WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood

Posted: October 21st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining HollywoodSubmit Comment
Now that George Lucas is no longer part of the movie-making business, he shared some of his thoughts on Hollywood Studios and why he believes they cannot produce good movies.

"You're selling creativity. Raw creativity from talented people," he started. "Now, the problem has always been the studios. Although the beginning of the studios, the entrepreneurs who ran the studios were sort of creative guys. They would just take books and turn them into movies and do things like that. Suddenly all these corporations were coming in. They didn't know anything about the movie business."

He continued: "The studios went back to saying, Well we don't trust you people and we think we know how to make movies.' The studios change everything all the time. And, unfortunately, they don't have any imagination and they don't have any talent."

Lucas went on to explain that the only reason he was able to make "Star Wars" was because the head of 20th Century Fox really like his "American Graffiti" movie and trust Lucas' vision. Today, studios are careful not to give directors like David Fincher and Darren Aronofsky too much control.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:11:19 AM

No sh*t!
Minkοwski writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:11:59 AM

Then again, he did a lot of damage with Indy 5, the fat old bastard.
Papillon writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:15:22 AM

Are you saying that studios are run by f*cking idiots?

Say it ain't so!
boogiel writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:18:50 AM

"They didn't know anything about the movie
business."


For once, I agree with Lucas. Studios only think in terms of profit. That's why we see a lot of sequels and remakes.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:19:21 AM

What a f*cking hypocrite. He sells Star Wars off to the biggest hack studio in existence and then bitches that they're ruining movies.

Go f*ck that African hippopotamus you call a wife, Lucas.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:30:26 AM

"And, unfortunately, they don't have any imagination and they don't have any talent."

Uh huh. Aren't you the guy who filled Indy 5 with Shia, giant ants, bad Russian accents, aliens and nuclear fridges?

Aren't you the guy who had to hand off direction to another guy just so he could make the best Star Wars movie of them all?

Aren't you the guy who ripped off Asimov, Clarke and E.E. Doc just to have a story to telll?

Aren't you the guy who ruined the second trilogy with Hayden, laughable CGI, Jar Jar and midichlorians?

That's what I thought. Shut the f*ck up, human Ewok.
propermelt writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:38:03 AM

@Chand

Well said mate, well said
boogiel writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 8:41:18 AM

@chandra

Keep those rants comin', Mink!
ab5olut10n writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:24:48 AM

coming from the guy who ruined hollywood, i believe it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:36:11 AM

There are only 4 Indy movies, numbnuts.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:57:28 AM

Chandra-

Kill em minky!

We should start charging George Lucas $1 million to say his opinion openly and distribute it throughout a random city mall by helicopter.

Yeah I went there. -Snaps fingers-
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:22:21 AM

Deaft- I was about to say the same thing.
Lucas is right though.
Bandolero998 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 11:02:41 AM

Go get Ebola from your wife
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 11:55:46 AM

@Boogiel
He better. Fake mink is starting to show his stupidity even more. He says Lucas sold Star Wars to 20th century Fox. That was only the first one. After that, Lucas had the money to produce the movies himself. That's why Disney has had trouble releasing the original trilogy, untouched by the changes, is Fox doesn't want to let him go.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 11:56:55 AM

Says the man responsible for Jar Jar.
rninkowski writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 12:42:22 PM

f*ck GREEN LENSMAN! LENSMAN IS GAY AND RETARDED LIKE AN AFRICAN. sh*t BUSH LEAGUE.
cress writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 6:54:01 PM

Don't know why Disney gets a lot of hate. They have a solid model for a giant corporation; letting Marvel craft tgeir successful formula and now letting Kathleen Kennedy shepherd Star Wars in the same direction.
cress writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 7:01:36 PM

Oh, and f*ck the "Lucas ruined Hollywood argument". There was going to be a natural evolution no matter what filmmaker came along. Lucas nailed it in '77
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 7:58:42 PM

@cress
Lucas nailed it period up until the prequels. Star Wars and the Indiana Jones films, not to mention all the other little projects he did. He just overstayed his welcome with the prequels and Indy 4 and even those aren't bad if you aren't strictly thinking nostalgically and on their own.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:05:08 PM

Star Wars is sh*t but dude is not wrong.
cress writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:17:47 PM

@Sleuth. Agreed, even though I'm not a prequel hater. Lucas, with the prequels, showed he still had brilliant IDEAS, but just terrible screenplays and terrible dialogue and pacing. Film is a collaborative effort, but with the prequels, Lucas ignored all those influences
Dark17 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:46:11 PM

True.

Hey mink try shutting the f*ck up for a while.
Dark17 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:47:48 PM

Absolution. Ruined Hollywood?


Ignorant prick like yo ruin it for everyone else
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:54:19 PM

You guys catch that Friday the 13th marathon today on AMC!? Haha Watched the 8th. Always has been my favorite
Dark17 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 9:57:53 PM

Nothing wrong about the prequels. You idiots ruined it for yourself. Mad at Lucas because he decided to make what he wanted and not what you expected. Lucas does not owe you a damn thing. It's been 15 years give it a rest already .
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:07:24 PM

@cress
Idea wise the prequels are amazing and if you view them with the saga's big picture in mind it's an amazing adventure. Unfortunately yeah his presentation wasn't great although I thought 1 and 3 were good. 2 was the one with pacing issues and dragged on like a soap opera. You watch that one for the Jedi fighting and the origin of the storm troopers.
Dark17 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:10:53 PM

George Lucas doesn't owe any of us a damn thing. The concept of economics seems to go over the heads of some people here 'An exchange of goods or services for either money or other goods and services" Lucas is providing us with a product that we can exercise our right to buy or not buy. If you don't like it, don't buy it, is this a difficult concept? Nope, didn't think so.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:39:53 PM

Who better to make the conclusion that Hollywood is the poison killing really potentially good ideas ... kinda ironic, if you think about it. Lucas originally made movies that dealt more with people because at the time he directed American Graffiti (to have the funding to do Star Wars), the scope of special effects was rudimentary to what they are today. His "prequel" movies may have expanded the lore of the Star Wars mythos (which attributed to Akira's movie The Hidden Fortress quite a bit), but the use of CGI (which all originates from the breakthroughs started by Industrial Light & Magic, a company founded on creating special effects for the original "blockbuster" movies and also used to handle the first Star Wars) took most of the magic kids had embraced from the first three movies starting with Star Wars: A New Hope ... well, you can see where this is going. Basically, Satan himself is saying that Hell is no longer the same fire and brimstone because religions have not given it as much weight (to use a religious analogy) ... which also is ironic, since Lucas sold Lucasfilms (which hold the trademark and copywrite to the Star Wars franchise) to the most penultimate corporation regurgitating pop culture pap as entertainment (i.e. Disney), founded by an Anti Semite ... well Lucas got it right.

Hollywood is cancer for really good, really worthwhile movies to watch.
Dark17 writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:43:22 PM

I often see such things from the perspective of the artist. George Lucas doesn't owe you or I a damn thing. The Star Wars films are his art pieces, we don't have a say in what Lucas chooses to do with them, and neither should we. Creating movies, writing novels, painting, and other art forms are not democratic processes.

Our role as fans, as consumers, is to enjoy Lucas' movies . . . or not. We can love, hate, or have mixed feelings about his artistic choices, but we don't own Star Wars and have no rights to it. Even if we have spent our own good money on the films and surrounding merchandising.

I understand the importance of Star Wars and other artistic franchises in the lives of fans. As I stated before, I've been a huge Star Wars fan since I was in elementary school. It's been a big part of my life for most of my life. Just like the Dungeons & Dragons game we all gather here to discuss, and have equally odd arguments over (IMO, of course).

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:43:30 PM

If Lucas really wanted to have Hollywood churn out decent movies, then the first thing is to consider the movie from the script inside out and put the beancounters on the backburner ...

the reason European movies do much better than American movies is real simple: European movies (for the 97% majority) are original. Fresh. Not watered down sequels, reboots, etc. I really wonder if anyone has ever taken a statistical analysis of how many sequels, reboots, remakes, etc. have happened since, say 1991. I would say they would have spiked tremendously.

The only time in the last few decades that Hollywood took a risk v reward chance on movies was in 1999.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:50:54 PM

You're right. All the characters are creations from Lucas' mind and more power to him for it. True artistry, even in a more advanced time like now does help to justify why he decided to "prequel" the first three movies now and then "sequel" them later. Like one long continuous fable.

However, Hollywood itself (the corporate conglomerates that have bought out the movie studios because of how lucrative their revenue streams are) are resting on their laurels. To say the head of Sony that tells the studio to work on a "Spiderman" movie has any interest whatsoever in the artistic integrity or even the forethought of originality in the potential of a movie is asinine, because in their opinion, it all comes down to asses in seats. Foreign and domestic markets. Ticket sales v VOD v DVD post theater run. Buyable accessories for kids, etc. They don't do children movies to entertain children .... they are looking for the "Frozen" equivalency of selling a new iPhone or Samsung.

It's not shameful and it's not something rather outrageous, but it does limit the potential for creativity and imagination that could tweak the socially economic norms and make the moviegoer a little more discernible upon what they want to see and more importantly, what they want to spend their money to see.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:52:56 PM

It could also be argued that maybe the moviegoer feels like they do own a bit of the Star Wars mythos, especially if they juxtapose their lifestyle to that canon. Thus, you have the fanatical fans who swear up and down that this is how it is, not that. I'm not saying that's all together healthy, but it does exist.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 10:54:10 PM

Thanks for the insight, Dark17.

By the way, Dungeons & Dragons beats Magic: the Gathering's ass any day of the week.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 11:17:33 PM

He has a good point.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 21st, 2014 at 11:34:21 PM

@Max

Also this is extra-hilarious coming from Lucas because i'm guessing that the next Indy film will be a reboot with Bradley Cooper or Chris Pratt or whoever.

He wants to bitch about major studios but the fat c*nt ALSO sold the rights for Indy to Disney along with Star Wars.

After you pay and f*ck a whore you have no business complaining if you didn't c*m and then try to demand a refund.
Dark17 writes:
on October 22nd, 2014 at 12:29:45 AM

In the end Lucas changed cinema forever maybe even the world with Star Wars. We're all movie people we all know this.
Papillon writes:
on October 22nd, 2014 at 7:29:54 AM

Get your ass in gear Alex and update your site already!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved