WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Posted: August 17th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On TopSubmit Comment
Despite several new wide releases, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" remained in first place at the domestic box office for another weekend. The reboot brought in another $28.4 million, bringing its worldwide total to $185 million in under two weeks.

Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy" took second place with another $24.7 million. The movie has now grossed $418 million globally, easily earning back its $170 million budget.

The first new wide release to make it into the top ten list was the "Let's Be Cops" R-rated comedy. It landed in third place with $17.7 million, which is already more than its $17 million budget. But due to a massive marketing campaign, it will be a while before the film is profitable. It has a 10% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Sylvester Stallone's "The Expendables" took fourth place with a disappointing $16.2 million, which is the worst opening in the franchise. The first "Expendables" debuted to $34.8 million in 2010. The sequel followed in 2012 with $28.6 million. And "The Expendables 3" was the only non R-rated installments.

The low numbers of "The Expendables 3," which has a 35% fresh rating, may have to do with the fact that a pristine copy of the film leaked online almost an entire month before the movie hit theaters. It was downloaded 200,000 times in just the first 24 hours.

While its not clear how much "The Expendables 3" cost, the last two installments averaged about $90 million per movie. The hope is that the film will still become profitable, since the franchise performs much better overseas. The second movie earned three times more internationally than it did domestically.

The last wide release of the weekend was "The Giver," starring Jeff Bridges and Meryl Streep. It cost $25 million to make and earned $12.8 million. The movie, which has a 30% fresh rating, should have no problem becoming profitable.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Chandrasekhar writes:
on August 17th, 2014 at 10:59:46 PM

Pretty sure at this point it's time for Stallone to retire from acting.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on August 17th, 2014 at 11:19:43 PM

Rambo needs to come back to the US. Do some kind of urban type of movie instead of Southeast Asia. I know they were trying to go the Vietnam route with John Rambo, but it didn't really work. Bring him back to the US and do a Walking Tall type of movie. Maybe he goes home to see his daughter in some small town, only to discover it's been taken over by thugs/drug runners/corrupt cops. And choose a decent writer and director this town. I could also see a Predator type film.

Anyone seen Turtles? Well, what do you think? Any good? Stupid? Just another loud Bay movie?
boogiel writes:
on August 17th, 2014 at 11:24:32 PM

I bet they gonna blame it on piracy.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on August 17th, 2014 at 11:27:52 PM

And Dennehy is still kicking around, miraculously, so maybe a cameo from him. Maybe Rambo runs into him and they have a moment where they forgive each other.

Anything other than another Vietnam movie.
Dark17 writes:
on August 17th, 2014 at 11:49:46 PM

how many accounts do you have chan/mnk?
Chandrasekhar writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 12:05:11 AM

Words of Wisdom writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 12:05:41 AM

The only existential truth is awareness.
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 12:57:28 AM

No more movies on the big screen for lundgren and couture.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 1:36:56 AM

Lol I still bet it gets 100M plus
vincere01 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 1:37:23 AM

http://m.ign.com/articles/2014/08/17/ving-rhames-returning-for-mission-impossible-5
Evil_Disco writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 2:05:45 AM

The Expendables 3 was not great. It's a movie worth watching while you're hungover. Nothing more. And the fact that it was not R-rated.. It's like watching a hardcore porno but they've cut out all of the hardcore porno scenes. Good luck making money on that.
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 2:08:06 AM

Ving Rhames makes sh*tty z movies lately
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 2:54:35 AM

MINK
i'll see you, your toooooona saaaandwich

and raise you my grilled on a cast iron stove-top grill tri-tip
Basted with garlic herb butter, topped with Gorgonzola cheese
With grilled onions, green onions
Along side
olive oil garlic salt and thyme seasoned grilled creamer potatoes
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:06:31 AM

..makes me feel so BADASS

ya F U C K E R !

http://youtu.be/NvbOKzdAJpo

Tanman32123 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:25:03 AM

OH YEAH PORN!

Well I'll see your
"and raise you my grilled on a cast iron stove-top grill tri-tip
Basted with garlic herb butter, topped with Gorgonzola cheese With grilled onions, green onions
Along side olive oil garlic salt and thyme seasoned grilled creamer potatoes"

And raise you potatoes and Chicken with sour cream spread all over! ;P
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:33:51 AM

@Porn: sure buddy. And where's you omega three fatty acids, huh? Huh?
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:38:14 AM

I eat tuna fish salad almost every day. Low cholesterol, no red meat, no bullsh*t. Fills me up. Occasionally I munch a pizza, but rarely. Used to eat hamburgers and steak but I read it's really bad for you. I also take two O3 tablets a day. I've also lost a little weight.
Cannon writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:40:58 AM


The Dispensables

Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:45:38 AM

were are your.


Go Team Mink.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:45:54 AM

where.
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:53:22 AM

I'm eating tuna fish salad right now. Yum. Tuna fish salad.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 3:53:38 AM

Damn it's cold at 4am.. Better close up my igloo for the night!
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 4:12:50 AM

Snuggle up next to your moose, grab a glass of Maple syrup and watch some hockey you goofy Canadian.

Eh?
Bandolero998 writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 5:17:27 AM

I eat tuna fish salad almost every day. Low cholesterol, no red meat, no bullsh*t. Fills me up. Occasionally I munch a pizza, but rarely. Used to eat hamburgers and steak but I read it's really bad for you. I also take two O3 tablets a day. I've also lost a little weight.

And some black c*ck j*zz for protein

Ain't no one here gives a f*ck about what you eat.burgers and pizza are good for you.your body is just too weak too take it and you gain weight like seagal.also your metabolism is f*cked cause you're in your late 30s.rogain will soon be calling you

And hows that lovely upcoming c*nt daughter of yours?cant wait to stretch her hole with some Mandingo c*ck and put her on backpage woot woot!!
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 5:24:10 AM

munch munch munch
Minkοwski writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 5:27:30 AM

munch munch munch

Chandrasekhar writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 5:36:04 AM

munch munch munch
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 5:39:37 AM

Seen it. Pirate copy of it. It was alright.
More aimed at the foreign market now.
Stapes writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 1:35:12 PM

Pg 13 Expendables movie. Way to go you bunch of jackasses.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 18th, 2014 at 8:17:25 PM

Wow ... Expendables 3 bombed at the movie theater ??? I'M f*ckING SHOCKED ... APALLED ... FLABBERGASTED ... CAUGHT BY MOTHERf*ckING SURPRISE .... ASTOUNDED ... AMAZED .... STUNNED .... THAT THIS PIECE OF sh*t WOULD EVEN HAVE BEEN RELEASED TO THEATERS AFTER BEING LEAKED OUT FOR TWO WEEKS .....



WAY TO TAKE THE WOLVERINE: ORIGINS ROUTE, STALLONE.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved