WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s

Posted: October 15th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton Says TodaySubmit Comment
While promoting "Birdman," Edward Norton spoke about the 15th anniversary of "Fight Club" and revealed that today's movies don't get the praise they deserve, especially from some of the older Hollywood greats, like writer William Goldman (Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, All the President's Men, Marathon Man, The Princess Bride, Misery, Chaplin).

Norton explained: "I remember reading some interview with the really great screenwriter William Goldman, who definitely has been a part of many great generational films. But I was sort of pissed off by a certain snarkiness that he had about, you know, 'How come no generation has stepped up to make really defining films like those of the sort of 1967 to 1975 era?' And [he] went through the list and almost said like, 'Where are the filmmakers like these people and where are the actors like these people?' And I remember thinking, 'Are you f*cking kidding me?'"

Norton pointed to 1999 as a fantastic year for movies, since fans got such hits as "The Matrix," "Fight Club," "Three Kings," "Election," "Magnolia" and "Being John Malkovich." But he also feels that 2014 is looking good thanks to "Grand Budapest Hotel," "Boyhood," "Gone Girl," "Inherent Vice" and "Foxcatcher."

"Everybody is always saying like, you know, 'franchise films are taking over,' but then lo and behold, you get the kind of films that are coming out this year and I think it's a thing people like to write, but the truth is there's a lot of very exciting work going on," he added.

Source: Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 8:07:58 AM

Norton's on f*cking drugs.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 8:08:24 AM

Sure, show me a modern movie as good as Rear Window...
Minkοwski writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 8:10:45 AM

Really, I'd take that thought more seriously if the man in question had actually made more than maybe two or three genuinely good movies. You know, Fight Club and....something.

Pfffft. old movies rock. Not like the CGI'ed cotton-candy crack cocaine garbage they push now.
boogiel writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 8:18:33 AM

WTF?? Did he look at himself in the mirror lately?? Norton's clearly been sniffing glue. Whether he likes it or not, the period Goldman points to is the true "Golden Age of Hollywood". Period.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 8:24:35 AM

No more drugs there Eddy Norton.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 10:15:56 AM

This guy used to slap his noodle on Salma Hayeks boobs when she was 30
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 10:29:06 AM

What he doesn't understand is a lot of movies today mostly imitate classic films and have become quite cliche. Not saying some great movies don't exist nowadays but those films in the 1960's and the 1970's were it. They defined their genres and filmmaking in genre. Since then, people have only emulate the films they've seen. The creator of "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away", whose name I can't remember, spoke about how most people in his industry of anime are simply anime fans so everything they do tries to emulate the stuff they like instead of being original. This principle applies to other films.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 10:35:46 AM

Crambo -

LOL pretty much haha

Mink-
I highly doubt we will be seeing anything close to the genius that is 'Rear Window' anytime soon.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 11:30:27 AM

Ed Norton is right. There may be a lot of franchise sh*t and rom-coms and lackluster horror films every year, but there are also great dramas as well and these are as good as any films from decades past.

There were also a lot of sh*tty movies made in the 60s and 70s as well. Not everything is automatically a classic because it's old.

Case in point:

Grease and Saturday Night Fever are great films.

Grease 2 & Stayin Alive were sh*t. I know these are both sequels but they are awful films along with many others back then.

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 11:34:41 AM

Also, William Goldman is a smug c*nt to declare that anything after 1975 is sh*t. He clearly doesn't watch movies on a regular basis because he would not say something so short-sighted.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 12:19:16 PM

Also agree with Norton. Hollywood, more precisely filmmaking technology has come a long way since the 60 and 70s. Take a film like Gladiator. This is one of the best modern films which used CGI well (not overly done) to bring a sense of grandeur to the story. But first and foremost it is the story and the well developed characters (their motivations, blood, sweat, tears) which drive the movie and make it so compelling. The CGI, costumes and scenery certainly helped paint the canvas backdrop. But most of us recall Gladiator as the movie Russell Crowe first showed incredible grit as an actor. Similarly for Braveheart, Rob Roy - both incredible well told movies (maybe not historically accurate) which Mel and Liam poured their hearts into across the stunning Scottish landscapes.

I dare say, Edge of Tomorrow I think Cruise delivered the goods. Again CGI used to tell a great scifi story which would have had its limitations if it came out in the 60s and 70s. Say what you want about Cruise as a real life nutbar, but he is fairly consistent as an A-lister who aligns himself with great directors on great projects. I appreciated the reinvention of Groundhog Day/Source Code on a Battle LA scale. It still felt fresh. There is good film making today along with lots of sh*t. But for a well regarded writer whose claim to fame are his past great films to simply dismiss any generations thereafter is shortsightedness.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 12:57:43 PM

@Deaft0ne
Stayin' Alive is a slight guilty pleasure. LOL I mostly love the music by Frank Stallone.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:07:07 PM

@Deaft0ne and @blonde
Totally agree !!
Every decade have their hits and miss .
Today we may have more mainstream movies and a lot of cgi action but we still see the brilliant dramas and thrillers and in some way I even think some movies are better today than they would have been , made 20 years ago !
Normally the remakes don't live up to the originals, but let's not forget how difficult it is to make up sh*t that has not been thought of already !!
I think it's not easy these days to come up with new stuff.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:27:41 PM

Also, the majority of films Ed Norton has starred in have been excellent. He only has about 4-5 bad ones in his filmography.

"Minkowski" is on f*cking drugs.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:33:16 PM

Ezra Miller looks like a FTM transsexual in their first 3 weeks of transition.

They should just use the guy from The CW show. But no, WB/DC is retarded and the show is not in the same universe as this new, retarded DCU.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:34:06 PM

I guess that'd be DCCU, lol.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:46:14 PM

Full slate of DCCU movies revealed:

http://www.superherohype.com/news/318881-warner-bros-dc-comics-movie-slate-fully-revealed

No one is going to go see a f*cking Cyborg movie.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:52:22 PM

I think Norton did an amazing job in Red dragon. One of my favs
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 1:54:36 PM

He was excellent in Primal Fear !!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 2:07:53 PM

The People vs. Larry Flynt

The Score

25th Hour

American History X

The Incredible Hulk

The Italian Job

The list goes on.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 2:22:59 PM

Ed Norton shined in American History X. He acted with so much raw power and intensity in the first half of the movie. And although he was humbled from his prison experience in the second half, he couldn't save his brother from following the same dangerous path as a Neo-Nazi. Riveting stuff.

Also liked him in Rounders as he played the role of a cardshark hustler to perfection. Norton knows his craft well.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 3:55:15 PM

@Mr. Blonde

One odd thing about Amer Hist X is that the writer & director, Tony Kaye had claimed that the producers had altered his original cut of the film so much that he lobbied to have his name removed from the released version and replaced with the Alan Smithee pseudonym.

I would like to see this mythical director's cut some day but Kaye said it no longer exists because it was a workprint he submitted to the producers.

I always thought the released version is a very good movie and it's hard to notice any major studio tinkering like with other films such as the TV cut of David Lynch's Dune or Hellraiser: Bloodline. Both are Alan Smithee films, lol.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 4:03:42 PM

Correction: David McKenna wrote the film. Here's the part about the edits:

Shooting took place in Los Angeles, California.[4] With some suggestions from New Line, director Tony Kaye made a second heavily shortened cut, which New Line rejected as it bore little resemblance to the first. Film editor Jerry Greenberg was brought in to cut a third version with Edward Norton.

Kaye disowned the third version as the final cut of the film, as he did not approve of its quality.[5] He tried and failed to have his name removed from the credits,[6][7] openly telling some interviewers he tried to invoke the Alan Smithee pseudonym which the Directors Guild of America used to reserve for such cases. When his request was denied, Kaye tried "Humpty Dumpty" as an alternative name.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 4:34:21 PM

@Deaftone – thanks for the insights and reference. Yes, I recalled something like that. Yes, the theatrical release is pretty solid and very brutal. I can’t image it being more intense than that, if it was edited for censorship reasons. Maybe it was edited down for running length. Sadly we will never know. Speaking of cuts, have you ever seen David Fincher’s Director’s Cut of Alien3? Much more richer exploration of the foundry facility penal colony on Fiorina 161. Incredible visuals and atmospherics created as a backdrop for the action to unfold. That was a film that desperately tried to be different from its predecessors but failed at the box office. Yet years later wound up becoming a cult fav (mine too). I feel sorry for directors who have their creative visions/films hacked apart by studios execs for whatever reasons. You assign a job to a Director. Trust in them, and give them the right to submit a product wholly intact. They are typically under a lot of pressure to make the deadline without constant interference from some *sshole exec who wants to play armchair director.

Back on the film, I like how the movie was effectively shot in crisp black and white to represent past events and how present day is in colour. Norton/Derek curb stomp will forever be one of the most brutal scenes ever just as haunting as his facial grin expression afterwards. Interesting I didn’t know that Joaquin Phoenix was offered the role of Derek Vinyard but turned it down. Garnered Norton an Academy Award nomination.

Danny’s final words…"Hate is baggage. Life's too short to be pissed off all the time. It's just not worth it." So true.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 7:31:23 PM

@Mr. Blonde

IIRC from reading print interviews with Tony Kaye and Ed Norton about Amer Hist X, the first cut was around 2.5 hours long and did NOT have the b&w added to the flashback scenes nor did it have the slo-mo added.

The studio thought the first cut was too long so Kaye edited an entire hour out and it was only about 95 minutes. This cut was also rejected.

Then Norton and the editor put together the 3rd cut and this was the released version at 120 minutes. I think the b&w was Norton's idea and he tried to craft a version in between the prior 2 edits.

I remember reading an interview with Kaye where he said the released version was "sh*t, I will never work with Norton again."

They never have since.
Dark17 writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 10:58:28 PM

Darksider shall rise again
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 11:13:06 PM

@Mr. Blonde

Also, I agree on ALIEN³. Even though the extended cut was not approved by David Fincher, it is a better version. I don't know why so many people hate on ALIEN³.

Imo the 3 films form a very solid trilogy. ALIEN Resurrection was weak and was somewhat saved by Ron Perlman but that's about it.

We don't need to get into how divisive Prometheus is.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 11:16:44 PM

DEAFTONE
cool
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 11:17:41 PM

RIP Elizabeth Peña:

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/movies/moviesnow/la-et-mn-elizabeth-pena-dies-20141015-story.html
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 15th, 2014 at 11:25:41 PM

sh*t, I hope Maria Conchita Alonso isn't next. She is 57 now and was in 2 of the most awesome movies of the 80's too. The Running Man and PREDATOR 2.

Liz Peña was in Jacob's Ladder and La Bamba.

Death sucks.
jafinbham writes:
on October 16th, 2014 at 2:21:09 AM

Well the answer to Goldman's question is quite simple. There are great filmmakers out there today as well as great actors. The studios just won't make those films because you have to take a risk or a gamble to make the great films he's referring to and studios don't do that anymore. Spielberg and Lucas have talked about this sort of sh*t for years. How the studio business model has changed drastically over the years to get to it's current day pathetic form where they bet the farm on two or three tent pole blockbuster films. In the past studios made more movies with smaller budgets and you in doing so made some diamonds in the rough. Then f*cking Jaws became the first film to make $100 million at the box office and the summer blockbuster was born. Then Lucas made more money from selling those damn toys than Star Wars made at the box office. The movie industry has been on a downward spiral ever since. Studios aren't going to bet the farm on something new and exciting. Too big a gamble. So we get more of the same. Same crap made over and over again. Star Wars 7. Transformers 4.

Take Spielberg and Lucas again as the perfect example of this. They made the first three Indiana Jones films. They also made the fourth one. And not one person involved in that massive of a production had the guts to pipe up and say, "everyone realizes this is complete sh*t and an insult to the franchise right?" Bullsh*t. Bean counters run the studios now and they don't care. And why should they? Transformers 4 sucked ass and made about $700 million at the box office I think. Ka-ching!! I imagine it's hard work making something as awesome as the original Star Wars. Who needs that headache when you can just let the VFX guys make it for you while you go for a swim in your money bin Scrooge McDuck style. If a guy showed up at the door to one of the big studios holding the script for the next Jaws or Star Wars I'm sure that he'd be laughed right out the doors into the street with that kind of crazy talk. Everyone's too busy working on Star Wars 8 and Indy 5.

So to answer the esteemed Mr. Goldman's question about why no generation has stepped up, it's because his generation beat down everyone that tried as their money grubbing jew nature destroyed their own industry and now in true whiney ass jew fashion they are bitching and complaining about it. He should just move to south Florida, f*ck himself, and die already.

P.S.
Edward Norton is supposedly a notorious prick. He's probably just pissed that no one is comparing him to Bogart. Get real dipsh*t.
GreenLensman writes:
on October 16th, 2014 at 5:58:29 AM

Norton has been in a lot of really great movies. Rounders and American History X before Fight Club. But 1998 to 2002 was all of his better movies. There are some that I haven't seen or are just not worth mentioning. He is one of my favorites since I grew up during that time period. 99' was a awesome year for a kid my age. I have to mention Leaves of Grass, probably my favorite of his movies.
MrRabbit writes:
on October 16th, 2014 at 5:53:48 PM

I kind of agree with Norton... there's still quality films with originality and class being released. I don't agree with his examples but I'm sure it was because he was put on the spot. The problem is once something great has been achieved and explored, that forces mordern filmmakers to make something new/different from it. Think about the first few decades of film... plenty of major topics and themes had already been put on film, so I respect any writer/director for being able to make something great out of something already done.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved