WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie

Posted: October 17th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" MovieSubmit Comment
We recently showed you the trailer for the troubled "Dying of the Light" thriller, starring Nicolas Cage and Anton Yelchin. The project is directed by Paul Schrader (The Canyons) and executive produced by Nicolas Winding Refn (director of "Drive" and "Only God Forgives").

Now comes word from Schrader that even though he wrote and directed the film, producers took it away from him by taking over the editing and scoring process. Refn has called this "artistic disrespect."

Schrader, Refn, Cage and Yelchin are angry about what's going on, but are not legally allowed to say much, because they all signed a non-disparagement clause in their contracts. So to fight this, they have staged a silent protest by wearing shirts bearing the text of the contract. See photos below.

"We lost the battle. 'Dying of the Light,' a film I wrote and directed, was taken away from me, re-edited, scored and mixed without my imput," said Schrader. "Yesterday Grindstone (a division of Lionsgate) released the poster and the trailer. They are available online. Here we are, Nick Cage, Anton Yelchin, Nic Refn and myself, wearing our 'non-disparagement' t-shirts. The non-disparagement clause in an artist's contract gives the owners of the film the right to sue the artist should the owner deem anything the artist has said about the film to be 'derogatory.' I have no comment on the film or others connected with the picture."

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: Paul Schrader


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:26:07 AM

f*ck Nick cage.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:27:11 AM

He should protest against making sh*tty movies and a sh*ttier hairdo.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:31:23 AM

"Refn has called this "artistic disrespect."

Shut the f*ck up, bitch. Unless YOU paid to have the damned thing made, the cast and crew are hired help. The studio owns the movie, not you. They can tell you to do whatever unless there's a contract saying otherwise. Grow up already.

Artistry. Lol. Sure. For a lousy Nic Cage movie. Sure.
Spankfish writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:33:51 AM

f*ck the shirts, it was going to fail once they cast Cage. Hes the albatross of movies.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:43:08 AM

Lol. Cage complaining that a film didn't follow artistic integrity when everything he's ever made was at best action fodder. NOW he wants to get serious. Why? Because it looks good on Twitter and Facebook?

f*ck off Cage. You're done and no one alive gives a sh*t about you and/or your latter-year gutter trash film career.
Papillon writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:49:39 AM

Paul Schrader is box office poison anyway.
propermelt writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 7:58:48 AM

f*ck me, Anton Yelchin looks ill!!
Papillon writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 8:01:03 AM

@Proper

In case you didn't know, minkowski and Chandrabollocks is the same dude.
propermelt writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 8:02:26 AM

@Pap

I had my suspicions!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 8:28:47 AM

Noc cage looks yonger than checjoff!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 9:19:52 AM

I like the idea. Go cage!



Make NT3 already :)
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 9:29:03 AM

Agreed make NT 3 and retire.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 9:48:36 AM

dont sign anything without reading it first

*derr*
Dark17 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 11:27:48 AM

Dumbass.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 11:34:20 AM

The Rock 2: Rock hard.

There I said it.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 12:09:36 PM

After Joe I thought we got the good Nick Cage back. Nope, f*cking Rage, Left Behind sucked and this one will suck harder.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 1:19:38 PM

Tan- nice lol wish I would a thought of that sooner.
Bandolero998 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 1:37:53 PM

Anton Kid looks like he glued some pubic hairs to his head

Odd Thomas was decent
propermelt writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 3:03:18 PM

@Bando

Odd Thomas wasn't too bad mate

I'm watching Wolves now, don't know why to be honest! Although the werewolves look pretty decent
Attos writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 3:19:05 PM

Lol.

"Imput"?
Really?
boogiel writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 3:41:36 PM

Just when I thought this movie couldn't get any weirder.......
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 4:52:24 PM

Bad - Haha :P

Drug- man he did amazing in Joe..
cress writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 9:06:03 PM

I watched FROZEN GROUND.

f*ck you, Nic for Cage. Why didn't you protest that turd?

"But I believed in the director's vision."

So you believed in piss-poor directing, editing, and script?
Yeah, you should truly are an actor.
"Check, please..."
cress writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 9:07:30 PM

^^^grammatical errors abound
cress writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 10:52:26 PM

Umm....quit dying your hair, Nic.

It's receded quite a bit, and we all know the gray is creeping in...

Just go with it....

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 17th, 2014 at 11:44:57 PM

The same thing happened to Schrader with his version of The Exorcist:The Beginning only the studio hated his film so much that they hired Renny Harlin to make it all over again.

His version was even worse!
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 2:38:36 AM

Guys.. Wake up!
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 2:59:30 AM

classic Tan^
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 18th, 2014 at 3:43:38 AM

Llo i bet mankis stukk awage wauynf for updae;;;;

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved