WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: First Class" Director Had Enough of Christopher Nolan's Superhero Films

Posted: January 5th, 2015 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: First Class" Director Had Enough of Christopher NolanSubmit Comment
During a recent interview, Christopher Nolan revealed that his inspiration for "Batman Begins" was Richard Donner's "Superman" film, mostly because of the amazing cast. And even though Nolan's agent though that Nolan would never take the job, the helmer was actually very excited to give the franchise new life.

We ended up with "The Dark Knight" trilogy, which is considered a series of very dark and gloomy films. And according to "X-Men: First Class" and "Kick-Ass" director Matthew Vaughn, audiences don't need any more Nolan superhero movies.

"People want fun and escapism at the moment," he stated. "Look at the success of 'Guardians of the Galaxy.' I think Nolan kick-started a very dark, bleak style of superhero escapism, and I think people have had enough of it."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:04:19 PM

Zzzzz.
Minkοwski writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:08:49 PM

Donner's Superman wasn't entirely dark and bleak, so I'm not sure what Nolan saw in that film. I think the guy just had a sh*tty, morose childhood and spent most of his time moping about the grim nature of life. For me, Superman is a combinaton of dark and light, serious and comedic. It's there, the lightness, you just have to look for it.

Anyway, Vaughn is dead on imo. People are tired of dark and bleak in comic books, although the Nolanites will never tire of Nolan's nonsense. That's the nature of a cult.

Oh, and INterstellar is one of Nolan's most nonsensical movies. f*cker makes NO sense, outside the physics, which skew the movie because Nolan had to contrive a storyline that demonstrated Kip Thorn's interpretation of general relativity. That's why the film centers around a supermassive black hole in another galaxy for not f*cking reason.

Anyway, f*ck Nolan. His peak has passed.
Minkοwski writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:13:52 PM

"audiences don't need any more Nolan superhero movies."

Pretty sure Nolan is done with superhero films anyway, so you mean Nolanesque films, to which I say that people can enjoy either style, although I think most people go to the theater for FUN, not to get depressed. People want to escape into a rousing, colorful adventure, not revel in one man's suicidal ideation as cinema.

Nolan needs to grow up already.

Having said that, there's room for both, but it is good to hear relevant people within the industry state what I've been saying for YEARS, so...some some justification for me, finally.
Rambo_redux writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:18:33 PM

"People want fun and escapism at the moment," he stated. "Look at the success of 'Guardians of the Galaxy.'

Guardians of the galaxy was a well made movie if you compare it to all the other garbage that came out from Marvel in the last 6 years then it was not fun at all.
Captain america 1+2 , Thor 2, Avengers,Iron man 2 and 3 - all were mediocre boring gay pg-13 movies with sh*tty humor and cheesy plots.
so shut the f*ck up and do your job well - directing movies.
Minkοwski writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:32:48 PM

* no.

I'd say this website is a total piece of sh*t, but the TOTALLY AWESOME dude who runs it would ban "my" ip address again.
OneTime writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:39:14 PM

hes wrong
Dark17 writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 10:58:27 PM

have yet to see it.

sleuth your wife is just too much fun.

BJsforeveryone writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 11:04:44 PM

Days of future past was no picnic either !!
boogiel writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 11:09:03 PM

The ghost of jealousy.....
Whitta writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 11:25:04 PM

I'm pretty sure everyone is sick of Superhero films fullstop...

Come up with something original instead of rebooting Spiderman and Hulk 14 times.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 11:51:51 PM

@BJsforeveryone
DOFP was pretty comedic though dude. I mean time travel alone told you everything would work out but it was silly character motivation. The future scenes are what gave the film it's teeth though.

@everyone
I suppose bleak is one thing, but realistic is another. Cap 2 was far from a light-hearted film but it had fun with itself when it needed to. Thematically is what made it dark because of the Big Brother thing they were going for. GOTG was a well-made, light-hearted action romp. I find bleak to be when everyone is serious the whole movie and no personality shines through. Dark Knight, at least the first two, had very comedic moments albeit it the second one ending like a tragedy. Vaughn though is just a silly director and that's his bit. All his movies, including First Class, almost tend to parody other films. Kingsmen is already being compared to a silly James Bond, Kick-Ass obviously made fun of superheroes, Stardust of fantasy although fantasy is already silly so that's why I find it to be one of his better films, but even X-Men was silly. I like his stories but the guy has no talent for mood and "Layer Cake" seems to be the only film that anyone uses to defend him as a silly filmmaker.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 5th, 2015 at 11:52:49 PM

defend him as an atmospheric director.*
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 12:08:16 AM

Thx for your lil review, TAN
Magnolia has been on my to do list for way too long, already
Minkοwski writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 12:11:30 AM

Days of Future Past is awesome...if you like second-tier remixes of Terminator 2 with 70s soundtracks directed by barely-talented homosexual child molesters.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 12:36:50 AM

@Mink
Hey...ALLEGED child molester! (Meaning there is a 90% he is but still!)
Minkοwski writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 1:23:03 AM

Alleged my ass.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 1:51:14 AM

Porn-

It's a good way to kill 3 hours and 8 minutes that's for sure haha Lazy Sunday afternoon is best. That's what I did lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 1:55:22 AM

Also, watched The final hobbit movie today

And honestly,

Great film. Just a wonderful science fiction film. The sets, the cinematography, the story, and hell the acting was great. Chris Evans surprised the hell out of me! I couldn't believe how good he was. I admit the ending felt rushed, but it was still a great ending. Well done to everyone involved.

;)
PORN-FLY writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 2:31:36 AM

Its hardly 'science', TANmom

Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 3:34:21 AM

@Tanman
Wow. I ain't inviting you to my birthday. LOL You are banned! But here I'll give you something new to chew on.

@everyone
So I saw "The Judge" over Christmas Break. I honest don't know what people were complaining about with it. Solid performances all around, a little cliche, but Duvall and Downey have great chemistry as father and son that sell the film.

Also saw the show "Gotham". Not a masterpiece series although I still feel it has potential. You seeds being planted for how Gotham will become the set-up that calls Batman into action. Donal Logue does a great job as Harvey Bullock and Ben McKenzie is only okay Jim Gordon. He covers the boy scout and former soldier aspect right but I'm having a hard time buying him as an intelligent cop.

There Tanman, I gave you new ammo. Enjoy! LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 3:35:13 AM

see the seeds being planted*
30YoVirgin writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 4:07:52 AM

^ is the name of the porno your mom did!

sorry man, couldn't resist :D
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 4:14:56 AM

http://www.bubblews.com/news/3726185-donal-logue-set-to-ruin-another-television-show
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 4:34:54 AM

@30YoVirgin
No, no. Well played sir. I tip my hat to you.
GreenLensman writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 6:18:21 AM

@tanman

is chris evans really in the hobbit?
propermelt writes:
on January 6th, 2015 at 6:47:40 AM

@Green

I think he means Luke Evans maybe?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved