WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Posted: November 17th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound ControversySubmit Comment
When "Interstellar" hit theaters, there were immediate complaints from fans that the music in the film is so loud that it's impossible to hear any of the dialogue. In fact, movie theaters started posting warnings, stating that there is nothing wrong with their sound equipment and that director Christopher Nolan meant the sound to be that way.

In a new interview with THR, Nolan commented on this. "I've always loved films that approach sound in an impressionistic way and that is an unusual approach for a mainstream blockbuster, but I feel it's the right approach for this experiential film," he explained. "Many of the filmmakers I've admired over the years have used sound in bold and adventurous ways. I don't agree with the idea that you can only achieve clarity through dialogue. Clarity of story, clarity of emotions I try to achieve that in a very layered way using all the different things at my disposal picture and sound."

In other words, Nolan recorded dialogue and then added music and other sounds over it. "We made carefully considered creative decisions," he continued. "There are particular moments in this film where I decided to use dialogue as a sound effect, so sometimes it's mixed slightly underneath the other sound effects or in the other sound effects to emphasize how loud the surrounding noise is. It's not that nobody has ever done these things before, but it's a little unconventional for a Hollywood movie."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 9:54:01 AM

Cool, good words from Nolan.
Minkοwski writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 9:56:41 AM

Should have gone with a more quiet approach like that found in 2001. Zimmer just isn't right for a film that claims to be intellectually thoughtful. Too loud, too abrasive.
Minkοwski writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 10:12:19 AM

""Many of the filmmakers I've admired over the years have used sound in bold and adventurous ways"

Yes they have and do, but rarely do they use the same composer in every film they helm, whether it's a dreamworld mindf*ck, a modern retelling of a comic book action hero, or an engaging and scientifically-literate jaunt to the stars.

Sorry, Zimmer just isn't that diverse a composer and hasn't had a mellow side since Broken Arrow AFAIK.

Should have changed gears, bud.

A neo-instrumental score would have suited the film far better.

Hell, Vince DiCola would have been a better choice. Or James Horner. But then there's the IMAX angle. Big screen, big noises.

Whatever.
Papillon writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 10:17:20 AM

"the film is so loud that it's impossible to hear any of the dialogue"


That should be the very US film in our days that requires subtitles!

That's a bloody experience alright!
Papillon writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 10:21:38 AM

I'll wait for the Blu-Ray then.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 10:22:39 AM

Interesting.
Cannon writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 11:26:43 AM


Please. You're no Welles, Kubrick, Coppola, Lucas, Lynch or Murch ...those who've since redefined sound in ways unconventional but also uniquely abstract.

The scenes in question throughout Interstellar aren't interestingly layered or evocative, just loud and drowning.

Jake From State Farm writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 1:26:32 PM

I thought it was a suedo intelectual movie. By the way i'm wearing khakis.
Papillon writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 1:38:16 PM

Homeland S04 EP08 is just keeping the heat on! Now I'm really loving it, can't wait what's next.

Great show so far I must say as the first ep were quite low in their developing but now it's really going in he right direction.


ps: f*ck off Mink/Stink/Fink or wankermink, just go f*ck yourself!
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 2:02:53 PM

I don't recall finding it very Loud in the theater. Maybe one scene but nothing to really complain about.
Cannon writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 2:27:32 PM

@Jake

f*ck khakis!

boogiel writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 2:58:02 PM

First, it was cloverfield that torture our sight. And now it's interstellar that torture our hearings. Brilliant!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 4:01:38 PM

Okay, so he created a movie so loud that the music overtakes the dialogue ... so we don't have to listen to Matthew chew through dialogue like he's talking through a mouth through of marbles ?
trutsky465 writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 7:06:52 PM

What do you expect, when you only give the composer one page from the script with only little notes about the film. Nolan used this film to feed his eccentric wannabe kubrick approach toward this film. Sorry Chris, 2001 was way better than your mirrored drivel of a knock off. I only give Nolan props for doing conventional with the special effects. Everything else a kubrick knock off
Rambo_redux writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 7:21:09 PM

was there braaaaaam in the movie ?
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 17th, 2014 at 10:46:25 PM

My god how low this site has fallen.
Rocksteddy writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 12:33:16 AM

Nolan is an assclown!
triggax writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 12:35:53 AM

I 100% completely disagree that this was even close to a knock off of Kubrick.

Yah I think the DP had some fun and some inspiration from him but this was not anywhere near what was filmed with 2001.

Someone who thinks they know a f*cking thing about film explain to me how this was even f*cking inspired by.

Trusky very obviously never even watched the film.

Let's hear it big shot. where did this film rip off 2001? if I hear the robot excuse again I won't even answer.

I know this films flaws. The score and it's comparison to 2001 are not included in any of them.
triggax writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 12:43:08 AM

Don't get me wrong. I'm not a Nolan fan boy. I'm just not stupid.

so let's hear this Kubrick argument.
LeeMaca writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 2:51:52 AM

pretty sure this exact same thing happened when they released the seven minute preview of The dark knight rises. Yet another case of Nolan thinking he's more talented than he is!
jafinbham writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 3:43:07 AM

What a pretentious d*ckhead. Hey dipsh*t, your sound was mixed in such a way that no one can understand what the f*cking characters are saying. When Bane is mumbling behind a mask nobody can understand a damn word he says. What's complicated about that you deaf prick?
trutsky465 writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 11:32:26 AM

@ Trig yes I have. I have seen every single Kubrick film to be released. I grew up watching the guys films. So please before you start sound ignorant and calling people out ask a f*cking question before you point fingers. And I was speaking in Nolans work at hand. He is pretentious and really blew his load with the prestige imo. But really he (Nolan) tries where other great directors have succeeded. Look at killers kiss, the killing 2001 and Barry Lyndon. Then look at Nolans films you can tell he is for lack of a better word Jocking Kubrick's way at film making.
trutsky465 writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 11:37:28 AM

And really trig your comments were just a personal attack since you automatically will disagree with me because you feel like being a c*nt. Go ahead. I mean talking sh*t on a sh*tty web site come on!!! How does that behoove you? It doesn't. I was clearly talking about Nolans style in general. And I did to boot talk about how in my opinion he f*cked up with the sound. He gave Zimmerman very little work with. So go ahead be a twatson and try to talk down to me on a f*cking web site.
codeman_1216 writes:
on November 18th, 2014 at 4:10:29 PM

I just saw this movie, and at no point did I have trouble hearing the dialogue. In fact, I had a harder time hearing dialogue from The Dark Knight than Interstellar.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved