WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies

Posted: November 21st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has been working on a big screen adaptation of Stephen King's novel with Josh Boone (The Fault in Our Stars) attached to direct. In a new interview, Boone revealed that the plan for the book is much bigger than expected. The studio wants to squeeze four films out of it.

"I really wanted to do an A-list actor, really grounded, credible version of the movie," Boone explained. "I sold [Warner Bros] on a single, three hour movie. So what happened is the script gets finished, I write it in like five months. Everybody loves it. [Stephen] King loves it. $87 million is what it was budgeted at. Really expensive for a horror drama that doesn't have set pieces. They came back and said 'Would you do it as multiple films?' and I said 'F*ck yes!' So I think we are going to do like four movies."

"The Stand" tells the story of an apocalypse, driven by the accidental release of a biological weapon. The result is a struggle of good versus evil carried out by the world's final survivors.

"I loved my script," Boone continued. "But I was willing to drop it in an instant because you're able to do an even truer version this way. I can't tell you anything about how we're going to do them or what's going to be in which movie. I'll just say we are going to do four movies, and we're going to do 'The Stand' at the highest level you can do it at with a cast that's going to blow people's minds. We've already been talking to lots of people, and have people on board in certain roles that people don't know about. We're looking to go into production next year, maybe in the spring."

It was recently reported that Matthew McConaughey was in talks to play the villain Randall Flagg.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:19:33 AM

Jesus f*ck, no, the book is long enough.
Minkοwski writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:29:34 AM

This is getting ridiculous. It's one thing to split the ending film of an adaptation of popular teenage-ish books like Potter and Twilight into two films to milk the franchise, but The Stand is rather old and was never all that popular with any demographic outside the angry, disaffected 15-35 white male. And even that was many, many years.

Now, I get that the book is BIG, and it is, but it's also chock full of useless fluff and filler, and thus a smart writer like Darabont could trim the book down into, say, no more than two films, or one rather long movie. No need for four. That just sounds unneeded.

Seriously, the book is big, but there's just NOT enough material for four films. Even War and Peace received a much smaller adaptation, and there's far more substantial events transpiring in that tome than King's bloated tale of death.

Perhaps they mean to add Captain Trip zombies?

And all this and yet nothing on the IT and From a Buick Eight adaptations.
jamieC writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:30:23 AM

In which way are you saying that?

Book long enough that it felt long as its a bad read?
If the book is that long then 4 movies would be great, many book adaps are often rushed and squeezed in 1-2 films
Minkοwski writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:46:08 AM

+ago. *are, not is. "There are", not "there is".

There...are...four...LIGHTS!



Oops, wrong article.
jamieC writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:49:11 AM

jinx!

reading that has answered it, if there is that much filler it could make a for very tired watch, the premise is exciting.

I'd be much happier with a proper GDT the strand films though, they are a great read
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:52:18 AM

Four is way to many. Three, maybe. But four? Nah.

I'm looking forwar to this. I hope it's good cause the mini series was HORRIBLE. 6 hours of my life down the drain
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 8:53:27 AM

Actually, I take that back ^ Even three is to long
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 9:31:37 AM

I'd see this.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 10:12:39 AM

A trilogy is enough, it does not need 4 films.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 10:17:43 AM

Each film should be 2.5 hours long, the entire novel can be well represented that way.

@Tan

Yeah the miniseries was average but remember that it was made in 1993 on abc, before you were born.

TV budgets were very limited back then. I'm sure if it had never been made and was being made now, a miniseries would still be a possibility.

What show today is very similar? The Walking Dead of course. That's essentially a TV series of The Stand.

Laura San Giacomo's massive tits were hypnotic in the old miniseries though!
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 10:45:46 AM

http://images.celebritymoviearchive.com/members/thumbs/l/LauraSanGiacomo@TheStand-1-CMA.jpg
Mr. Blonde writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 12:21:18 PM

Totally gonna milk this a la The Walking Dead. With enough time to tell a proper demise of the world and apocalyptic aftermath, long movie length setups to pit opposing factions against each other, dramatic cliffhanger endings between movies etc. This will totally cater to TWD crowd which grows like a zombie hoard each week. As TWD S5 is drawing to mid-season close soon. Boone just has to take the best themes out of The Stand, and the best kickass scenes out of TWD and hire McConaughey (for A-List draw) and he is more than halfway there to success. Lucky for him the studios wanted 4 movies instead of one. f*ck yes is putting it mildly. Dude is set for life.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 12:54:50 PM

@Mr. Blonde

The entire tone and aesthetic of The Walking Dead is blatantly lifted from the old miniseries of The Stand and other Stephen King TV miniseries over the years.

Every single episode of TWD feels like it was directed by Mick Garris. That's why the show feels cheesy and most of the acting fake and insincere.

It's a zombie soap opera and nothing more.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 10:06:50 PM

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 21st, 2014 at 10:08:16 PM

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 22nd, 2014 at 5:48:26 AM

Mink pretty much said it all. I've read both book versions and there is a sh*t load of filler that wouldn't translate very well on the big screen. It damn sure won't make enough material for 4 movies without adding stuff that wasn't in the book in the first place.

King must be agreeing with this because it's a money grab.
jafinbham writes:
on November 22nd, 2014 at 9:13:50 AM

M-O-O-N!! That says this sh*t is never really going to get made. It appears to be an epically long jerk off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved