WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Sequel Will Head Into War

Posted: November 12th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Sequel Will Head Into WarSubmit Comment
While promoting the Blu-ray release of "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes," director Matt Reeves spoke about the third film, which he said will lead toward Caesar becoming a Moses-like figure.

"[We want] the story to be able to connect from the human to the ape world," he explained. "So first one, ['Rise of the Planet of the Apes'] is this sort of how [Caesar] goes from humble beginnings to becoming a revolutionary. In 'Dawn,' he rose to the occasion of becoming a leader, a great leader in really challenging difficult times. The notion of what we're after in the third is continue that trajectory to how he becomes the seminal figure in ape history and almost becomes sort of like an ape Moses of sorts, a kind of mythic ascension. We're trying to play out those themes and try to explore it in this universe of exploring human nature under the guise of apes."

Reeves continued: "This situation is exactly what [Caesar] was trying to avoid. The oncoming war is what 'Dawn' was all about avoiding and it wasn't avoided, so what does that mean to him as a character and how will he lead his apes through this?"

Andy Serkis, who plays Caesar, also commented on the third film, stating: "The ape community has fallen apart. There's potential war. [Caesar] is going to have to lead the apes in darker times. I think it's going to be very powerful."

Source: THR, Collider, Nerdist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on November 12th, 2014 at 9:13:27 AM

They've been at war for two movies already...
Minkοwski writes:
on November 12th, 2014 at 9:28:31 AM

Maybe he means war among the apes...

Eh. Watched the first, deliberately missed the second. Entire premise, while well-executed, is even more outlandishly nonsensical than Interstellar on the scientifically veracious front, and considering it's a movie about apes fighting humans, you'd think the material would be more fun and less nigrescently serious.
Papillon writes:
on November 12th, 2014 at 9:40:24 AM

The second film was quite banal so I really don't know about a third one.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 12th, 2014 at 10:55:23 AM

The 2nd one was just a bad remake of Gremlins. Maybe this 3rd one will be better.
Cannon writes:
on November 12th, 2014 at 11:29:06 AM


How much "darker" can this reboot series get? I don't know if I can sit through yet another sequel that's only going to prove heavier and more humorless than the last one.

I get that Planet of the Apes was always intended play more cerebrally on examining socio-anthropological themes instead of just as a straight sci-fi adventure, but now it's just becoming endless bleak battles of CGI apes. Increasingly monotonous.

Rambo_redux writes:
on November 12th, 2014 at 11:58:49 AM

'Dawn...' was dissapoitning. I liked 'Rise' much more.
Knut writes:
on November 13th, 2014 at 2:03:36 AM

Minkowski needs to find a more intellectual film site. Or you know, with his thesaurus in hand, get into screenwriting.

I honestly don't think they're going to announce Citizen Kane anytime soon.

Moving on. I watched the last two Wes Anderson films this weekend. While I can respect the artistic form he's going for they come off a little contrived. Maybe you need to be in a particular mood for them.

The Babadook. Has anyone seen it yet?

Oh, I've not seen the second Apes. I've only seen the first over two or three sittings and it simply didn't engage me enough to warrant support of either faction.
jafinbham writes:
on November 13th, 2014 at 2:26:15 AM

Well I'll give them credit. Most people said that this whole franchise had been milked for all it's worth years ago. But Hollywood said hell no. We're not coming up with an original idea for sh*t. We'll do a prequal. And all of these films have hinged on that epic ending to the first film. Well done Hollywood. Keep beating this dead horse for another 40 years.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved