WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

Posted: August 31st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014Submit Comment
Marvel took a huge risk with "Guardians of the Galaxy," since the characters weren't well known, two of them were a raccoon and a tree, and the entire film has a comedic tone.

The gamble paid off, because "Guardians of the Galaxy" is now the highest-grossing 2014 film in North America. By the time it ends its theatrical run, it will gross around $300 million domestically. Plus, it still has an impressive 92% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Now that it's one of the biggest successes of the year, director James Gunn posted a statement:

"To quote my favorite little monstrosity, 'Oh... Yeah.'

And although io9 may be right, that people like the movie because it's funny, I like to believe it's because WE GAVE A SH*T. You aren't numbers to us. You deserve to be given something we the creators believe in and that isn't just seeking a big opening weekend. I love my characters, I care about the quality of the movie, and Marvel was cool enough to let us take some risks.

Hopefully, THAT'S the lesson - that we'll see more spectacle movies coming out of Hollywood that the filmmakers actually believe in, and that take risks, NOT just a bunch of superhero or space movies trying to be funny.
"

Source: James Gunn


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:00:21 AM

Heh. The movie the morons said would suck is the highest-grossing flick of 2014, which isn't saying much since pretty much everything else was average to trash at best. But it was a darned good romp for the price. So kudos to Marvel for slamming out another bleach-bench-buster, unlike DC who seemingly can't hi more than grounders, strikes and pop flies.


Ha. I love mixed baseball and cinema analogies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:08:07 AM

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

James Gunn: "Hey, Josh. Suck on this .... Ohhhh yeahhh!"
Minkοwski writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:11:23 AM

*bleacher
boogiel writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:19:34 AM

Hopefully, THAT'S the lesson - that we'll see more spectacle movies coming out of Hollywood that the filmmakers actually believe in, and that take risks, NOT just a bunch of superhero or space movies trying to be funny."


Listen and learn from him, DC!
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:00:36 AM

No way Rambo likes gog??
Stop trolling.havent seen in yet
But all of James gunn movies are sh*t.
lawman writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:28:01 AM

Faggot got FIRSTEES again! Yay.
lawman writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:28:36 AM

Bando,

It was good man. Really decent film.
Dark17 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 10:22:19 AM

congrats mink first again yayyy
Dark17 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 10:22:21 AM

congrats mink first again yayyy
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 11:34:32 AM

Guardians of the sh*taxy!
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 11:49:07 AM

@lawman

LMAO, mink was up at 5AM his time on a SUNDAY to post FIRSTEES!!
Words of Wisdom writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 12:31:30 PM

Mankind exists at a crossroads between choice and delusion.
Cannon writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 12:32:31 PM

"Hopefully, THAT'S the lesson - that we'll see more spectacle movies coming out of Hollywood that the filmmakers actually believe in, and that take risks, NOT just a bunch of superhero or space movies trying to be funny."

Odd, because that's all the movie really was. I thought GOTG was superficially fun but it hardly constitutes a great film. I didn't give a sh*t about the villains nor the plot nor, for the most part, the outer-space worlds being explored.

So what are we really talking about here? Jokes and pop-songs and 80s references, that's what. That's all there is to the movie. Again, said aspect was fun in the most immediate bubbly kind of way, yet near equally forgettable the moment I walked out of the theater.

The film's dramatic elements about "family" were completely rote and it's storied universe was nonsensical and uninspired—the floating head planet marked a fleeting moment of interest; otherwise, the imagery and imagination was, well, not all that imaginative.

It only went so far to make us feel the most generic sentiments about Star Lord's dead mom backstory or some last-minute sorrows between Rocket and Groot (which prove empty by film's end—obviously, they're not going to kill Groot), but any sincerity about the very idea of a space-fantasy world was scratched in favor of cheeky 110% self-awareness.

Between this and DC's Man of Steel ...both are such awkward polar-opposite extremes: one is so utterly joyless and self-serious and visually ugly while the other is notably just a string of sight gags and pithy sitcom humor.

Of the two, I'll gladly take Guardians because it's light and fun and easy to watch, but I remember when fantasy adventures of the 80s, at their best, were also fun but actually gave a sh*t about their themes and content.

Look at it this way: What if, at the end of Return of the Jedi, when Luke stands before Vader and the Emperor, instead of dramatically confronting them with physical action and deeply moral defiance, he just all-the-sudden started hip-hop dancing?

THAT was my biggest problem with Guardians: it's hero does the same thing not merely to momentarily distract the super-villain but reflecting the movie as a whole that likewise aims to distract audiences from the fact that it doesn't give a f*ck about anything except being a class clown.

I mean, okay, it was a funny joke, but it was just a funny joke. Disposable.




cress writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 12:37:21 PM

James Gunn's PG PORN:

http://youtu.be/Gxb7b0jGZvc
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 1:32:28 PM

Crambo-

Lol
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 1:48:20 PM

Oh yeah

I sent whoever daf*ck the real MINK is a message

Oh yeah
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 3:45:37 PM

Nobody sends me messages anymore :'(
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 3:56:02 PM

I wonder what happened to the real Tanman. to0 many fake Tans on the site now. he must have finally got tired of his pathetic excuse for waste of air and decided to kill himself just like Ranger. all to my doing yes your all welcome.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 4:24:37 PM

Aww, I still love you Tanny!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 4:24:37 PM

Aww, I still love you Tanny!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 5:53:24 PM

TANMAN
check your outbox
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 6:09:33 PM

30yo-
Suck my ass

Crambo-
K

Porn-
K Der bi
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 6:10:44 PM

@Bad

We should make love sometime :)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 6:30:17 PM

You know what, good for them. No it wasn't a brain-fueled film, but it had enough story and emotion with the characters to make it one of the best this summer. It wasn't Star Wars but it came pretty darn close given how it was aimed at a more general audience.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 6:33:02 PM

Tan- as long as Kody video tapes it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 6:33:33 PM

And Mink reviews it.
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 7:08:58 PM

November man has bombed and it was r rated
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:36:44 PM

Jennifer Lawrence
Hacked photos

http://www.inflexwetrust.com/2014/08/31/warning-18-photos-naked-pics-of-jennifer-lawrence-leak-from-cellphone/ifwt_jennifer-lawrence-nudes-leak-from-cellphone-5/

Pretty f*ckin hot
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:41:24 PM

http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelzarrell/jennifer-lawrence-ariana-grande-picture-leak?s=mobile
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:43:27 PM

Woo hoo!
Mary Elizabeth Winstead too

Creeps rule
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 8:50:11 PM

"To those of you looking at photos I took with my husband years ago in the privacy of our home, hope you feel great about yourselves."

I do, now

Ya dweeb director f*cking whore
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:04:12 PM

Thank you pornfly, I'm in f*ckin heaven
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:09:28 PM

Seth Rogen criticized the hacker on Twitter, writing
'Posting pics hacked from a cell phone is really no different than selling stolen merchandise.'


f*ck off, four eyes
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:18:03 PM

Too bad this isnt the 70s
We'd have nekked Pam Dawber pics
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:31:38 PM

November man has bombed and it was r rated


It was also under-promoted
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 9:58:26 PM

@porn-fly
Well thanks porn. If it wasn't confirmed she was a whore before you sure proved it to me tonight. LOL
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 10:08:42 PM

ALL chics are whores

to some extant

some guys too
especially if theyre gay


Prove me wrong, homos
python6 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 10:16:19 PM

They should re-release it for Christmas
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 10:16:55 PM

actress weds director=whore

actress marries warehouse worker=never happens
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 10:23:32 PM

@porn-fly
Yeah but this just proves why Lawrence is good at playing slutty characters. These poses remind me of porn sites I saw in high school. LOL And the f*cked up part, people want call her a whore. They'll call her awesome anyway. Ah the f*cked up modern world where being trashy is cool!
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 11:04:08 PM

actresses who marry directors or guys who are in the position to further their careers
are straight up whores

Thaliá

Mary Elizabeth Winstead (can you imagine the pics that 'he' sent back??)






Jennifer Lawrence is just an attention whore
Im sure
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 31st, 2014 at 11:41:37 PM

@Porn-fly
Well someone wrote it was like 100+ of her! Like what the f*ck? Who needs to take pictures of themselves that much? She didn't even marry anyone. She probably just did David O. Russell real quick and got it over with. LOL

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved