WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

Posted: August 27th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?Submit Comment
Hitfix is reporting that many of its sources have confirmed that the new policy at Warner Bros is for all of the studio's future superhero films to not have jokes. While humor can be a good way to alleviate tension, Warner Bros apparently wants nothing in their movies to be funny.

It's not clear why such a policy would be in place when Marvel's movies are filled with jokes and consistently do very well at the box office. In fact, "Guardians of the Galaxy" is as far from a serious movie and it's about to set the domestic box office record.

It's possible that Warner Bros may want to differentiate itself from Marvel by offering something darker. It worked for "The Dark Knight" trilogy and "Man of Steel." And the studio's "Green Lantern" had Ryan Reynolds cracking jokes every five seconds and that was a big flop.

Source: Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 6:39:52 AM

I can understand that. The movies are enough of a joke already. No need to be redundant.
boogiel writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 6:50:08 AM

No jokes? DC movies are Jokes.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 6:57:00 AM

Life is an unfolding metamorphosis of mystical curiosity.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:03:05 AM

Lantern was a flop because it was a bad movie and Reynolds was the wrong man for the job.
- the jokes work in many marvel movies , especially Guardians which was fun to watch, but it can actually be too much in some movies and it actually becomes too silly.
Think it's ok that DC chooses a darker path .
Like that they don't copy Marvel just to reach same level of success. They are taking bigger chances/risks in my opinion. !
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:08:14 AM

What he said ^

Literally beat me to the punch lol
afterkwiss writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:36:59 AM

Looks like we won't see any other Joker apparition in the next Batman reboot/remake/prequel/whatever then ...
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:53:49 AM

You can thank Nolan for that
Papillon writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:55:35 AM

So, having some sense of humour is a threat for their investment!?

How ironic for a comic book movie.
Cannon writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:44:59 AM

"It's possible that Warner Bros may want to differentiate itself from Marvel by offering something darker."

Obviously. Anyone could have reasoned as much by this point. The problem is, DC is going about it to such a binary extreme, itís almost retarded. Or, itís as if theyíre letting a f*cking 16-year old make this decision.

"Dark is cool! Meh. I hate everything."

Just call it for what it is: a 'No Fun' policy, period.

TRUEMAN writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:56:37 AM

i get the sarcasm no joke because theirs movies are a real joke cool!
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:28:13 AM

Cannon and Crambo,


Good points. I remember when dark movies where all the rage. When movies like The Crow were all anyone wanted. When done right, humor isnt really needed. Just like, when done right, a comedy doesnt need action or drama. A completely dark comic movie HAS worked, I dont really remember laughing for the first or second Batman and they were pretty unarguably excellent. I can easily see how that formula would work for them all. Green lantern, Flash, Daredevil, etc. If done right, Dark would make they excellent. But I think the problem is that it isnt what the studios feel puts butts in seats. They ruin almost everything with the PG-13 kiss of death because there isnt as much money in an R rating. That, IMO, is the real shame of it.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:32:11 AM

9 year old shoots gun instructor in head with Uzi

VUTTAH c*ntRY
eeh eeh eeh
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:38:20 AM

^

I can only assume it was either on full auto or her loose grip and recoil bump fired the weapon. Either way, the strenght required for a weapon that fires more than one round per trigger pull is much more than most 9yr olds have. Boy or girl. I witnessed a grown man bump fire a S&W .500 until it was empty and that is a revolver. The recoil was too much and the gun kept bouncing in his hand, inducing another trigger pull as the pistol climbed with every shot. Put the last two rounds into the ceiling directly above his head. Luckily "There aint no body upstairs".
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:40:31 AM

Just irresponsible to give a child a gun like that without helping her hold it. Now, someone is dead a that poor kid is scarred for life.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:44:55 AM

Cant find the whole clip
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:47:06 AM

There is video? sh*t!

I was only able to find a blurb about it being a girl with dad. Didnt even mention the gun in the thing I read.
Dark17 writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:53:17 AM


wonder what happened to the real minkowski. to many fake minks on the site now. he must have finaly got tired of his pathetic excuse for waste of air and decided to kill himself just like ranger. all to my doing yes your all welcome.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 1:02:36 PM

^ @ porn-fly
Now that's funny comedy right there !
How ironic !!!
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 1:32:03 PM

I'm not sure what ended the good age of DC Universe movies:
Green Lantern or The Batman trilogy
Green Lantern was a flop and not a good film while the Batman Trilogy was so loved by the audience and made a sh*t ton of money that DC just didn't know how to live up to that kind of success.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 4:07:11 PM

@Mink. Thoughts on MIRAGE MEN?
.minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 4:17:04 PM

I'm officially online again, some douches are posing to be me but I wouldn't expect most of you to believe. Alex does not realize any of this sh*t, I mean I have been a member of this site since 2008 and the least he can do is re-activate an old member! eh, f*ck it, I mean it's Alex we're talking about here anyway.
.minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 4:20:39 PM

@cress
I found it to be a pretty good doc*mentary, the US government sure sucked at covering it's ass though.
alleyg21 writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 5:35:38 PM

Jeffrey, is that you?
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 5:40:16 PM

Why does it take longer for you to kick lifes ass
than it does for life to kick your ass?
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:31:48 PM

Porn,

Because there is way more life than there is you. All the forces of the universe conspiring against you but only YOU to defend YOU! Sucks bro!
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 7:56:15 PM

@Pornfly. I think that is a more profound statement than Words of Wisdom could ever come up with...
Minkοwski writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:02:34 PM

@Cress: I think I tried replying to you yesterday but you were ostensibly incognito.

Anyway...not a great docu. Mostly anecdotal testimony, and not enough to form a convincing narrative. From what I can tell Mirage Men is a recycling of the claim Chris Carter employed in The X-Files, which was old even by that time. In short: people have been claiming the US manipulated UFO reports, and the UFO subculture, to cover up their clandestine activities since Project Blue Book and Project Grudge.

My problem with that claim is this: I can believe the US might allow UFO culture to assist in the creation and dissemination of disinformation, and they probably did, especially during the Cold War, but as far as I can tell, there's no factual, incontrovertible proof of a coherent, consistent government conspiracy, and the film doesn't provide any; it merely offers unsubstantiated claims, which, in the field of UFO "research", means everything and nothing, simultaneously.

Regardless, by the time I was sixteen I had read basically every book on the UFO phenomenon, and to this day I catch any seminal book on the subject. I'm not convinced there isn't something more going on, something more than super-secret military planes, especially given that some encounters are well doc*mented by intelligent, sober individuals, during which the object in question reportedly made changes in trajectory incompatible with both known technology and known physics, such as instantaneous half-pi angle changes. Conservation of momentum says such behavior should not be possible with objects possessing material mass...

Anyway, the docu itself, setting aide the dubious nature, wasn't much more than a standard concatenation of video interviews and testimonials, from what I saw, so not much there on that front, either.





You asked for my opinion, so I gave it.

Cheers.

P.S. Leslie Kean has written a great book you should check out if you're into UFOs.



http://libgen.org/book/index.php?md5=A61B264F92DB021394FECFA0DA6DA1BE
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:10:54 PM

@Mink. Great assessment, but i did find it intriguing to hear a government/ops perspective on this subject. I do believe there is more going on than what the govt. or media says. I have seen things. I'll leave it at that.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:13:08 PM

@Porn:

I read about the girl who shot her instructor with an UZI.

Well, all you need to do is recall the scene from True Lies with Jamie Lee Curtis wherein she loses her UZI on the stairs because she's not familiar with or even anticipating the gun's incredible rapid-fire staccato. Doesn't have anything to do with trigger-pressure, has to do with the basic physics of recoil. Ever tried to hold a large, fully-open water-hose? Same physics, basically.






As for the girl...her family either has some negligent homicide charges coming, or one hell of a lawsuit.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:13:29 PM

CRESS
you should listen to CoastToCoast every night
Its all UFOs,MIB,conspiracies,psychics,Shadow People
Etc.

LAWMANs common sense answer made my question seem toddler-ish
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:18:28 PM

@Porn. I've listened to C2CAM. Too many whackos on there that present ideas as fact. I'm not saying that some have intriguing theories...but there is SO MUCH unsubstantiated BULLsh*t they run their mouths on.
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:18:38 PM

Porn,

That wasn't my goal buddy. I'm sorry if that's what I did. I just speak from experience. Life has been that dude in the back and I have been Lucy lawless on several occasions. If I was a woman, I would be Octomom and life would be the baby's daddy!
Minkοwski writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:21:36 PM

@Cress: I can understand that, but for every government "ops" guy who says the US manipulated UFO reports to cover up the F-117 Night Hawk or the B2, or the SR71, there's fifty guys who swear, SWEAR the US has dead alien bodies and a busted spaceship somewhere.

Back in the 1960s, IIRC, Presidential candidate Barry Goldwater tried to gain access to the legendary hangar at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. He asked a then-famous general for access. Might have been Curtis LeMay. Anyway, this general told Goldwater "no, and don't you ever ask me that question again". Or that's the story I've heard.



The government has billions in black budget discretionary funds, so it wouldn't surprise me if our military was experimenting with every conceivable concept. The Nazis certainly did, and as did the Soviets, and both American and Soviet aerospace tech was born from the wellspring of German technological prowess, which was at that time the most advanced on the planet.

So I'd be disappointed if US military wasn't using endless funds to toy with whatever notion they encountered, and I'm cool with that. Certainly wouldn't want China or Russia to take the lead in advanced or esoteric military weaponry.
lawman writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:22:37 PM

Best evidence FOR UFO's is the ancient paintings and cave drawings. No gov influences, no prior toothless hillbillys stories to influence them, just drawing what they saw. One worthwhile line from that Jody Foster turd pile "Contact" was, "If we are really all alone, and this is all for us, what a waste of space". And another one I like to claim as mine because I don't remember where I he was it, "Its the height of human arrogance to think the universe was created just for us".
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:26:38 PM

you're 100% right,CRESS
its still a good listen during bedtime(for me anyway)

LAWMAN,no apologies necessary
just a super obvious answer
the only hurt feelings i have is that theres not someone responsible for 'life' that i can kick in the balls from behind with one of BANDOs boots

cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:29:53 PM

@Mink. But you got to ask yourself...why so American-entric? Why do these aliens crashland in our backyard?
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:37:51 PM

I know about the government's "black budget". It's infamous by those that have a brain.

Not me. I'm still enjoying my formaldehyde bath...Anyways...




DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 8:58:32 PM

Guess this policy was in effect for the Green Lantern film then.
vincere01 writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 9:05:41 PM

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/08/27/accuser-drops-sex-abuse-lawsuit-against-x-men-director-bryan-singer

Looks like he got off, literally and figuratively
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 9:06:53 PM

Mink is probably gathering every credible UFO story from the UK and beyond right now, and that's fine. Like I said---I've seen things.

Maybe it's a media thing that concentrates on US phenomenon so much. Some of the Crop Circle formations in the UK are pretty f*cking mesmerizing though. I can't believe it's always dipsh*ts making them, though. Radistion and other strange phenomenon have been observed tgerr.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 9:08:16 PM

Durrr...spelling much...
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:24:54 PM

Coast 2 coast has some pretty crazy guys on there sometimes. I've listened like twice lol I've always found that they encouraged the callers bullsh*t theories way to much
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:35:02 PM

that guy's in the zone, man

look out
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on August 27th, 2014 at 10:36:00 PM

don't worry about it
jafinbham writes:
on August 28th, 2014 at 4:52:36 AM

The level of stupidity shown by WB execs here is mind boggling. If these dipsh*ts don't understand why the Dark Knight trilogy was so successful and the Green Lantern was an abomination then I think they could be beyond help. How could such a f*cktard find themselves in any sort of position of power at a major studio.

"I found the problem people. Too many jokes." Well Nolan will fix that for you. By the time he's done, half the audience will be suicidal. Darker, grittier, with more murders committed by Superman with his bare hands. Good times.

These dumb asses need to take a long hard look at Guardians of the Galaxy. A talking raccoon and a talking tree nearly steel the movie. Nolan takes himself way too serious for that kind of tom foolery. But these WB execs sound like they are even worse.
Sajid writes:
on August 28th, 2014 at 8:42:29 AM

Just too bad, they are doing it again.... and with Ryan Reynolds offcourse.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoXGsv9nsNs
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 28th, 2014 at 2:46:48 PM

It's possible that Warner Bros may want to differentiate itself from Marvel by offering something darker. It worked for "The Dark Knight" trilogy and "Man of Steel." And the studio's "Green Lantern" had Ryan Reynolds cracking jokes every five seconds and that was a big flop

Please stop with the personal commenting.

1. Batman Begins - Dark Knight .... they had jokes between Morgan Freeman and Christian Bale.

Jokes do NOT make or break a movie. Plot, character development, direction, production ... those MAKE OR BREAK a movie. Case in point: Guardians of the Galaxy. It had jokes in it, but it also had a plot, well thought out characters, a decent script, very good direction and absolutely awesome production.

2. Man of Steel was abysmal. It may have been "dark and gritty", but that does not fit within the SUPERMAN canon. Before you say how successful it was, WHY THE f*ck DON'T YOU DO YOURf*ckINGSELF A FAVOR AND READ UP ON THE MYTHOS OF THE CHARACTER, YOU LAME f*ckING *sshole ?

Case in Point: They are bringing a "before Congress moment" on Superman for killing people in Metropolis in the new Supes vs Bats movie because a. Iron Man had a congressional moment, so why don't we ? b. It covers up a major f*cking mistake Goyer did with scripting Zod and Supes hissyfit fight in the f*cking city and c. It's a studio reaction to the post 9-11 commentary WB got back about why the f*ck Zod and Supe would be killing fictional people in Metropolis in the first f*cking place.

f*ck you, comment. f*ck you, WB. And f*ck your way you've been trying to make Supe fit in that dark and gritty Frank-Miller social anti-hero style. THIS IS WHY I f*ckING HATE D.C. THEY KEEP f*ckING UP AND REVAMPING IN A RETARDED f*ckING WAY. YOU f*ckERS DID '52' AND NEVER LISTENED. NOW I HOPE YOU f*ckING BOMB BIG TIME WITH BATMAN v. SUPERMAN: WORST f*ckUP.

3. Green Lantern just had an awful script from get-go. It could have been Brad Pitt, Jake Gyllenhaal or Bradley Cooper playing Hal Jordan (just for example)and with that script ? Still awful.

Whoever wrote this article for Hitflix, which DUSTIN and ALEX ripped off ? Clearly a retard.
japaninmotion writes:
on August 30th, 2014 at 10:24:59 PM

GL was a flop cuz every kid under 15 thinks GL is John Stewart not a pasty face white guy

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved