WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

Posted: August 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Anthony Mackie Says HeSubmit Comment
Now that Marvel is several years into its film strategy, some of the actors will soon be renegotiating their contracts and they'll be expecting a lot of money, similar to the deals Robert Downey Jr has been signing.

Now, at Fandomfest, Anthony Mackie was asked to comment on whether he would be interested in becoming Captain America like his character Sam Wilson (The Falcon) did in the comics.

"I think if it goes that way in the movies that it would take a long time, because there's so many evolutions before that," he said. "I'm excited to see Sebastian [Stan] play Cap. I think Sebastian's a great actor. But I love seeing Chris Evans as Cap, so I feel like they can go any way they want. I'm enjoying my part beside Cap. I'm in no rush to be Cap."

But just in case Marvel decided that Mackie should be Captain America, the actor said that he's ready. "First up for duty," he stated.

"Captain America 3" is set to hit theaters on May 6th, 2016. Evans will return to play the title role.

Source: ComicBook


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:44:41 AM

Yaaaaaay another undeserving minority taking away from some white person that which they rightfully earned. Go affirmative action and political correctness!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:14:23 AM

Cinemaisdead Says He's Ready to Stop Giving A sh*t
jafinbham writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:51:14 AM

A black Spider-Man. A black Captain America. A female Thor.

Way to Disney up Marvel, Disney. This all feels very Disney. I can see them producing survey studies and research panels that tell them they can probably sell more Capt. toy shields if they turn him black. Wrong. They can get little girls to start buying comics if they turn Thor into a female. Wrong again.

And so it begins. Disney begins to tighten it's death grip on Marvel in order to milk every last drop of profit from it until there is nothing left but a dried husk of a company that used to write and publish comics.
baygog writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 8:06:37 AM

Minkowski,

Just when I thought you grew up! Youre gonna make a statement as such. Again, please take time to listen, read, form and articulate a post that means something - not everything that passes from you can be BILE.

If people were to speak about you or your family in that way - your you be offended? yes you would!!!! I gurantee it.

Come on dude - you can de better than this.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 9:07:55 AM

I still want a white Blade.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 9:10:19 AM

I want a white everything.
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 9:20:00 AM

makie you did all captain does slowly, so shut up your f*cking mouth slowy!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 11:17:47 AM

All of this just reflects what has been happening in the comics for decades. Even when I was a kid there was a black Iron Man and black Green Lantern. Why all the anger now??? Where have you guys been???
FBO writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 11:30:59 AM

I really like Mackie's movie, I think he's a good actor and with Chris Evans talking about retiring, well then, why not Mackie? Although it seems like Marvel is planning on writing in the Winter Soldier as Captain's replacement. Seeing as neither one could best the other in the last movie.
boogiel writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 12:15:47 PM

First, they make Thor a woman, then captain America a negro. What next? Iron Homo?
FBO writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 1:22:15 PM

That's ridiculous boogiel! If any Avenger is a homo it's Hawkeye. Or Black Widow... oh Marvel, please let it be Black Widow!
Curbcooler writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 1:40:27 PM

MINK: how is anthony mackie taking away anything from any white person who earned nothing?! Your comment doesn't make any sense at all. Your just another race-baiting right-wing idiot!
Curbcooler writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 1:41:16 PM

It's so hard in Hollywood to be a white man aint it?(sarc)
UltimateActorTenor writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 1:50:10 PM

I'm not a huge fan of Thor becoming a woman, or Captain America being black, but there's not really anything I can do about it. So whatever. It's just marketing, and Marvel has always been about that. Look at their Spider-man track record, where they killed Peter Parker with Doc Ock and then Peter magically comes back.

I wouldn't be surprised if we soon see a classic character turn gay, just because that would draw an audience.
TheSwipe95 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 2:48:03 PM

Personally, if it went a certain way in the comics, ok. If Falcon took over as Cap in the comics, then he can in the movies. BUT, I do think it would be better route to go with the Winter Soldier taking over for him.
Think Mcfly Think writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 3:12:53 PM

Yeah I'm ready to take over as Cap too, piss off with this.
TrentReznik writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 3:31:42 PM

This guy really doesn't have much presence on screen. Plus he really annoyed me when he said he was bench pressing 385lbs on pain and gain, tut tut.
Dark17 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:37:03 PM

wtf a a n*gger captain america ???? seriously hollywood wtf are you idiots smoking. what is this sh*t captain america more like captain africa or captain n*gger or captain sh*t. thanks for flushing not only this series but the whole marvel franchise down the sh*t toilet.
Doucheception writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 9:00:30 PM

Isn't it more important to note that he said that Sebastian Stan will take over at one point?

You completely missed that point Alex. Now you'll probably try to make another article with the same quote to try to get some traffic. Shame on you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved