a long-deserved win. I'm not saying it's not impressive but the need to rely on a handicap, pun intended, attribute like that where they can research and understand aspects of a character without real character building is a little lazy to me. Keaton was the one-of-a-kind performance of the year. I mean the director let him speak when they won Best Picture. Honestly to me Felicity Jones was the really impressive one in TOE. So much emotion and mixed feelings on her face.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 7:15:19 PM

@Sleuth, I totally agree with your sentiments.

Also, check this out:

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/trailers/414333-neil-blomkamp-suggests-alien-5-will-not-rewrite-franchise-continuity#/slide/1
Knut writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 9:00:05 PM

I just noticed that Mink posts replies after reading individual paragraphs.

See his first two from this thread for example.

What a guy!

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 9:11:49 PM

@Deaft0ne
I like that! Oh wow, cool idea, the Ripley that landed on that colony in Alien 3 was a clone! The dead Hicks and Newt were failed experiments! I mean I refuse to believe that between that massive gap between A3 and A4 they took a long holiday to get that Alien DNA. I mean I appreciate the latter two but not nearly as engrossing as the first two. I'm really excited for this though! The concept art suggests a more impacting story concept!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 9:49:29 PM

@Sleuth

Yeah and ultimately it will be beyond cool to see Sigourney Weaver play Ellen Ripley again. She has said that she truly admires and loves the ALIENS fanbase.
boogiel writes:
on February 26th, 2015 at 10:57:11 PM

It seems Harrison For will return as Deckard in Blade Runner sequel: http://variety.com/2015/film/news/denis-villeneuve-in-talks-to-direct-blade-runner-sequel-1201442794/
OneTime writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 12:35:47 AM

nice alien 3 was a mess as well as the other one
jafinbham writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 4:35:48 AM

http://lebeauleblog.com/2014/03/08/what-the-hell-happened-to-michael-biehn/
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 4:53:11 AM

@Deaft0ne
Oh Weaver will do Ripley proud. She's still a bit of a badass even in her older years. She actually looks pretty good so it won't be overly unbelievable of her returning as an action heroine.
Papillon writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 5:19:10 AM

@Deaf & sleuth

Without contradicting myself, I tend to agree with both your comments but that doesn't mean Redmayne's performance isn't undeserved. In comparison with Birdman, perhaps Keaton shoul've have it as well; his acting is brilliant but the story wasn't captivating enough and the one-shot shooting style made me feel on the edge which is quite exhausting. Technically speaking it's very impressive but that wasn't enough apparently.
DarthMaul writes:
on February 27th, 2015 at 10:50:56 AM

How the f*ck can this potentially work? Just let the bitch go and make a film without Ripley.How can he have her in without doing some bullsh*t alien resurrection clone thing or she's an android.

It's impossible to have this bitch in without treating alien 3 and alien r never existed. i hope they do...Shame Michael Biehn has aged so badly.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved