WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake

Posted: November 23rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a MistakeSubmit Comment
After the success of "Iron Man," Marvel moved forward with lots of other movies based on its superheroes. These superheroes eventually became part of a bigger cinematic universe with a shared storyline that gave the studio the ability to use Iron Man (for example) in a "Captain America" film.

Today, we have Universal Pictures attempting to build a shared universe with its classic monsters, despite the fact that "Dracula Untold" wasn't much of a hit. And Sony, meanwhile, is trying to replicate Marvel's model using Spider-Man characters, even though the last two "The Amazing Spider-Man" installments were the lowest-grossing out of the last five films.

James Gunn, the director of "Guardians of the Galaxy," has now updated his Facebook page with a few words about shared cinematic universes and how he believes studios are making big mistakes. He wrote:

"Listen, I love big ass shared universes in movies, as well as huge franchises. But I'm a little worried about the numerous shared universes being planned by the studios, without having a strong base film to grow from - or in some cases, NO base film to grow from 'Star Wars' had the original 'Star Wars,' the Marvel Universe had the original 'Iron Man,' 'The Dark Knight' series had 'Batman Begins,' even movies like 'Transformers' and 'Twilight' - these were movies audiences loved, and the audiences demanded more from these characters. But these days studios are trying to grow trees without a strong seed.

Execs and producers and sometimes even directors are focused on the big picture, without perfecting the task directly in front of them - making a great movie. And studios are trying to grow franchises from non-existent films or middling successes. It's like they aren't taking audiences into account at all anymore. I know George Lucas, Kevin Feige, John Favreau, etc, had ideas where their films would potentially lead in the face of success. But I don't think it ever got in the way of making that first movie count as if it was the last, of making it something wonderful that people would love whether it led to other films or not.

In short, I think this new business model is flawed. I think filmmakers and studios should be prepared for the big picture, but never, ever let it get in the way of making a single great film. Be a little more experimental and see what works as opposed to trying to force success. And mostly, remember that we as an industry exist to serve the audiences, to communicate with them - they have a voice in what we create as well. We are not here to dictate what they want to see, mostly because that's simply not possible.
"

Source: Facebook


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 10:45:18 AM

Cool beans.
Minkοwski writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 10:46:32 AM

Wow, A-man, that was the longest article you've ever written. Gearing up for a Pulitzer or something?
Minkοwski writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 10:59:32 AM

"But these days studios are trying to grow trees without a strong seed."

Huh? WTF? Seeds aren't "weak". They either work or they do not. Botany 101.



"In short, I think this new business model is flawed"

Really? Then why is Marvel making billions every year? Yeah, Sony and Fox don't have near the success, but that's because they make sh*t no one wants to see, where as Marvel makes pop-culturally engaging, well-done large films that fill out the summer tentpole quite nicely.





"but never, ever let it get in the way of making a single great film"

Yeah, but from what I can tell, Marvel does BOTH. They make decent films that fit into larger cinematic structures. So what's wrong with having both? Nothing.




Seems to me Gunn a) has no idea what he's talking about and b) he's trying to make it seem like he alone made a great standalone Marvel film, compared to all those "horrible" gestalt flicks such as Thor 2.

Yeah, Fox and Sony reek, but they're not indicative of the quality of comic book movies. Marvel is. And they're doing bang for their bucks.

Gunn sounds a little loaded to me. Clean out your chamber and come back later.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 11:13:28 AM

Hey fink, since you are unable to read between the lines, Gunn is saying that Man of Steel, the new Spider-Man movies, and Dracula Untold were sh*t and are bad films to launch a shared universe from.
Papillon writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 11:29:43 AM

Mink/Stink/Fink whoever the f*ck you are:

Nobody cares about your monologues you boring old fart!

Give it up already and get a life.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 12:36:31 PM

My tree has a strong seed
Papillon writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 1:08:42 PM

This f*cking hilarious, you got to gibe it to Putin he has some big balls:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2M5l__vCwo


LOLOLOL!
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 1:13:56 PM


+



=

Papillon writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 1:15:20 PM

*this is + give
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 1:18:07 PM

Mockingjay pulls in 275 million worldwide
Papillon writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 2:27:34 PM

f*ck Mockingjay!

In related gayuest films of ALL times, I saw, regretfully, The "The Maze Runner" and it's by far the the most stupid gay ass motherf*cker flick!

Thank God I didn't pay for this sh*te!
Papillon writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 2:28:55 PM

*in related news, I just saw the gayest film.

f*ck!
Papillon writes:
on November 23rd, 2014 at 2:45:56 PM

Anybody watching "The Game" from BBC America?

Pretty good to me imo.


BTW, where the f*ck is Stapes? I like the guy so wtf happened to you man?
KillerCOck writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 3:08:06 AM

This dude is responsible for the worst Marvel today but says this sh*t!
Wow!
Dark17 writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 1:27:36 PM

Mink is a molestator.
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 1:44:06 PM

I think he's talking about Man of Steel...
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 1:46:29 PM

The only profitable film series to come from DC in the 21st century was the Dark Knight trilogy. DC should stick to the tv realm although they should cancel Gotham.
Dark17 writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 1:53:35 PM

Are they really rebooting Spider-Man for the 10th time?
Dark17 writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 1:59:14 PM

I agree they should have continued from dark knight timeline. Easily the best batman films ever made thanks to Christopher.


The idea to reboot all of DC ? Yea gay
gotsghostrider writes:
on November 24th, 2014 at 2:30:58 PM

They should've built it off the Dark Knight trilogy agreed and merged with the tv universe

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved