WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne Johnson is the Villain in "Shazam" DC Comics Film

Posted: September 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne Johnson is the Villain in "Shazam" DC Comics FilmSubmit Comment
Dwayne Johnson has been in talks to star in a "Shazam" DC comic book movie for years. Just recently he confirmed that he'll play either the title character or the villainous Black Adam.

Today, Johnson revealed that the film is officially moving forward and that he will be Black Adam, who has powers comparable to that of Shazam, including flight, strength, agility, lightning manipulation, as well as magic.

We also just learned that Darren Lemke (Jack the Giant Slayer, Turbo) will write the script and will be developed by Warner Bros subsidiary New Line Cinema. "It feels to me like 'Shazam' will have a tone unto itself," said New Line president Toby Emmerich. "It's a DC comic, but it's not a 'Justice League' character, and it's not a Marvel comic. The tone and the feeling of the movie will be different from the other range of comic book movies."

Emmerich added that the movie "will have a sense of fun and a sense of humor. But the stakes have to be real."

Regarding Johnson's casting as Black Adam, Emmerich said: "The villain in superhero movies is often, I think, what makes the movie. And I thought Dwayne's take on the character, and the way that he saw Black Adam, was really compelling and fun."

Source: EW, Dwayne Johnson


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 3rd, 2014 at 11:59:50 PM

Cool news indeed!
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:01:21 AM


Well, at least the big moron is doing something different this time eince he did the smiling Samoan hero thing to death. He certainly doesn't have much range at all. Even Arnie has more charisma and Arnold has the personality of a rock, which is kind of ironic.

Anyway, another failed project for DC. Another Green Lantern. Another green screen mess with a sh*tload of CGI and a poor, miscast lead character.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:03:49 AM

*since.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:06:43 AM

Great, The writer from jack and the Giant Slayer. That was a huge hit, huh? And starring the guy who's best work is playing a big meathead in a movie about racing cars? Why not hire Ryan Reynolds again. At least some people think he's handsome and funny.


"Emmerich added that the movie "will have a sense of fun and a sense of humor. But the stakes have to be real."

It's a movie about some guy who yells Shazam or something. How f*ck real do you think you can make it? Just go with dreary and gritty. Seems all you know how to do anyway, thanks to Nolan's bootprint on your forehead, DC.
Minkοwski writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:07:35 AM

*the.
boogiel writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:12:58 AM

Just as expected. For once, DC is doing the right thing.

Deaft0ne writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:18:27 AM

Agreed boogiel^
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 12:50:08 AM

Does anyone think that this could be what Man Of Steel should have been?
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 1:09:32 AM

@Billy

Haha Thanks for the compliment man, you've always been a good voice on this site since I've been around
Dark17 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 1:51:15 AM

wooooo!!! minky first again!!!! wooohooo wwhere are the mink cheerleaders!!!!! deaftone lawman pornfly. oh wait theres a mosquito in front of you...bummer
Dark17 writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 2:18:39 AM

mink its time you throw the garbage. your letting the too many retarded termites get in.
jafinbham writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 2:23:50 AM

I just looked over the IMDB page for Toby Emmerich. I then nearly pissed myself from laughing so hard. There's nothing but a long line of worthless sh*t. I'm sure this 'film' will fall right in line with the rest of them and be a complete waste.

What's funny is the way these guys are already trying to distance themselves from Man of Steel and Batfleck.

"It's a DC comic, but it's not a 'Justice League' character"

Man that's just some sad sh*t right there. Man of Steel cost $170 million and no one in their right mind wants to be associated with it. Not even this Emmerich guy and he was the Executive Producer on the Notebook for Christ's sake. "Notebook? I drove that mother from day damn one. Shazam? It's a DC comic, but it's not a 'Justice League' character"

Translation: Justice League is sh*t that the Notebook producer won't touch.

Good luck with your sh*tfest Crumpet1 and Batfleck. I'm sure you'll get all the success you deserve.
jafinbham writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 2:30:56 AM

I've also recently seen Jennifer Lawrence's hooters on the net. A unforeseen byproduct has been that I'm now incapable of truly 'seeing' her as Katniss Everdeen. The rest of the Hunger Games movies have been ruined for me. How could you do this to me JLaw? Worthless attention whore.

WARNING!!! If your as big of a Hunger Games fan as me then don't look directly at Jennifer Lawrence's tits. Else your image of Katniss Everdeen will be permanently shattered like mine has been......by a worthless attention whore.

I have to go take some pics of myself naked in the mirror now. Cause I'm too sexy for the Hunger Games.
Papillon writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 4:48:29 AM

@Deaf

I see and I like what you're doiong there since yesterday. I can picture Mink seething and cringing for not being first! LOLOL!
Papillon writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 4:48:56 AM

*doing
lawman writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 6:54:11 AM

Deft,

Well done again. Looks like that gnat Dark is now buzzing on Minks d*ck since no one likes him either. They can give each other hefty hand jobs!
YoungChris writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 10:56:48 AM

f*ck yeah !!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on September 4th, 2014 at 9:29:53 PM

Can you smell what the Crock - is - sh*tting ?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved