WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast

Posted: November 19th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or CastSubmit Comment
Google conducted a new study recently in an attempt to figure out how movie-goers make up their minds about which film to see in movie theaters.

According to the study, fans of dramas choose movies based on plot summaries. Comedy fans look at the cast and whether a favorite comedic actor is involved. Those who go see family films heavily rely on positive reviews. And action fans care most about who directed the film.

But there's one genre that doesn't rely on plot, cast, positive reviews or the director. That genre is horror. And according to Google, fans mostly look for one thing to decide which horror film to watch... convenient showtimes.

That's likely the reason why so many horror films have tiny budgets, terrible reviews and mostly unknown casts, yet they are constantly at the top of the domestic box office. "Annabelle" ($37 million opening, $6.5 million budget, 29% fresh rating) recenly almost beat "Gone Girl" when they opened on the same weekend, and "Ouija" ($20 million opening, $5 million budget, 7% fresh rating) dominated over "John Wick."

Source: ThinkWithGoogle


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 10:01:42 AM

I say gore is the deciding factor. That and the snuff porn factor.
Minkοwski writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 10:11:46 AM

"That's likely the reason why so many horror films have tiny budgets, terrible reviews and mostly unknown casts, yet they are constantly at the top of the domestic box office"


Well, there's another answer: the pornography angle.

Really, who cares about budget, story, plot, casting and directorship when all you're trying to do is getting off on simulated sadism? Same goes for pornography. All that matters is the end result. Look at Saw and how quickly that film series degenerated into mindless plot-less sadistic butchering of random and poorly-developed characters, and how quickly the series racked up a massive bounty of profit.

Like I said...today's horror fans just want to get off to people getting offed. Not much different from wanting to get off to people screwing.

Hell, just look at Dustin Putman. That guy lives and breathes slasher porn, probably as a reaction to a world that's pretty much relegated him to the category of fat useless loser.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 10:19:45 AM

I let Dustin Putman tell me which horror films to see.


*great, now he's gonna put my quote on his book*
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 11:11:22 AM

I choose them by whichever one coincides with the end time a movie I paid to see so I can sneak into it.

So I guess this study is accurate!
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 11:12:01 AM

end time OF a movie*
Mr. Blonde writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 12:04:35 PM

I choose horror movies based on the source material and director. James Wan typically does a decent job creating creepy atmosphere, developing characters, slow build up to scares (eg. Conjuring clapping game). And some of the Japanese rip offs have been good like The Ring and Dark Water. Generally stay away from teen slasher films which are just mindless gore fun. I think teens liken these to rollercoaster rides which are great adrenaline thrill rushes and great to ensure your date clings onto you.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 12:31:34 PM

The horror greats of the past seem to be crafted much better than the popcorn slasher gore-fest of today. Films like The Shining, The Omen, Rosemary's Baby and The Exorcist...all seem to create a strong sense of dark foreboding, dread of a supernatural evil entity, strong character development such that you had a vested interest when the horror unfolded. And above all, the potential to have these strong images haunt your memory longtime after. Even the first Alien film took painstaking lengths to slowly set up the deep space isolated atmosphere of the Nostromo crew before they landed on the barren planet and before the alien sudden latched onto Cane. It's dramatic chest burst scene was one of the best gore scares of all time. Poltergeist was great too and I'll never look at clowns the same way again.
Rambo_redux writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 12:39:08 PM

horror movies bore me. only recent movie that i found entertaining was 'You're next'.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 2:08:55 PM

I've been meaning to see that ^
Papillon writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 2:34:01 PM

Since The Exorcist I hate horror movies.

I can't see the bright side of it. f*ck it, I hate them.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 19th, 2014 at 5:41:54 PM

DAMMITRAMBO
i guess Imma have to see that, now
Rambo_redux writes:
on November 20th, 2014 at 9:05:02 AM

first 20 min are very slow but what comes after that is one hell of a ride.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved