WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies

Posted: December 18th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien MoviesSubmit Comment
Peter Jackson spent a good chunk of his life working on the works of JRR Tolkien that have resulted in three "Lord of the Rings" films and three "The Hobbit" films. And now that the director is promoting the final movie, "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," he revealed that he may one day return for more.

"If I had to start tomorrow, I would say no, because I definitely would appreciate a break to clear my head and get my little New Zealand stories done, which is where my passion and my heart is heading now," he explained. "But ask me in two or three years, and I'd probably say yes. It would be hard to see another filmmaker go into this world, because I certainly have an emotional ownership of it."

The problem is that Jackson wants to adapt Tolkien's "The Silmarillion," which the author retained the rights to when he sold the film rights to "Lord of the Rings" and "The Hobbit" in the 1960s. Now, "The Silmarillion" is owned by Tolkien's estate and they're not fans of Jackson's movies.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 6:15:38 AM

No, goddamn it, just no.
Minkοwski writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 6:28:39 AM

"and they're not fans of Jackson's movies."

...because they just didn't do proper justice to Tolkien's stories, right?


f*cking bullsh*t that the "estates" of dead people have any f*cking pull whatsoever. Damned US copyright laws. Books should hit public domain twenty-five years after the author's death, and no later. "Estates" should get sh*t and like it.
boogiel writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 6:45:17 AM

"But ask me in two or three years, and I'd probably say yes. It would be hard to see another filmmaker go into this world, because I certainly have an emotional ownership of it."

Translation: Peter Jackson isn't ruling out making some more of that sweet, sweet money.
Rambo_redux writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 8:39:50 AM

'Now, "The Silmarillion" is owned by Tolkien's estate and they're not fans of Jackson's movies.'

join the club.
Cannon writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 8:42:56 AM

"because I certainly have an emotional ownership of it."

That comes of a bit arrogant. Millions of Tolkien fans across the globe have each their own personal investment in the world of Middle-Earth, and some of them might be filmmakers who may one day want to express their version cinematically.

"Emotional ownership" sounds like a smug way of saying, "Go away! This is my sandbox! My Toys!" Sorry Mr. Jackson (I am for real!) but you donít own anything but the movies you directed.

sherv writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 9:55:02 AM

The Silmarillion would be far to expensive to shoot, way more epic than LOTR!
PORN-FLY writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 10:08:55 AM

I'd like to know the specifics of their dislike for the movies
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 10:31:41 AM

Never heard of that one. Is it associated with the LOTR story?
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 11:51:27 AM

Part 1 of The Sumomillion trilogy coming to theaters Dec 2022.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 11:54:19 AM

Part 1 of the Spendmomillions trilogy coming to theaters December 2022.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 11:57:34 AM

@Cannon
You have to view it from a creative standpoint to understand. The man literally wrote and worked on every aspect of this franchise. Him and Weta created all the effects, he wrote the scripts, directed all 6 films, and more than anything has put time and effort equal to Tolkien himself in adapting Tolkien's death.

@everyone
We'll see what happens but why Tolkien's estate hates the movies is beyond me. I watched the movies and read the books. Minus the ending to Return of the King which was a little silly honestly to me with Sarumon ruling the Shire after already killing Sauron? I mean come on. The LOTR are some of the best book adaptations, especially of such a giant war epic like that. There were so elements in the book that would have made the film boring. Aragorn just walks into Gondor and that's it? And I guess they defeat Sauron early in the book. Jackson did a great job and the Hobbit films were made as both an adaptation of that book and the prefixes that explain where Gandalf is. Jackson handled that series the best you could. Anyone who says different was just being picky.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 11:59:11 AM

@Cannon
adapting Tolkien's works.*

I just woke up. Sorry. NO idea how "death" got in the mix. LOL My point is that Tolkien worked like 15-20 years on his Middle-Earth. For Jackson it was about 17. He worked damn hard.
Deaft0ne writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 12:44:10 PM

@Sleuth

I also read The Hobbit and the LOTR trilogy years ago and the films have been fantastic adaptations.

I really have no idea what the TolkieNerds are bitching about.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 12:53:54 PM

Don't want to read the books , but really liked the movies .
Last Hobbitt was my favourite movie in the triology and it even topped all three LOTR movies !!
A steady 2nd place in my movies top 5 of 2014
BJsforeveryone writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 12:57:06 PM

Don't want to read the books , but really liked the movies .
Last Hobbitt was my favourite movie in the triology and it even topped all three LOTR movies !!
A steady 2nd place in my movies top 5 of 2014
Cannon writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 1:21:46 PM

@Sleuth

I understand the meaning of his sentiment, the gist of what he's saying. I just think he could have perhaps worded it better, as the term "emotional ownership" rings with such dismissive absolution, particularly in how he's speaking in regards to the notion of anyone else adapting a Tolkien novel.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 4:12:14 PM

@Cannon
I understand. He's only human man. He's made one I the most successful franchises ever. He's entitled to a couple bad choice of words. LOL

@Deaft0ne
Exactly. No idea the problem. They would be lucky to have Jackson direct a trilogy about the Silmarillion. Not that I don't admire the Tolkien's desire for purity of the work. You can definitely respect that. But I just feel they are nitpicking. Not to mention because of these films a woke new generation has now fed their pocketbooks. Again though, it's an integrity thing which I respect.
Dark17 writes:
on December 18th, 2014 at 7:48:52 PM

They are not fans because they are idiots and couldn't make the films themselves. Greedy geyser f*cks.
Rocksteddy writes:
on December 19th, 2014 at 1:28:21 AM

Make Bad Taste 2 or some sh*t, just please for the love of God go back to low budgeted films
AndyInCleveland writes:
on December 19th, 2014 at 7:22:26 PM

The Tolkien estate will change their mind, as soon as they realize that they could make SilmaBILLIONS!!! Eh? See what I did there?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved