WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?

Posted: September 21st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is Jennifer LawrenceSubmit Comment
We've been showing you photos and trailers for the upcoming "Serena" film, which stars Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and directed by Susanne Bier (Things We Lost in the Fire).

It looked like the film was put together with Oscars in mind, but now comes word that Magnolia Pictures has acquired it for distribution and will release it in theaters in the first quarter of 2015. To qualify for Oscars, movies are released at the end of the year. But with an early 2015 release, that indicates that Magnolia is not interested in having the film be considered.

According to THR, there's a good reason for that. It turns out that "Serena" was funded by 2929 Productions, which is a sister company of Magnolia. After attempting to find a distributor, it became very clear that nobody wanted the movie. So out of desperation, Magnolia had to become the default distributor.

If you put all the clues together, "Serena" is likely not a very good movie, despite an amazing cast. Insiders claim that the film is "so edited, that it made no sense" and that performances are "uneven, particularly Lawrence's."

Trailer:


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bandolero998 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 5:44:46 AM

It can't be as bad as killing me softly and wrath of the titans can't it?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 5:48:17 AM

she went to the same acting school as Vin Diesel and Henry Shovell
Bandolero998 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 5:53:28 AM

And Kristen Stewart and mark whalberg
Papillon writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 6:07:15 AM

After watching Silver Linings Playbook, I'll never see them again, that's for sure. And not even for free.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 6:40:56 AM

"Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?"
|
Probably.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 6:49:45 AM

"If you put all the clues together"

Of if you slam the slightest bit of conjecture, innuendo, rumor and hearsay, as found randomly on the internet, togother you can arrive at a totally different conclusion.

Whatever. Like I was goiong to watch it anyway.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 11:59:56 AM

@Papillon
And so it becomes clear...Lawrence is f*cking moron and can't act anything other than whiny five year olds. If I'm ever in the UK Bullitt, we're drinking to honor the day people started waking up and realizing just how overrated this chick is. Drinks are on me my friend!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 12:04:51 PM

@Papillon
For one, "Cheers, mate" will transcend a simple "Hello" and unite two nations of people fed up with bullsh*t.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 12:31:09 PM

It's starring Jennifer Lawrence. I smell sh*t already.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 12:45:11 PM

Jennifer Lawrence moves in with Gwenyth Paultrys ex

Boy
does he have bland taste in vagina
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 12:53:36 PM

@PORN-FLY
Wait, seriously? Didn't that bitch just start dating the guy? I smell a marketing ploy. She's trying to make herself out to be a grown woman who acts like an adult. f*cking sad, but enjoyable to watch her downfall. Yes, sadly, I wish for that. I rarely wish for another's pain but her bullsh*t, overhyped "talent" and her bullsh*t princess attitude needs to be stopped. I sure as sh*t don't want a kid growing up with an icon like this around.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 5:02:05 PM

Ha porn I thought you said shovel!
lee27 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 5:14:33 PM

Lawrence is a tremendous actress - I'm always amused when her haters start banging on about her being overhyped when her talent is blindingly obvious. But of course a gifted young female actress is always going to attract the misogynists...This film is probably pants because Susanne Bier screwed up a golden opportunity, not because of her cast.
cress writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 5:24:14 PM

Don't understand the hate for Lawrence. I enjoyed SILVER LININGS SKANKBOOK as a film. I thought all the performances were good. WINTER'S BONE was terrible. AMERICAN HUSTLE was overrated, and I personally didn't like, but, once again, the performances were good. XMEN--she's in it, nothing memorable.
But this hatred for her....I don't get. Clearly, she CAN ACT. Get over it.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 6:23:00 PM

American Hustle was a sh*tty movie too and look how that sh*t did!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 21st, 2014 at 9:52:01 PM

@cress
I didn't understand if you were being sarcastic or not. I just don.'to like her because she's trash off camera and she has that same character in every film. Just this angry, bitter woman who spends two hours hating everyone and has not real development. Her acting reminds me of a soap opera actress.
lee27 writes:
on September 22nd, 2014 at 6:23:06 AM

@Sleuth1989
You're joking when you say she plays the same character, right? Because there is obviously nothing in common between who Lawrence plays in American Hustle and Winter's Bone, or the HG movies, or Silver Linings. If you're going to claim an actor is overrated, then at least give some coherent reason!
lee27 writes:
on September 22nd, 2014 at 6:26:46 AM

PS: When exactly does Lawrence play an 'angry, bitter character'? Are you sure you're not mixing her up with someone else?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 22nd, 2014 at 11:12:51 AM

@lee27
You know what's funny. You told me to give you a coherent reason but all you did was ask questions and give no reason to why I was wrong. But if you wish:

Winter's Bone/Hunger Games Zero: Young girl who acts like an adult who has to watch over her siblings with non-existent parents and then goes running through the woods to find someone.

Hunger Games - See "Winter's Bone" but basically same principle. She refuses to listen to anyone.

Silver Linings Playbook/American Hustle - Plays an older woman (No really but the argument seems to be she can) who acts like she knows everything and seems to never get along with anyone.

Serena - Seriously at this point if you can't spot the similarities between her character's you're just an arrogant human being. She is obsessed with taking out any women in Bradley Cooper's life, is a tough hunter female, and refuses to negotiate with anyone.

X-Men - I'm not even going to go into that because I'm tired now.

Bottom line, all her character's demonstrate an arrogant, know-it-all personality with erratic emotional scenes (No build-up between her scenes, she simply snaps), and her characters never have development accept for between movies in film installments. She almost never seems to like anyone and any time she does character care she does, and I swear this bugs the crap out of me, the same staring at them with a suddenly softened voice. How she has managed to fool people is her character's situations are different, but her personality, where she seems to only talk at people, remains the same. I say bitter and angry because all her character's have unbelievably dramatic pasts and she seems to have a grudge against relationships. Plus, and this is the writer's fault not hers, half her movies make no sense character-wise. I mean I'm watching SLP and all that hits me in the end game is, "This woman f*cked with your head for her own benefit for months and you love her for doing it? Yeah, relationship will last a month, two if the sex is good."

You want to give me crap, feel free, but better actually say something more than I'm wrong and not tell me why other than asking questions, expecting me to give you a reason for you. That's just lazy debating man.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 22nd, 2014 at 11:17:50 AM

@lee27
On another note, please note how this "Amazing actress" can't seem to get anyone to work with her but Lionsgate and Weinstein and Fox (The company's that will take anyone) and director David O. Russell. Also note that her success only came after starring in a YA adaptation, not because of the actual movies she was nominated in. Also note, that the Oscars are known for bribery and that Harvey WEinstein, the backer behind her last two Oscar films, is famous for doing that. Also note, you're just a guy who likes to follow trends as far as I'm concerned because you talked crap to someone without a reason and used the word hater...which immediately dismisses you because I can't take anyone serious who uses that word.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved