WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Rian Johnson Used "Se7en" and "Blade Runner" to Get "Looper" Made

Posted: August 24th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Rian Johnson Used "Se7en" and "Blade Runner" to Get "Looper" MadeSubmit Comment
When a great project is in development, directors attempt to join that project by convincing producers that they're the right people for the job. One of the ways of getting that done is to put together a video, comprised of footage from other films, giving the producers an idea of the style and tone that they will bring.

Today we have Rian Johnson's pitch video for "Looper." We know that he went on to direct the sci-fi movie, but it took footage from such films as "Se7en," "Fight Club," and "Blade Runner" to comprise a video that eventually convinced investors that he should be given an opportunity to direct the movie.

"This is a fairly common thing to do when you're trying to get a movie off the ground, but it was the first time I tried it," Johnson explained. "It was meant to show more some of the film's tone, and to show how the odd concept could be presented in a clear and compelling way in the marketing. Zach Johnson did the sketches. Note that we hadn't begun the casting process yet, and the clips were chosen just based on their visuals and not by who is in them."

Check out the video below.

Video:


Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Minkοwski writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 6:57:58 AM

So basically he used two good movies to help sell the concept for one sh*tty movie.

Diamond + diamond = turd.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 7:13:14 AM

Looper WAS sh*t. Goofy-looking CGI prosthetics on JGL's face plus the absolutely ridiculous time-travel narrative. Wasn't even any fun nor was it memorable. Just another disappointing movie that failed to live up to my mediocre expectations, like much of the trash bulldozed into theaters over the last ten years or so.

I mean, f*ck, I'm actually nostalgic for the days of Raimi's Spiderman 1 and 2.

But no, Looper was illogical noise only an idiot would or could find coherent. And I mean that. If you can prove the time-travel makes ANY sense, I'd love to see your proof. Even Frequency is a (much) better time-travel film even though it doesn't involve a lick of actual time-traveling.

Frequency was really cool, actually.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 7:42:04 AM

completely forgot about 'Looper' and will probably never watch it again,it was boring and repetitive.
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 7:43:07 AM

Looper aka pooper
I saw a Leon clip and bruce Willis
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 8:10:15 AM

You either try to spin every story into something slightly different(to make it more interesting or cause unneeded controversy??) or you have no idea how to structure a sentence and the context is always lost. Studios either bought the idea - based on his proof-of-concept video - or they didn't. Johnson directing is kind of a given when you develop the whole thing from scratch all by yourself. He didn't pitch the story idea, sell them his script, then have to convince them why he should be allowed to "join"/direct.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 8:11:10 AM

Seems fair, since Blade Runner sucks same amount of balls as Looper.
Boring waste of time !!!
Se7en is a Real thrill, though !!!
Minkοwski writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 10:02:38 AM

tee hee
Minkοwski writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 10:02:47 AM

tee hee
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:23:10 PM

Not only was this more precise and shorter than Looper ... it actually was entertaining.
cress writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 3:13:28 PM

I give LOOPER 5/10 or 2.5 out of 4 stars. It was inventive, but having a time travel element plus an AKIRA-esque storyline was too much. I did like Johnson's direction, though, as I think he is very creative.
cress writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 3:55:42 PM

"...like much of the trash bulldozed into theaters over the last ten years or so."

I'm curious, Mink. I want to know your Top Five films from the last 10 years (2004-2014). Not independent--STUDIO produced films.



cress writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 3:58:11 PM

And...your top 5 independent, non-studio films of the past 10 years.

CHALLENGE, motherf*cker.... ;)
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 5:09:34 PM

Looper was okay but I would never watch it a second time.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 11:03:27 PM

New news....

Richard Attenborough director of Gandhi and Chaplin has passed away... R.I.P
Zeroguy writes:
on August 25th, 2014 at 9:12:36 AM

I like Rian. Brick was a fun concept with a bit of a mess near the third act, Brothers Bloom was a lot of fun that felt slightly hollow, and Looper was a genius concept that fell flat when the farm sh*t hit.
He's got great ideas but he needs another writer to help him thicken up the backbone of his work.

I'm looking forward to his Star Wars episodes. But only cause I like the guy.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved