WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"

Posted: October 18th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"Submit Comment
At one point, Marvel decided that Joaquin Phoenix is the perfect actor to star in its upcoming "Doctor Strange" film. But Phoenix didn't feel comfortable signing a multi-picture deal and eventually dropped out.

The studio immediately started searching for his replacement. And now comes word that Benedict Cumberbatch, Colin Farrell and Keanu Reeves are all having talks with Marvel. And what's really interesting is that Phoenix had a change of heart and is now once again entered negotiations.

According to The Wrap, Cumberbatch is at the top of the list, followed by Farrell and then Reeves. It's not clear where Phoenix stands. But these are all actors that Marvel is pursuing. There are other actors, who actually pushing to be considered, including Jared Leto, Justin Theroux and Oscar Isaac.

"Doctor Strange" is set to hit theaters on July 8th, 2016.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:26:08 AM

Cool beans, I guess.
Bandolero998 writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:28:32 AM

Colin Farrell??
They're really getting desperate aren't they?
Box office poison for sure

c*m man is just too f*cking pale
Minkοwski writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:32:02 AM

Colin Farrell....lol. Yeah, that guy. What a way to ruin a film. Guess they thought his role in Horrible Bosses made him some kind of star. Too bad they never saw the other hundred films he's made in which he f*cking sucks. You know, like Miami Vice and Totally Recalled.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:38:23 AM

^^Was ruminating to myself only.
Dirt writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:42:54 AM

I reckon they'll end up with Phoenix or Farrell.
boogiel writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:52:08 AM

c*mberbatch has the voice, Farrell attracts the ladies and Reeves... well, he's an emotionless statue. Marvel, pick your poison.
boogiel writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 8:58:48 AM

It seems moviepilot is already betting on Reeves

BadChadB33 writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 9:52:08 AM

Meh.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 1:44:19 PM

Farrell would actually be great in the role.
TheWolverine writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 1:48:33 PM

Justin Theroux would be interesting to see as Dr. Strange
Cannon writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 1:54:10 PM


So, what, Ethan Hawke was just forgotten completely?

Anyways, the only proper choice here is: Keanu Reeves

Ferrell and Leto lack the necessary screen charisma, Phoenix is way too self-absorbingly "serious" as an actor (really, stop and think how UN-FUN he'd be playing the part) while casting c*mberbatch would just be a boringly obvious repetition of his Holmes/Khan persona.

Reeves has just the right kind of quasi-mystic, scifi-action-Asian movie legacy coupled with the right kind of dopey earnestness he brings to his roles.

His constant "whoa!" expressions and laconic line-readings would be a nice welcome to all the constant scene chewing and hipster snarky quips we've been getting from the rest of the extended Avengers-franchise cast.

Also, the upcoming John Wick is scoring surprisingly well with critics, and if it impresses at the box office, it might give Reeves the immediate 'it-factor' boost that Marvel is looking for.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 2:47:23 PM

5 facts about Keanu Reeves:

http://news.moviefone.com/2013/11/01/keanu-reeves-5-things/

3. He Has an Appreciation of Yellow
"I didn't appreciate the color yellow until my early twenties."

Woah.
cress writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 10:22:42 PM

Steve Zahn for DOCTOR STRANGE.

Wait....

Sorry...I need to sober up......
Electro Rock writes:
on October 19th, 2014 at 11:26:57 AM

Carey Elwes would be best.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 19th, 2014 at 8:53:57 PM

I see Pedro Pascal being a good Doctor Strange
Rocksteddy writes:
on October 20th, 2014 at 12:52:32 AM

Eh. Didn't read the comics, won't care enough to see the movies, don't understand how he fits in with the cinematic universe if any

Mudders writes:
on October 20th, 2014 at 1:40:43 AM

what about mads mikkelsen
Robinjack writes:
on July 24th, 2017 at 7:23:35 AM

Goodness, this is truly fascinating perusing. I am happy I discovered this and got the chance to peruse it. Awesome employment on this substance. I like it. The Author Incubator
Robinjack writes:
on August 6th, 2017 at 7:41:20 AM

Superb web journal! I discovered it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any proposals on the most proficient method to get recorded in Yahoo News? I"ve been striving for some time yet I never appear to arrive! Value it. The Author Incubator
Robinjack writes:
on August 6th, 2017 at 11:06:05 AM

This one is good. keep up the good work!.. Tucson AC
Robinjack writes:
on August 23rd, 2017 at 6:38:54 AM

i was simply perusing along and happened upon your web journal. simply needed to say great online journal and this article truly helped me. Lose weight with Chris
Robinjack writes:
on August 23rd, 2017 at 7:57:30 AM

An entrancing dialog is quality remark. I surmise that it is best to compose additional on this matter, it won't be an unthinkable point however for the most part individuals are insufficient to chat on such themes. To the following. Salud top pr consultants
Robinjack writes:
on August 28th, 2017 at 5:07:26 AM

i was simply perusing along and happened upon your web journal. simply needed to say great online journal and this article truly helped me. Custom pins
Robinjack writes:
on August 28th, 2017 at 11:32:11 AM

Much obliged you all that much to share these connections. Will look at this.. Dirty Questions
Robinjack writes:
on August 28th, 2017 at 2:11:35 PM

It was thinking about whether I could utilize this review on my other site, I will connect it back to your site though.Great Thanks. lebanon escort
Robinjack writes:
on September 6th, 2017 at 1:12:37 PM

Great Information sharing .. I am very happy to read this article .. thanks for giving us go through info.Fantastic nice. I appreciate this post. escorts lebanon
Robinjack writes:
on September 9th, 2017 at 4:35:15 AM

Hi, I have perused a large portion of your posts. This post is likely where I got the most valuable data for my exploration. A debt of gratitude is in order for posting, perhaps we can see more on this. Are you mindful of whatever other sites on this subject. check this out
Robinjack writes:
on September 13th, 2017 at 4:35:49 AM

i was simply perusing along and happened upon your web journal. simply needed to say great online journal and this article truly helped me. Custom medals
Robinjack writes:
on September 18th, 2017 at 1:35:37 AM

Clash Royale PC is a strategy game in real time, where you fight against other players online in frantic duels. Here, you can find all the characters from Clash of Clans: Giants, Barbarian Kings, Wall Breakers, Archers. Download the PC game now! clash royale pc
Robinjack writes:
on September 18th, 2017 at 2:13:40 AM

i was simply perusing along and happened upon your web journal. simply needed to say great online journal and this article truly helped me. 3 amazing tips creating awesome canvas prints
Robinjack writes:
on September 20th, 2017 at 1:58:28 AM

Respecting the time and exertion you put into your site and nitty gritty data you offer!.. cheap55printing.com/blog/tag/art-prints/
Robinjack writes:
on September 20th, 2017 at 6:55:06 AM

i was simply perusing along and happened upon your web journal. simply needed to say great online journal and this article truly helped me. offshore software development
Robinjack writes:
on September 24th, 2017 at 6:24:39 AM

The 42-credit program is open to nurse educators who have at least three years of nursing education leadership experience and a Master’s degree of any kind. (Nurse educators with a master’s in areas other than nursing will need to take two MSN bridge courses prior to starting this DNP.) No GRE or other placement testing is required. The next cohorts begin on July 9, 2012 and October 22, 2012. www.cheap55printing.com/blog/tag/cheap-postcards-for-save-the-dates/
Robinjack writes:
on September 28th, 2017 at 11:28:25 AM

Your substance is completely splendid from numerous points of view. I think this is drawing in and educational material. Much obliged to you such a great amount for thinking about your substance and your perusers. Aphrodisiac
Robinjack writes:
on September 29th, 2017 at 5:22:43 PM

I am unquestionably making the most of your site. You certainly have some extraordinary understanding and incredible stories. Colloidal Silver
seveltoto writes:
on October 2nd, 2017 at 4:09:08 AM

Robinjack writes:
on October 4th, 2017 at 1:32:56 PM

Keep doing awesome read few posts on this site and I consider that your online journal is extremely intriguing and has sets of phenomenal data. health public relations
Robinjack writes:
on October 8th, 2017 at 12:25:32 PM

You are very brave focuses in this article. I would have never thought to be any of these in the event that I didn't run over this. Much appreciated!. free press release
Robinjack writes:
on October 11th, 2017 at 4:17:34 AM

An entrancing dialog is quality remark. I surmise that it is best to compose additional on this matter, it won't be an unthinkable point however for the most part individuals are insufficient to chat on such themes. To the following. Salud outsourcing software companies
Robinjack writes:
on October 16th, 2017 at 3:54:43 AM

Nicorinse removes tar and nicotine from your mouth, gums, teeth, tongue and throat for better oral health and protection all year long. It might even help you quit tobacco. Dry mouth
Robinjack writes:
on October 18th, 2017 at 7:31:28 AM

i was simply perusing along and happened upon your web journal. simply needed to say great online journal and this article truly helped me. Buy PTC Creo 3.0

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved