WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb

Posted: December 22nd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" BombSubmit Comment
"The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," which is the last installment in "The Hobbit" trilogy, took first place at the domestic box office by earning $56 million, bringing its worldwide total to $355 million.

Despite the amazing results, both previous "The Hobbit" films performed better. "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" opened to $84.6 million in 2012 and "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" opened to $73.6 million last year.

"The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" has a 61% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Taking second place is "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb," which is also a third film in the franchise. It earned a very disappointing $17.3 million, far lower than the original "Night at the Museum" ($30.4 million) and "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" ($54.2 million).

"Secret of the Tomb" cost $127 million to make, which means that it will heavily rely on international box office to keep loses to a minimum. It has a 48% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was the "Annie" remake, produced by Will Smith and Jay-Z. It landed in third place with $16.3 million and will struggle to earn back is $65 million budget. "Annie" has a 30% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 5:54:12 AM

No sh*t.
Minkοwski writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 5:54:54 AM

"and "Annie" Bomb"

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! And Willow Smith's career goes down in flames.

f*cking elitist nepotism.
Minkοwski writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 5:55:30 AM

No wait, what was the line from Die Hard? "And the quarterback is toast!".
Minkοwski writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 5:56:10 AM

Rambo_redux writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 6:00:39 AM

^looks like theo is doing willo in the butthole
Minkοwski writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 6:09:40 AM

^^Probably, but the black guy had to pay Willis four million dollars a day to f*ck him.
Rambo_redux writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 6:40:05 AM

sounds like a possible script for 'the expendables 4'
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 7:28:23 AM

Surprise surprise !!
Besides, Hobbitt was truely great
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 7:42:48 AM

Annie flopped!? I'm in complete shock because I isn't expect that at all!
Minkοwski writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 8:15:20 AM

"sounds like a possible script for 'the expendables 4'"

Dude, there isn't going to be an EX4, not after Expendables The Turd.
nahdogg writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 9:18:57 AM

Battle of 5 armies is the best of the 3 hobbit films. Really unfortunate that the first two were so disjointed and tonally all over the map. PJ couldn't decide if he was making a kids movie or another LOTR epic. I think he spent all the good will he had earned with the original trilogy (OT) on the first two hobbit movies an now he's reaping the failure of those.

My letter grades for the trio

Hobbit 1 - C
Hobbit 2 - D
Hobbit 3 - B

No one was asking for another Night at the museum and there was certainly no one asking for an Annie remake, makes more sense now that I know it was a Will Smith/Jay Zero vanity project.
Bandolero998 writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 10:24:09 AM

Black Annie bombs yay
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 12:23:39 PM

@mink
No one wanted a fourth Rambo and look how that happened...and a fifth is coming! I mean everyone knows the movie would have sold if not for the leak, no matter how bad the movie was. A fourth can and will happen if enough fuels it.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 1:01:04 PM

^ To me John Rambo was better than Rambo ll and Rambo lll
If the action is good as the fourt and a decent story, I highly welcome a fifth !!
Morbius writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 1:22:22 PM

Nahdogg - I didn't like Battle of Five Armies - not only did I think it was the weakest of the 3 Hobbit films, but the worst of the 6 Middle Earth films.

I'd probably rate them:

ROTK - A
Two Towers - A
Fellowship - A
Desolation - B
Unexpected - B
BotFA - F(uck you Billy Connolly) (C)
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 4:28:48 PM

Mine is rated :

1. Battle of the 5 armies
2. Two Towers
3. Desolation of Smaug
4. Return of the King
5. Fellowship
6. An unexpected journey

5 armies was a masterpiece and VERY entertaining
(never read the books)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 5:12:48 PM

@BJsforeveryone
That's what I meant. LOL The third Rambo wasn't great but a fourth comes along and succeeds. I'm basically saying that sure Expendables 3 stunk a little (Loved it for the cast chemistry though), but a fourth can totally come I be and redeem the series.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 6:00:30 PM

^ Did not like the new, young crew and even Banderas got on my nerves, but Mad Mel saves the movie and makes a damn good villain !!
Also liked the end showdown , too bad the final fight between Sly and Mel was too short .
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 6:02:52 PM

Correction, Mel does not save the movie, but gives a nice performance ;)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 7:38:26 PM

@Bjsforeveryone
LOL You have to enjoy te film for it's wacky nature. If you overthink the Expendables movies you ruin the action experience. I admit the final fight was too short. Kelsey Grammar was a nice, and unexpected, touch. Little mad Rourke wasn't in 2 or 3. His part was great in 1. Added a lot of emotion to the film with his speech about his past regrets.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 7:46:05 PM

^ Remember that scene , really nice touch - it gave the movie a little depth and worked better for me than Liam's speech in EXP 2 !!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 22nd, 2014 at 9:31:57 PM

@Bjsforeveryone
I will say on Liam's part that his small role in EX2 was his best easily. He showed a lot of character playing that role. You can't beat Rourke though with those egg-sized tears. :)
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 23rd, 2014 at 12:20:29 AM

And he went out like a true badass with respect from his Crew - damn You Van Damme !!! :)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 23rd, 2014 at 2:10:06 AM

@BJsforeveryone
Indeed. Good finish and that all helped make the second one the best in terms of story. I think once he's done riding the "Hunger Games" trailer he should consider action films. I think he could fill out those characters well. Or he pulls wha his brother is doing and suddenly explode into big movies. Seriously what's with Chris Hemsworth?! He goes from Thor to two Ron Howard films and Michael Mann! I don't care what anyone says, Blackhat looks like a cool cyber-terror film.
nahdogg writes:
on December 23rd, 2014 at 1:20:57 PM

@Morbius @BJ

My perspective is more as a Tolkien purist. OT I rank as A's but in degrees of declining quality as it relates to faithfulness to the source material. Fellowship while not exceptionally faithful to the content is faithful in spirit and tone, TT and ROTK less so. My feeling is that PJ was out of the rhythm for UJ/DoS and they suffered from tonal problems that killed the movies for me. Would have preferred a more innocent lighter movie as the hobbit was more of a childrens book. Not sure you can really achieve that in live action. I'd love to see a DreamWorks animated Hobbit. I think they could kill it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved