WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Gremlins" Director Joe Dante NOT Involved With Reboot, Gives an Update

Posted: September 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Gremlins" Director Joe Dante NOT Involved With Reboot, Gives an UpdateSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about a "Gremlins" reboot for many years, with director Joe Dante, who directed the original films, attached to either direct again or at least produce.

Recently, Warner Bros started taking the project seriously. But it turns out that Dante is not involved and that it may be more difficult than once thought to get the remake into production.

"I am not involved with it," confirmed Dante. "It's something that we hear about every six months for the past five to ten years. I know there have been many attempts to do it. It's tricky because the rights are jointly owned by Warner Bros and [Steven Spielberg's] Amblin, so you've got to jump through two hurdles to get your idea approved."

He continued: "I know a lot of very well known people have come up with ideas for another 'Gremlins' movie and [nothing ever happened]. I do know, however, that there's a script being written now and the tricky thing is that I'm not sure that the people making the movie now understand what the original appeal was of the first movie, which was not beloved by the studio until it started making money."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:03:22 AM

lol, this sh*t looks terrible, per usual. No surprise there. Wonder what crap they'll make next. Probably nothing that would engage the brain.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:06:24 AM

Stop remaking eighties classics, *ssholes. they were fine the first time. Stop trying to capitalize on classic titles. You can't assembly line success. Films like Gremlins were hits because of the cultural and social context. Trying to remake them into modern hits almost never works. And besides, you'll just f*ck it up anyway like always.

Go make something new, Dante, like you give a f*ck. Not like your glory days aren't behind you anyway.
boogiel writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:10:58 AM

Just let this franchise die. No need to reboot it.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:22:55 AM

"what the original appeal was of the first movie, which was not beloved by the studio until it started making money."

...because Gremlins is remembered for how much money it made the Jews and not because it was/is a popular, quintessential 80s film right up there with Ghostbusters and...and...some other movie.
Bandolero998 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:23:39 AM

More sh*t in the works and not doing anything at all

Remake American ninja,back to the future,johny handsome,streets of fire,war games,lady hawke,red sonja
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 8:04:40 AM

Forget a remake of the film, how about just making a REAL Gizmo? That goddamn bastard is cute as hell. Forget global warming or exploration of space, let's get our top scientists to immediately begin work on the creation of this friendly furry f*cker. Oh, and hoverboards too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 8:40:10 AM

Maybe this time they will actually produce a REAL Bathroom Buddy™
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:54:28 AM

POFO Phoebe Cates
Dark17 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 10:55:15 AM

blehhh. who cares should be called deadfone or lawman. a better synonym for gremlin.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 11:13:05 AM

What everyone else said ^

But if they do make it, I expect a d*ck Miller Cameo!
lawman writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:54:29 PM

Porn,


I thought Kates was SO hot. Dont know why.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 1:12:25 PM

She still is!^

google Phoebe Cates 2014

whose d*ck did Kevin Klein suck in his past life to get that ?!?

Either i had it too good in my past lives
or i was a real sc*mbag

f*ck this universe

lawman writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 3:25:23 PM

RIP Joan Rivers. A comedic pioneer and one funny FUNNY woman.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 3:42:31 PM

Watched As above, so below. Not a bad flick, solid 7/ 7.5. Very enjoyable if you're into a combination of Urban exploring and horror
lawman writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 3:48:33 PM

Tan,


It doesnt look half bad. Not really a fan of the found footage films, with some exceptions.

Ever seen a movie called "After"? It was a decent indi film with a GREAT soundtrack by Crystal Method.

Also, will someoen f*cking watch "The Divide" and "Th violent Kind" so I can discuss them with you. I dont know if Im weird or they are actually good.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 5:09:38 PM

BREAKING: ISUS releases new video of the beheading of Joan Rivers.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 5:11:08 PM

My apologies about that last joke.

It's ISIS.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 6:05:52 PM

I watched MONSTERS, SCENIC ROUTE, and MANHUNTER(again after about, 25 years) yesterday.

MONSTERS: Well, I know why they chose Gareth Edwards for GODZILLA, because the script (the studio/producers) perfectly mimiced his MONSTERS. It was light on the monsters, but the human element was good, and Edwards direction and the cinematography was great. BUT I think the human story of MONSTERS was better, as I thought Cranston in G'zilla was wasted, and Aaron-Johnson was a snooze. Yes...barely much monster stuff...but a good film, imo.

SCENIC ROUTE: Josh Duhamel and the dude from BALLS OF FURY in a bullsh*t film about two best friends whose vehicle breaks down in the middle of nowhere. Then long-winded conversations about their relationship ensues. Then extreme dumbness and a cliched twist sums it up.

MANHUNTER: I liked it 25 years ago, and it's still watchable, but it's a sign of it's times. Mann uses a lot of pink and light blue ambient light in scenes (Miami Vice, goddammit), and it's definitely an 80's looking film. Mann definitely is a filmmaker that gets better with each film. This has great moments, but not his best work.



lawman writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:17:31 PM

Cress=Douche! LOL. It's never too soon for Joan jokes. She's make fun of someone at their own wake!
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:22:48 PM

I agree, Lawman. She'd be ripping motherf*ckers a new a'hole, no matter what, with her jokes. She was hilarious. It's too bad. She still had Betty White years left in her.
lawman writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:38:15 PM

She didn't have Betty white history though. I'm pretty sure joan drank and did drugs Betty's never even heard of! That coupled with the fact that she was stretched tighter than an Apache ceremonial drum!
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:49:23 PM

lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 7:50:44 PM

Breaking News for Alex and the usual gang of idiots who update Worst Previews:

Joan Rivers is dead. Betty White, however, is still alive and making fun of Bea Arthur, Rue McClanahan and Estelle Getty - and drinking the blood of young virgin runaways to continue her immortal life.


Gremlins remake ? Please keep it in developmental hell. I can tell you why I won't care to watch it.

1. It will be all CGI. No practical special effects.

2. Zach didn't do a cameo for the Fright Night! remake, he sure as sh*t won't do a cameo for this.

3. Bathroom humor anticipated. Especially if Seth Rogen/James Franco's friend does it.

4. They couldn't opt to remake an 80's film that is more generic, such as:

a. Maniac Cop
b. The Chuck Norris "Missing in Action" series
c. The Michael Dudikoff "American Ninja series.
d. C.H.U.D.
e. Leonard Pt. 6
f. Blind Fury
g. Split Second
h. I Come in Peace
i. Rude Awakening
j. St. Elmo's Fire
h. Young Warriors
k. Crimewave
l. Bolero
m. Wisdom
n. The Garbage Pail Kids
o. Can't Stop the Music

I personally think (on a side note) that "Can't Stop the Music" is the reason Bruce Jenner is trying to convert from circus freak to circus freak with tits and a non-working vagina.

5. Did I mention that the script will probably be a piece of sh*t ala Ghostbusters 3: The Reimagining a.k.a. That Extra Paycheck in Ackroyd's Wallet.


Oh. And Joan Rivers kicked the bucket.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:00:38 PM

Lawman-

Haven't heard of any of those three movies haha But I'll look into em.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:05:59 PM

Dub Pistols again
Big and blood clot everybody gwan and tell your friends
Riddim killas from a mould that they make on the street
And we rest but don't sleep till the job is complete
We make moves, yeah we do things
We sit in the seat
And its deep cos there's people waiting on me to eat
Im a provider, anything test me I'm a rider
Late night with my blacks on creeping up beside ya
You dip and slide, grip the thighs
Work the hips, rub the middle
Try and get the prize
And if she's got the shakes, try get the fries
And if your lucky might get the ride
You know the vibe, yo
You'll never find
No matter where you search
Someone who loves you
Tender like I do
Hey Kid your looking sharp
I pluck the right strings
Like I'm playing the harp
See the bitches dig the riches
The like the way I ride
Deep down and dirty is the service I provide
Got her hooked on desire from day one
Don't play dumb
The crumbs on the table
Aren't enough to make her stay long
Four courses feed her appetite for destruction
And in the end banging like percussion
No discussion.
You'll never find
No matter where you search
Someone who cares about you
The way I do
As we set the speed
Certain man is bush weed
The killer stay ke-kee
And I know a girl named kiki
Who love try please
But dub life I soon leave to go and raise my seed
Until then
Girl them have to stretch and bend
If them say they don't bend
Then we stretch her friends
Riddim killer with the rag-a-muffin style again
Been a real dutty boy from when
You know the vibes yo.
You'll never find
No matter where you search
Someone who loves you
Tender like I do
Slow fast, slow fast
The technique that I use
Make her blow a fuse
Wearing nothing but shoes
Left her stuck on a cruise
Singing permanent blues
And I choose not to lose
Where most would abuse
Got much more restore
With my filthy roar
Sweet frames, soda bottles
Put her lips to the straw
Got them down on all fours
Just from flapping the jaws
Swinging bats, playing baseball
Just to even the score
Break it down.
You'll never find
No matter where you search
Someone who cares about you
The way I do




STOP IT, CRESS. One thread was enough, goddammit! !

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:06:17 PM

Please tell me youre f*ckin around,TAN

Manhunter has been discussed here every time Mann's name comes up

Monsters is just a movie we generally complain about here any given day

that other one is on Netflix
plus ALEX ran the story of Josh Dosmell dressing up in a big sac suit while promoting said movie
Knut writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:11:06 PM

Leave this classic be.

It's the ultimate Christmas movie. Gizmo and Co. get a viewing in late December ever year along with Hans Gruber.

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Rare Exports got a run last year. Better than the holiday tripe they throw about.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:15:19 PM

I think you mean me, Porn.

It's easy to confuse us, since we are basically POLAR OPPOSITES. What strand you smokin' today?
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:17:55 PM

Well even Gremlins 2:The New Batch was disappointing. The first Gremlins was a very special film where the stars aligned and it's the very definition of capturing lightning in a bottle. To this day I watch it and it still leaves a magical impression on me.

A reboot/remake will never, ever come close to replicating that no matter who writes/directs/produces/stars in it.

Leave it alone.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:19:24 PM

Nevermind, PORN.

I actually just THOROUGHLY read your comment, and I'm retarded.

The first step in recovery...is admitting you're a.
tard.

ME
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:32:12 PM

@Porn. I take back my original apology. Honestly, I think Tanman is apologizing to me, not LAWMAN(he accidentally apologizes or attributes stuff to others a lot). He's cool like dat.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:38:09 PM


Lawman writes-

"Ever seen a movie called "After"? It was a decent indi film with a GREAT soundtrack by Crystal Method.

Also, will someoen f*cking watch "The Divide" and "Th violent Kind" so I can discuss them with you. I dont know if Im weird or they are actually good"

I respond-

"Lawman-

Haven't heard of any of those three movies haha But I'll look into em"

Hope that clears that up guys!

And @Porn
I've heard of Manhunter a bunch of times lol

cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:38:53 PM

"TANMAN does not apologize to anyone, motherf*cker."

*email threat I just received from Tanman
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:40:04 PM

@Deaft-

You're nuts, I don't EVER attribute things to the wrong people! (See what I did there?)
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:40:46 PM

lol^
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:47:05 PM

I see what you did there.

You Canadians.....your women can "eh" on my d*ck all day. Gotta love you!
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:49:43 PM

You know I love you, Tanny.
cress writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:53:06 PM

Too much Tanman love going on here.

Must find loose-lipped female ho to give throat babies.

The search begins...
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 10:38:16 PM

Put in a good work for Tanny boy! ^
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 10:58:56 PM

Speaking of Tanman Disney SuperFan, didn't you say that Now You See Me was good? I'm watching it now..
Dark17 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 11:04:43 PM

#kingofworstpreviews#
#isback#
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 11:27:13 PM

f*ck that Deaft, movie was horrible.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 11:41:03 PM

@Tan

Lol, maybe it was someone else on here that dug it. I'm 45 mins in and it's not too shabby.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 11:43:31 PM

Also just by having My Cocaine and Morgan Freeman in it automatically makes it a 2.5 star film regardless of any other factors.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 11:46:04 PM

Culture grows through boundless facts.
cress writes:
on September 5th, 2014 at 2:40:49 AM

NOW YOU SEE ME sucked balls
jafinbham writes:
on September 5th, 2014 at 6:46:05 AM

I once started Now You See Me but I couldn't finish it. The sheer evil of Jesse Eisenberg terrified me to my very core. While lying awake for days on end due to night terrors afterwards I immediately thought that he would make a fantastic Lex Luthor. Mini-James Franco annoys the sh*t out of everyone by not being James Franco. I mean why settle for a douche when you can get the supreme douche that is James Franco....fo-eva. Isla Fisher is in it because people think that it was her ass they saw in the hangover when in reality she used a body double for the nude ass shot. And she's also married to Ali G. or whatever his jew name is. That's why she's still able to get gigs in sh*t movies such as this one. Woody Harrelson thought he was signing up for Rampart 2: Ramp Arter. That was one of the few films I ever set down to watch and just couldn't stomach it enough to get through it. Seeing Jesse Eisenberg trying to act tough and commanding like a real live man is just nauseating.
Minkοwski writes:
on December 1st, 2014 at 2:54:56 PM

test

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved