WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Gone Girl" and "Annabelle" Dominate at Box Office

Posted: October 5th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Gone Girl" and "Annabelle" Dominate at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
David Fincher's "Gone Girl" film, starring Ben Affleck, took first place at the domestic box office this weekend, barely beating "The Conjuring" spin-off, called "Annabelle." Both films performed much better than expected.

"Gone Girl" grossed $38 million, which is best opening of any Fincher movie, beating "Panic Room," which opened to $30.1 million in 2002. The new movie also earned $24.6 million overseas, bringing its worldwide total to $62.6 million. And since it cost $61 million to make, it's already considered a hit. "Gone Girl" has a 87% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"Annabelle" settled for second place with $37.2 million, cementing a new franchise. The horror spin-off added another $23 million overseas for a worldwide debut of $60.2 million. But unlike "Gone Girl," "Annabelle" cost only $6.5 million to make. The new movie has a 32% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was Nicolas Cage's "Left Behind" faith-based thriller, which landed in 6th place with $6.9 million. It has a ridiculously low 2% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Jason Reitman's "Men, Women and Children," was released in 17 locations, earnings $48,000. That's just $2,800 per location. It has a 33% fresh rating and will get a wide release on October 17th.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:19:26 PM

FIRSTEES!!!
Minkοwski writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:24:40 PM

Well good for Fincher, I guess. Just rewatched his Zodiac, which is probably one of his worst films in terms of story narrative and structure. Hasn't much better since then, imo, with CCoBB being not much more than a remake of Forrest Gump. Trying to remember a day when Fincher made good movies but I'd probably have to go back to 1999 or so.

And Affleck...is just a terrible actor, even when he directs.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:28:27 PM

Stfu fake mink, you dull tool!
Minkοwski writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:28:50 PM

"The other wide release of the weekend was Nicolas Cage's "Left Behind" faith-based thriller, which landed in 6th place with $6.9 million. It has a ridiculously low 2% fresh rating."


That's to be totally expected, of course, because critics are quite often quite liberal and therefore hostile to religion, especially the fundamentalist strains like this Christian eschatological nonsense.

Not to mention...Cage sucks. Really, really sucks. Hasn't had a decent film since...can't even recall. He needs to slim down, ditch some real estate properties, go on a financial diet. Stop working just to keep the crap he has.

But that's his problem. My problem is making sure I don't watch anything with his name on it.

Too bad there's nothing genuinely good in theaters these days...not that I'd watch it anyway.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:33:34 PM

Stfu already!^
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:36:11 PM

Gone girl- 8/10
rockkillers writes:
on October 5th, 2014 at 11:55:48 PM

shut up mink...fake or not he ruins this website on every post. Annabelle was pretty fun as far as horror flicks go. I still want to see Gone Girl looks good to me.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 12:25:23 AM

Ben Affleck's 3 films he directed are all good movies. The only people that disagree post on this sh*tty website..
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 1:32:42 AM

Crambo you're nuts, make a legitimate post on why Gone girl isn't worthy of an 8 out of 10 and If it's fair and makes sense, that'll be the end of it

But if not, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you. Okay.. I got off track a little here...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 2:21:16 AM

@Tanman
If you're going to quote Taken, at least do the whole speech. Don't half-ass it man! LOL
Papillon writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 3:08:51 AM

"It has a ridiculously low 2% fresh rating."


Now I'm afraid to download this even for free.

I'm trusting Gone Girl is worth a watch and I'm intenting to see it when I have the bloody time.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 3:31:58 AM

Don't think fake Mink is ruining this site for anyone !
It's just waste of space and I stopped reading his posts weeks ago, his opinions does not concern me at all.
On the topic above ; think it will be a nice movie, hoping for 8/10 like Tanman says and No, I don't have a crush on Affleck either !!
To me he is not a bad actor, he just chose some bad projects sometimes, like Pearl Harbour and oh well, Gigli
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 3:33:43 AM

^ Actually never watched Gigli... I'm afraid to !!
Papillon writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 3:47:57 AM

*intending
R3tr0burn3r writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 4:38:27 AM

I agree with Tanman, Gone Girl a solid 8 out 10.
Affleck is brilliant in it
Bandolero998 writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 6:02:23 AM

Avengers age of ultron leaked teaser:
http://youtu.be/h0R_FR9pD2k
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 6:35:47 AM

^ DAMN YOUUUUU !!!!!!!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 8:04:03 PM

Unless this is talking about SOA, don't f*cking care.

Fincher flatlined about the Curious Case of Benjamin Boring and Annabelle ? Didn't see The Conjuring, so unlike going to see that movie.

On a side note, nice to see that movie Sandler co-starred in is showing that even people are getting tired of seeing that Punch Drunk Thud.
Raider writes:
on October 6th, 2014 at 8:14:49 PM

Gone Girl was fantastic FACT!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved