WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"American Sniper" Shattering Box Office Records, "Blackhat" First Flop of 2015

Posted: January 19th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"American Sniper" Shattering Box Office Records, "Blackhat" First Flop of 2015Submit Comment
After three weeks of limited release, Warner Bros finally gave Bradley Cooper's "American Sniper" a wide release, which resulted in a record-breaking box office gross. The film earned a whopping $90.2 million over the weekend and is expected to reach $105.2 million over the long Martin Luther King Jr weekend.

That's the biggest opening of all time for January, as well as the biggest opening for a non-tentpole movie. The previous record-holder was "The Passion of the Christ" with $83.8 million. "American Sniper" is also easily Clint Eastwood's biggest movie. His previous best opening was for "Gran Torino" ($29.5 million).

"American Sniper" cost $60 million to make and has a 74% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. Plus, the movie was recently nominated for six Oscars, including Best Picture.

Meanwhile, Kevin Hart's "Wedding Ringer" took second place with $21 million over the weekend, the best debut for an R-rated comedy in January. It's another big win for Hart. "Wedding Ringer cost $23 million and has a 32% fresh rating.

Taking third place was "Paddington," which is based on the iconic bear. It earned $19.2 million, in addition to the $122.2 million that the film already grossed overseas. "Paddington" has an impressive 98% fresh rating.

But among all these winners, there's one big loser. Michael Man's big-budget action thriller "Blackhat," starring Chris Hemsworth (Thor), is the first box office flop of 2015. Landing in 10th place with only $4 million, the film has basically no chance of earning back its $70 million budget. It has a 31% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 1:37:37 AM

Blackhat sucked so I can see that one. Not sure about American Sniper.
Minkοwski writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 1:40:32 AM

For the idiots who say old age robs directors of talent...just look at Eastwood. f*ckers's in his eighties and still tearing up the box office. Dude's a true Hollywood legend and an enormously admirable human being.

Congrats, Clint.
Minkοwski writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 1:43:30 AM

Wouldn't mind seeing Paddington just to wash Ted from my mind.
Bandolero998 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:14:57 AM

I'm gonna watch American sniper for free.

Haha faghat
nuttie30xx writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:29:16 AM

American Sniper is a brilliant film i really hope it get best picture and bradley best actor but the academy will pick that kawkings crap over this which is a shame cause this man he played is a true hero
nuttie30xx writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:30:07 AM

hawkings*
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 3:16:14 AM

This move was a good watch.

Been taking a few days out from net surfing. Met a nice young lad who I spend time with playing darts and drinking pints at a lovely loval hotel.

@Bando puto maricon!
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 3:24:18 AM

@Sleuth eat a c*ck you pissy c*nt
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 3:25:57 AM

someone who likes the taste of farts in the morning after they have just brushed their teeth with the pubic hair of a 45 year old mexican porn star who specilises in baking shepeards pie
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 3:26:29 AM

^^ Sorry lads that was meant for facebook
propermelt writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 4:32:45 AM

American Sniper is great movie with some very powerful scenes. Also saw the Gambler last night to, quite a good movie, Wahlberg is pretty decent too.

@Pap - welcome back fella!
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 4:35:11 AM

@cheers prop I do dribble some sh*t sometimes but I mean well. Can't let JB get the better of me.
propermelt writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 4:39:16 AM

It's all banter mate, water off a ducks back! haha
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 5:33:45 AM

^^Too true. I know I can be a bit quick to lose my cool. But the pissy c*nt get's to me.
Papillon writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 5:59:16 AM

JB is at it AGAIN!!!

Just check his f*cking profile:

Papillion​​​
Member Since: Jan 19th, 2015
Last Online: Jan 19th, 2015

He just changed the double L with double i in capital!


Just check my profile:

Papillon
Member Since: May 31st, 2014


The f*cker has been obsessed with me for years now even though I stopped posting so, FWIW it's not me.
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 6:43:20 AM

I Must be on f*cking acid or swallowed too much sperm last weekend. Sorry fellas.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 9:12:44 AM

^ You two need to get a room.
Papillon writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 9:25:39 AM

^ ^ Not cool man, really not.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 11:05:54 AM

'Merican Sniper was amazing. Loved every second of it, I hope it wins some awards. Copper deserves an Oscar
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 1:01:37 PM

Bullit- sorry just being a smart ass.
Papillon writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:22:41 PM

@BC

It's all right my friend, it's all good.

I was and I am a smart ass too but not anymore on this site. That pissing monkey bored the f*ck out of me.

Bloody sociopa
Papillon writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:22:42 PM

@BC

It's all right my friend, it's all good.

I was and I am a smart ass too but not anymore on this site. That pissing monkey bored the f*ck out of me.

Bloody sociopa
Papillon writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:23:17 PM

*bloody sociopath he is alright!
Papillon writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:30:25 PM

Also, I MUST ADD that whatever comes out from that f*cking monkey, it won't be from me!

I just don't insult people within this very small community so if you can't make difference between a f*cking ersatz and the original aka ME then TANT f*ckING PIS!

Means tough on you in French.

Goodbye.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 2:44:01 PM

I hope to see American Sniper soon. Also different thread but Michael Moore can go f*ck a goat. And HAPPY CHOCOLATE MILK DAY f*ckers!
Malevolent Creation writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 4:39:45 PM

You f*cking c*nt. Quit have we? parasite stalking pisss soaked c*nt of a thing. Prending to be two people to stir yourself up. Argh the ass minder you are.
jaredhamline writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 5:01:33 PM

Nuttie30XX - Please don't breed.
Papillion​​​ writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 5:03:14 PM

^^ f*ck off you sociopath I have never left. I have over 1000 accounts so you will never know where or who I am you pissy c*nt.

Go suck your mothers c*nt you wanker!

You bore the f*ck out of me you pissing monkey
m2msucks writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 10:03:27 PM

American Sniper sucked. Eastwood hasn't made a good movie since Mystic River. American Sniper is overhyped garbage just like most of Eastwood's garbage.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 10:24:27 PM

Who brags about having over a thousand accounts on here? Get a life brah!
Bandolero998 writes:
on January 19th, 2015 at 11:26:27 PM

What a racist Jeff is.he probably thinks George w bush was a great president too
Rambo_redux writes:
on January 20th, 2015 at 12:34:30 AM

Saw America Sniper:

Great film. Just a wonderful science fiction film. The sets, the cinematography, the story, and hell the acting was great. Chris Evans surprised the hell out of me! I couldn't believe how good he was. I admit the ending felt rushed, but it was still a great ending. Well done to everyone involved.
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 20th, 2015 at 2:07:19 AM

XD
warriors187 writes:
on January 21st, 2015 at 9:17:18 PM

I'm glad for everyone involved with American Sniper. Great memorial for Chris Kyle. Bradly Cooper has never been anywhere near as good as he is in this, Clint Eastwood's directing is top notch as usual, and Sienna Miller was really good as well.
I saw Wild last night and Reese Witherspoon's performance was very intense. I haven't seen all the best actress nominees yet but she has to be in the running for Wild.
I really wanted to see Blackhat. Michael Mann has made some of my favorite movies. I'll def check it out.
Oh, also wanted to share with everyone that I'll be seeing The Dude tomorrow night at the Crest Theater in Sacramento! Jeff Bridges and the Abiders are playing. Can't wait!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved