WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

Posted: August 23rd, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sin City 2" is a Box Office DisasterSubmit Comment
After "Sin City" hit theaters back in 2005 and went on to open to almost $30 million, fans have been pressuring director Robert Rodriguez to make a sequel. But now that the sequel is here, no one cares.

According to early box office estimates, "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For" earned a shockingly low $475,000 on Thursday and is expected to open between $10 million and $12 million for the weekend. And it's very likely that the sequel cost a lot more than the $40 million that the first film cost to make.

The numbers are so low that "Sin City 2" will not even be able to beat Chloe Moretz's "If I Stay," which is on track to earn north of $16 million over the weekend.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 5:04:47 AM

If I Stay has a bedridden Chloe Grace Sucrets in a padded bra

Theres your 16mill
Minkοwski writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 5:17:03 AM

They waited too long. 2007 was seven years ago. And comic book movies are in a different place. Not to mention Sin City isn't anchored to any of the major franchises. Probably poorly marketed too.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 5:29:31 AM

*replace bedridden with comatose*
Evil_Disco writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 5:32:41 AM

Thanks to Eva Green and Josh Brolin - no one wants to see two horrible actors in a movie like this. Plus that the sequel to Sin City should've been made years ago.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 5:36:35 AM

Think most people are tired of the film noir -angle already , after first Sin City and The Spirit allthough Sin City was quite entertaining and had some great scenes.
Gonna watch it on blue-ray, not in the Cinema .
Nothing interesting coming to the Big screen the next upcoming months besides Dracula Untold and The Hobbit so i guess it is time to turn on the ps3 again !!
Minkοwski writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 5:39:11 AM

Now, now, don't dis the Robbie Rodriguez, he had priorities, like making three more Spy Kids movies and two Machete films. Quality before quantity, or as they say in Mexico, "want a mucho taco, amigo?".
The Boosh writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 6:28:48 AM

@Mink

Is that your driver licence photo with mod'?
Stapes writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 6:32:04 AM

No surprise, it looked sh*tty and too different from the source material.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 7:52:28 AM

What Mink said in his first post. RR shouldn't have spent so much f*cking time on Spy Kids movies that hardly no one wanted to watch.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 8:04:04 AM

Sin City came out in 05 mink, not 07.

Anyways, RR waited too f*cking long to make a sequel. 9 years is absurd and his excuses for that are stupid.

Also why does Frank Miller look like he's 90 now? He's only 57 but is at death's door.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 8:13:49 AM

05, 07, I really don't give a sh*t. Never saw the movie in theaters.

If I want useless trivial data on useless trivial pop-cultural artifacts, I'll go to IMDb.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 8:45:33 AM

After "Sin City" hit theaters back in 2005..

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=31807#ixzz3BDco61Um
boogiel writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 9:07:20 AM

MEh...I'm not surprised at all. Since they censored eva green's boobs, I knew this movie gonna bomb.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 11:40:24 AM

Sin city sucked, There I said it. If I stay looks decent though.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 12:52:10 PM

@Tanman
You prefer If I Stay, a supernatural chick flick, to a film noir? Tanman either you're starting off early today on the beers or you're damn crazy...go to your room. LOL Don't get me wrong, I believe young Moretz is going to be a fine actress when she grows out of the awkward teen look, but seriously the movie sounds like "Lovely Bones" without the child molester...so the PG-13 version basically. LOL

@everyone
Oh the f*ck gives a sh*t about box office numbers nowadays anyways?! Like seriously due to inflation since, I don't know, 2002 where ticket prices have almost doubled, none of these movies in the last four years have impressive numbers. Unfortunately, people aren't as interested going into the movie theater anymore. It doesn't have the wonder it used to have because they pop out a thousand useless films a year instead of a few good films. Granted, Sin City 2 looked good but, like mink said, it's not part of a f*cking brand and that has destroyed it. Why? Because as Tanman pointed out, people just want the safe films like "If I Stay" that is sure to get an emotional rise out of people using the cheap ploy of a young girl facing death. What a f*cking cliche!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 12:53:16 PM

@Evil_Disco
You think Eva Green and Josh Brolin are horrible actors? You can go sit in the corner with Tanman and think about what you did! LOL
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 1:05:11 PM

Josh Brolin has been in sh*tty movies but he doesn't suck like Colin failure
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 1:09:28 PM

As long as is R rated unlike the Expendables.i heard that Jessica albas story is useless though.
vincere01 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 1:16:50 PM

Well that almost year delay in release makes semse now. Like i thought and said a year ago this movie was gonna bomb hard.

Through all the reviews i have read this movie is a broken mess. The cutting between stories is awkward, some plot points are either confusing or completely unnecessary.

The acting so far seems to be good, just the story and direction is broken and confusing. Maybe this will finally make hollywood stop giving money to that f*cking no talent hack waste of space and air RR.

Now queertin terriblino needs his comeuppance and all will be right again
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 1:35:24 PM

Also vincere, in the first Sin City, the 3 stories, The Big Fat Kill, The Hard Goodbye, and That Yellow Bastard were all taken directly from the graphic novels and they are all great stories and directly adapting them made it a good movie.

But THIS time around, A Dame To Kill For is the only major from the comics and has Eva Green and this is the only one that critics like in the film. 'Just Another Saturday Night' is a short story with Marv and is from the comics.

The other 2, Nancy's Last Dance and The Long Bad Night were created for the film only to bring Alba back and others which I think is a mistake. Frank Miller lost his touch a long time ago and is no longer a good writer and reviews point out that these 2 stories are the weakest.

Another issue is probably the running time. It's listed as 102 minutes but you have to subtract at least 5 for end credits which leaves 97 minutes. If 4 stories get equal time it's only about 24 minutes for each one. So no wonder it seems rushed and sloppy.

The first Sin City otoh is 2 hours with 3 stories that are 40 mins each. That's why it had more time to breathe and is a better film.

I think the best way to handle Sin City in the future is to adapt the remaining stories as a series on HBO or something. This sequel will definitely bomb.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 1:36:37 PM

only major one*
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 1:59:56 PM

Oh well I guess I'll watch sin city again,machete,fdtd,planet terror.no spy kids of mash*tty kills
Cannon writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 3:03:21 PM


Much of the budgeting had to come out of Rodriguez' own pocket via Troublemaker Studios. That's one reason for the film's delay, with the director cranking out Spy Kids sequels in between his passion projects like this and the Grindhouse stuff — it's an issue of self-financing.

I saw it yesterday. The movie on its own terms ...it's mostly just more of the same. If you enjoy the first one, there's no reason why you won't enjoy this, even if you rank it slightly less; such is still a far cry from the lambasting it has received from critics, calling it a total failure.

I thought it was entertaining. It's always the same:

1. When a movie I like opens big and makes lots of money at the box office, great.

2. When a movie I don't like, or have no interest in seeing, opens big and makes lots of money at the box office, I don't give a sh*t.

3. When a movie I like ends up a box office bomb, I don't give a sh*t.*

It's that simple.



* Some exceptions might include a film like Dredd, which should've continued with at least one or two sequels.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 3:43:03 PM

@Cannon

Yeah, i'll go see it tomorrow, but one thing I noticed from the clips is Mickey Rourke's Marv makeup looks half-assed this time around and looked much better and truer to the comic in the first movie.

Also I read an article the other day where RR said it took 3 hours to apply the makeup in the first and about an hour for the sequel. That tells me they cut corners.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 4:08:05 PM

Sleuth-

Ah sue me lol Id rather see the sexiness that is Chloe Moretz over this black white comic book crap anyway. :P
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 4:17:42 PM

@Tanman
LOL I would sue you. That's how offended I was by your statements. It's caused irreversible psychological harm.
cress writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 4:47:09 PM

@Cannon. I'm a huge Eva Green fan, so much so that I justwhacked it typing this ssentence. How are her scenes? I hear she's the best part of this film....
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 6:03:28 PM

That and your uncle touching you as a child! :)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 6:37:25 PM

@Tanman
Hey now, don't project your f*cked up childhood on me you sick perv! LOL
Cannon writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 6:59:21 PM


@Cress: "I'm a huge Eva Green fan, so much so that I justwhacked it typing this sentence."

Then do not -- I repeat DO. NOT. -- go see this movie in theaters because, brother, let me tell ya ...you'll likely get your ass thrown out for lewd conduct.

I'm talking, jerking-off uncontrollably like a lab monkey that was injected with some kind of governmental synthetic super-aphrodisiac.

Green doesn't just get naked; she practically beams naked—tits and ass all lit-up aglow. It's really quite a site to behold. sh*t, even Juno Temple shows the goods. Alba, however, is her typical prude self.



DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 8:08:38 PM

WOW! Praying does actually work.
Raider writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 8:30:43 PM

It was a good movie though.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 9:21:18 PM

Apparently not good enough.

I think this one did worse numbers than The Spirit. We'll see Monday.

(projected for SC2 is under 7 mil for the weekend. the Spirit did 6.4 million opening weekend.)
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 9:58:24 PM

TANMAN must have one of his lil milf bitches hangin around

No straight man with a naturally attached weiner would ever vote for If I Stay over Sin City 1
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 10:13:22 PM

E V E R
cress writes:
on August 23rd, 2014 at 11:18:30 PM

@Cannon. I just jerked it reading what you wrote.
DriveMemento writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 12:17:59 AM

This movie was extremely disappointing and a sequel that shouldn't have been made. I feel like rodriguez has been loosing his touch. Was worth the hatefull eight trailer though
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:45:09 AM

Just because you put spaces between your capital "Ever" doesn't make it true porn!

Like Macgruber says...

"Never ever, say Never ever"
Curbcooler writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 6:23:10 AM

RR is a idiot! He had one of the few well reviewed and received hits of his career the last 11 years and then he foolishly waited nearly a decade to do the follow up?! No wonder it flopped.

It felt rushed anyway, weak story lines and simple character scenarios compared to the first film.
DriveMemento writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 6:30:49 AM

@ DeaftOne

that makes perfect sense now... The stories were really weak in Sin City 2.
ProfMovies writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 10:51:49 AM

I KNEW this would flop! It just had "flop" written all over it. At least the studio is NOT trying to blame it on some lame "piracy" angle like Lions Gate did with "Expendables 3"!

(Honestly, did it ever occur to the Lions Gate geeks that really NO ONE WANTED TO SEE THEIR PUTRID EXPENDALES 3?)

Now, we have Sin City's long overdue, and totally unnecesssary sequel! Rodriquez spends too much time with his pals who think he walks on water instead of listening to solid advice from actual moviegoers.

Oh, but maybe next he'll make another stupid comic book superhero movie? Like we need any more of those? Hollywood has run out of new ideas, or, they aren't listening to people who have new ideas!
jikae writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 11:54:50 AM

"Strike while the iron is hot" doesn't even begin to describe the failure of this film. I saw it, it was enjoyable, but unfortunately, it just took too damn long for them to bring it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:28:47 PM

Y'all print this article like it's news. That's the true sin.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:29:28 PM

Frank Miller: Angry Grandpa with a lemon stuck up his ass that doesn't give a f*ck anymore.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:30:14 PM

Seriously .... they have a strip club with strippers that leave their clothes on ....
how f*cking monotonous is that ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:31:06 PM

Funny thing is, the Marv prosthetics make Mickey Rourke look more like Mickey Rourke than Mickey's actual face.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:31:38 PM

You know they were slumming ... Ray Liotta is in this.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 24th, 2014 at 2:32:33 PM

I wouldn't pay matinee fare to see a shakey-cam, bad sound CAM torrent of this piece o' sh*t.

Man, Stallone got off lucky when this piece of floating turd dropped.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved