WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie

Posted: October 1st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi MovieSubmit Comment
Threshold Entertainment has teamed up with the Tetris Company to develop a live-action film based on the classic "Tetris" video game. Director and cast have yet to be hired, but a story is already in place.

"It's a very big, epic sci-fi movie," said Threshold. "This isn't a movie with a bunch of lines running around the page. We're not giving feet to the geometric shapes."

The company continued: "We have a story behind 'Tetris' which makes it a much more imaginative thing. What you [will] see in 'Tetris' is the teeny tip of an iceberg that has intergalactic significance."

The original "Tetris" game was released in June 1984, from Soviet game-designer Alexey Pajitnov. It quickly became a world-wide phenomenon and was bundled in 1989 with the launch of Nintendo's original portable gaming system, Game Boy.

Source: WSJ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 7:34:31 AM

Lame!
Minkοwski writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 7:34:36 AM

lol.
boogiel writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 7:40:38 AM

Fun game. Stupid idea for a movie. So, Who's going to play the L-shaped block? Oh well, I guess the sequel will be Rubik's Cube.
boogiel writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 7:41:39 AM

On the bright side, something tells me this is gonna be one of those horrible movies so bad that it's fun to watch.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 7:47:13 AM

Well, they always do something stupid like that LEGO movie. Basically the same thing. A bunch of goddamned animated blocks moving about. Probably will make a billion bucks. How much did battleship make? Enough. People are f*cking stupid and will pay to see anything if they have nothing to so with their lives...

Good luck.
Minkοwski writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 8:01:34 AM

Can't wait for the Wetrix and Tetris World movies.

Wetrix was cool, though.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 8:01:58 AM

Ok ! This is getting retarded !!
Rumour says Franco and Rogen have been cast as L and Square !?!
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 8:32:07 AM

I don't want to live in this planet anymore.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 8:37:34 AM

When will chess and poker get their ovn movie ??
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 8:37:53 AM

* own
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 9:38:54 AM

Who keeps funding this sh*t?
Phoenix Fire writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 11:05:48 AM

OMFG!!!!!!!!!!! WOW.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 12:23:00 PM

Hollywood has officially run out of ideas.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 12:32:35 PM

I'm calling this as my take on the plot...

The caption reads "Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie. Thinking outside the box (actually taking a cue from Battleship), I can envision the plot as follows. The Tetris energy source field has for ancient times been maintained and defended by various alien worlds. Each contributing a shape in a finite time period (whether straight line or L-shape etc.) in order to shore up the energy field from reaching critical overload by properly maintained its limits at bay. As the stakes get higher, the period to effect a piece into position becomes more challenging requiring the worlds to unite, collaborate, scheme and plan their next strategio moves. All in order to prevent collapse of their energy field which powers their very existence. The Tetris field has been set up by larger alien god-like beings to effectively see if these different worlds can exist and unite under a common goal rather than wage war over their differences.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 12:49:10 PM

f*ck you Hollywood.
MrRabbit writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 1:10:21 PM

Okay, pretty sure we established a few years ago that the barrel couldn't possibly handle any more scraping (battleships, lego movie) but this is the only time I've been utterly convinced a story cannot possibly be contrived from it. f*ck that.
MrRabbit writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 1:13:52 PM

Also, whilst I'm here, I'd recommend the UK tv show 'Utopia' in which my profile pic is taken from. It's one of the most gritty, gripping, darkly-funny gorgeous-looking show I've ever seen. Check it out if anyone's interested in something a little original!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 1:34:23 PM

@ Deaft0ne, that's exactly the first word the i thought...actually, i remember something even funnier now, the only way this movie could be good is if it's like this... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EHkoPc9GJo
WallyDee writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 4:38:15 PM

Directed by Michael Bay i hope!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Doc writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 4:41:54 PM

Kinda like blonde, this will be some Last Star Fighter sh*t where shape fitting will save the world in a crappy scenario like the end of "Hackers" with actual physical shapes representing something more intricate, which we can't handle. Screw it, how about a Marxist theme with actual box stacking in a store room representing something for nothing?
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 5:33:56 PM

Cheers Doc. Yeah, I took my cues from their statements that this is suppose to be a big, epic sci-fi and involve intergalactic significance. As it is far easier to scoff at the premise altogether.

LOL - your Marxist theme.

I remember a contest wherein some hot Ford Escape promo girls were asking an event crowd who could stack geometric blocks in a precise way into the trunk of the Ford in less time. All the while I kept on thinking I would love to stuff something else inside her trunk.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 9:37:09 PM

I can hear the theme song already
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 1st, 2014 at 10:40:00 PM

Stop this madness!

Just like what the priest said when Dark17's dad married his mum.
jafinbham writes:
on October 2nd, 2014 at 2:23:54 AM

I should start writing the prequel now. Coming to theaters nationwide in 2016.

PUZZLE

"I'm looking for a piece of 'sky' damnit! Where's my piece of 'sky'?"
"What do you mean the box is empty? That's not possible! NOOOOOOOO!"

Starring
Jeff Bridges as the Puzzle Master.
James Earl Jones as the director of the CIA's Puzzle Ops
And Shia LaBeouf as The Gimp

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved