WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Breaks Box Office Records With $94 Million

Posted: August 4th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Breaks Box Office Records With $94 MillionSubmit Comment
As predicted, Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy" had a fantastic debut, earning $94 million at the domestic box office, which is the biggest August opening of all time. The previous record-holder was "The Bourne Ultimatum" ($69.3 million).

"Guardians of the Galaxy" opened on part with "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" ($95 million) and much higher than "Thor: The Dark World" ($85.7 million). That's an incredible accomplishment, considering that "Guardians" was most unknown to moviegoers and has few connections to "Avengers."

"Guardians" has the second biggest opening of 2014, behind "Transformers: Age of Extinction" ($100 million). The film was able to beat such movies as "Godzilla" ($93.2 million), "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" ($91.6 million) and "X-Men: Days of Future Past" ($90.8 million).

"Guardians" cost $170 million to make and grossed an additional $66 million overseas for a worldwide debut of $160 million. It also has a 93% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other new wide release of the weekend was the James Brown biopic "Get On Up," which landed in third place with a $14 million opening. The $30 million film is on its way to becoming profitable and has a 77% fresh rating.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:43:23 AM

Yaaaaaaaay! More comic book movies are coming!
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:46:09 AM

I knew this would be huge. about a year ago I said Marvel is pointing at the fence before their up to bat with this film.
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:46:56 AM

I believe I even said that you Mink.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:51:36 AM

Pfffft, what are you talking about? I was pretty much the only person on here defending this film when everyone else said looked impossibly stupid and would bomb like Green Lantern.

Are you trolling me, boy?
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:53:59 AM

not at all. seriously about a year ago I said that this film was going to be this generations star wars. you said possibly but too soon to tell. Do your history searching sorcery and find our comments. not trolling.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:56:54 AM

This sh*t made a lot of money, yeah, but it's a far f*cking cry from being this generation's Star Wars.

If anything, Avatar is this generation's Star Wars and not this amalgamated derivative bullsh*t that'll be forgotten in a few months.

There's one Star Wars and there will never be another.
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:06:43 AM

Derivative? really? and Avaturd wasn't?
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:09:23 AM

Like I give a sh*t about Avatar. But it made more money than three GotG movies ever will and by the time Jimmy's done, the franchise will have made ten billion, if not more.






I swear, is that you, Deaftone, Rambo, whoever whatever, stirring up sh*t for the sake of stirring up sh*t?

If so, get a f*cking life already.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:10:05 AM

As I finish each day and turn in for the night.
I dream sweet dreams of pleasure and fright.
I dream of a time when the wrongs turn to right.
And the movies aren't plagued by men wearing tights.

Where a film can address and explore and depress,
With the wonders of science or the global unrest,
Where an audience member can be stimulated,
By something that's real, not computer generated.

And the studios will see other colours than green,
Like black and white and the spectrum between.
Where adults can think and set their minds free,
Instead of marvelling at Marvel and depressing DC.
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:12:11 AM

when Avatar came out, most of what was talked about was the cgi. or the very similar story lines to other popular films like "Pocahontas" "Fern Gully" "Dances with wolves" "Last Samurai" People didnt talk bout memorable characters or funny scenes or dialog. This movie has much more heart and soul and fun than Avatar could dream of.
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:15:12 AM

If you dont give a sh*t about Avatar why bring it up? Transformers made tons of money but its sh*t. At least a good movie made money this time. and a risky move too. thats why I said this in the beginning. jeez stop, not Rambo or anyone else. Just thought youd remember how we were the only ones on board with this film. sorry to bother you mink.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:16:05 AM

Because Avatar is more this generation's Star Wars, stupid troll, and not Garbage of the Galaxy.
Taco writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:19:39 AM

Okay now your trolling
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:19:42 AM

@Cinemaisdead: where did you get that little ditty? Is it based on a song or poem?

Pretty brilliant, actually.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:24:18 AM

Just wrote it myself mate, bored at work thought I'd do something a little different instead of a usual rant comment haha.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:28:50 AM

^^Pretty damned good!


As for "the generation's Star Wars"....people have been saying that for years and years, just like people have been saying so and so is this generation's Einstein, or this generation's Beatles. Or this generation's Reagan.

It's just ridiculous.

f*ck, Nolan's Batman trilogy will be this generation's Star Wars long before GotG gets that title. Or the new Star Wars will be this generation's Star Wars. But not GotG.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:33:29 AM

@Taco; if you're not some joker f*cking around on one of your many accounts, then I apologize, but if you are, go f*ck yourself.

That's all I have to say.

And Cinema...great post again. f*cking hilariously astute and creative. What did you say you do for a living, again?
jafinbham writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:39:34 AM

Today I learned

That Avatar is more this generation's Star Wars than Guardians of the Galaxy is.

And Cinemaisdead is this generation's Bob Dylan.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:42:42 AM

Well woopty doo basil
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:45:59 AM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:46:35 AM

Ha thanks I do like to keep the creative juices flowing.

I do video marketing, adverts and testimonial videos for a company that sells online learning tools for schools. Nothing too exciting but can't complain getting to travel edit and film all day. I do make a bit of music in my spare time though and writing lyrics is something I've always enjoyed.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:59:19 AM

Every day my words I try to post
On a website that sucks the most
With an admin that chugs the d*ck
And a server that runs like sh*t;

Every day the articles are the same:
Comic books movies with no name
Posted comments of no distinction
Intellect headed for extinction;

Every day my hurt brain does rail
Against Alex's constant utter fail
Yet my account inexplicably returns
For it is the trolls I love to burn;


(never done that before and a rushed job although I did write some lame poetry as a teenager so a d*ck up the ass of the haters)
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:01:05 AM

@Cinema; That's cool, bud, and damned good to see you again. You're one of the few who always adds something creative to the mix here. I still recall our day of PSing Sharknado posters. That was awesome.

Anyway.
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:01:42 AM

third best opening. You even gave the amount of the two that beat it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:03:39 AM

Haha I like it mate. Has Alex just completely giving up policing the site now? He used to delete pictures and remove unrelated comments. Now it's like the wild wild west.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:04:52 AM

@Cinema: he's totally given up as far as any of us can see. We basically do what the f*ck we want.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:16:27 AM

^ Well it's probably for the best, he only used to delete the good stuff and let the trolls live on anyway.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:18:12 AM

The thing people don't realize: Alex is the master troll of WP. And he's damned good at it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:24:52 AM

The greatest trick the Devil (Alex) ever pulled was convincing the world he wasn't a troll.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:27:02 AM

^^lol. True.
Satlan writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:34:00 AM

so....... when will my comic collection rise in value? 7 000 in near mint condition from '85-'94.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:43:30 AM

Reason #74,584,574 to hate Dustin Putman



Christy Mack needs to offer a blow job to whoever kills Dustin...
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:43:49 AM

SondrMan writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 8:33:22 AM

Yeeeeah! They deserved it.. check out my review: http://youtu.be/pznY3CWXRtk
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 9:16:49 AM

let the troll wars beging, this sh*t is suclking hardcore balls, f*ck this crap guardians of the gaylaxie! sh*t crap what a crap hole!
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 9:35:25 AM

I forgot to mention that Alex did remove the jewish stuff a few days back
SACdaddy writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 11:09:52 AM

Had high hopes for this film so it's nice to see it exceeded expectations. But I have to say I wasn't really all that impressed with what I saw. It had way more of a childish vibe than I expected, way more than any other marvel film to date. Felt more like a 15 year old from the early 80s directed this. Don't get me wrong this was still entertaining for the most part, it just got old after a while. I hope the sequel pushes a little harder to match the film's outstanding visual concepts with an equally creative story.
hellsing writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 12:22:40 PM

guardians is worth watching it's earned every penny
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 12:25:03 PM

@mink
f*ck you man! I was supporting this film and Marvel since day one. I knew it was going to be good and to me it was. It was a solid space film with, granted, some silly comedy here and there, but it overall was an awesome film and the surprising appearance at the post-credits was hilarious.

@everyone
I recommend seeing it. It was one of the more surprising, spontaneously fun films I've seen in awhile. And it's starting to paint a clearer view of where everything is going in the MCU. I can pretty much say, without a doubt, that the GOTG will unite with the Avengers in "Avengers 3". It all adds up. They get wind of the infinity stone and Thanos which of course Drax has a bone to pick with. If so...Avengers 3 is going to be a Michael Bay movie...but you know with better storytelling and characters.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 1:55:06 PM

@Sleuth

Yeah I saw GoTG yesterday and imo it's a nearly perfect film and now my favorite Marvel movie after Iron Man.

The action, humor, story, casting, editing, and effects were all excellent. It did remind me a lot of Star Wars but not in a bad ripoff way but as an homage in many ways.

9 out of 10
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 2:16:49 PM

@Deaft0ne
LOL Yeah I think Pratt even said the character of Star Lord was a combination of Han Solo and Marty McFly. I loved it. It was one of the few stories that found time to be funny and touching. That cameo in the post-credits scene though. Everyone in the audience was going, "Oh my God." I still prefer Captain America but yeah these guys rose up on my list pretty fast. I can't wait to see where they take the characters and I hope James Gunn remains as director for awhile. I feel these comic book movies are the niche for indie/fringe directors like Gunn and Whedon you know? They can use their unique sense of humor with action and story with the specific dynamic of heroes. Anyway yeah this will be in my Blu-ray set when it comes out.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 3:09:52 PM

just watched it and was an entertaining fun yarn nothing to run up the flagpole and worship like some would suggest but for what it was it was done well. Anyone seen calvary yet I thought that to be quite an intriguing film. now time to watch duck you sucker again morricone and leone cant get much better in my opinon
Words of Wisdom writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 3:25:46 PM

Non-judgment quiets subjective observations.
elrei writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 3:50:17 PM

Because you all CAN'T have enough comic book movies news:

http://geektyrant.com/news/katee-sackhoff-teases-superhero-she-will-play

Spider Woman or Captain Marvel?

Raise your hand if you really don't care

O/

SACdaddy writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 4:27:41 PM

She'd make a good Ms. Marvel.
BillyBunter writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 4:49:11 PM

Thanks for the reviews guys, after I get over this summer manflu I plan to see or one night this week. I glad it's getting some good reviews. In other news I am watching kickass 2 which is a little slow on pace but fairly enjoyable.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:10:38 PM

I'm bored :(
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:13:23 PM

@BillyBunter
Hope you feel better man but yeah you'll enjoy it. And Kick-Ass 2 was very undervalued. The problem was the pacing and some of the motivations of the character. Chloe Moretz surprised me with her acting in that one although most of it was reflecting her work in "Carrie". Still nice character development on her part.
cress writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:46:28 PM

Just watched SPIDERMAN 2...dvd rip on Youtube, no less. Here's my review. ..

5/10 or 2 1/2 stars. I hated the first film, and i can't recommend this one, but it's a step up and parts of the script I thought were good.

The first 30 minutes were bad. Cheesy dialogue and situations. I hate Peter Parker's smart-ass attitude to death-defying situations. I felt like I was watching SUPERMAN 3 at the beginning. Everything is a joke to this superhero, so how can the audience ever feel that real danger is in store for him? Stupid jokes got old quickly.

Marc Webb. He still has zero visual flair for action scenes (I'm talking about the stuff not created in an ILM computer bank), but he excels at the interpersonal parts of the film. The scenes with him an Gwen, Harry Osborn, his aunt..those were well done. He just can't direct an action scene. The ILM artists gave the most engaging action sequences their spark, not him.

Jamie Foxx's character was a cliched retread of Carrey's scientist from BATMAN FOREVER. Corny, dumb, stupid. But I did like his transformation into a bad guy, even though that didn't make sense. Kinda like Nicholson falling into that vat in 89's BATMAN.

This film works when it's serious. I actually thought the Osborn storyline, with his father was good. Chris Cooper is very good in a small role. I think I might have enjoyed the Osborn storyline more in this film than the Raimi versiin.BLADSHEMY--i know.

Still, this franchise reboot is a huge failure in my book, because we're two films into it, and we've been given crappy films.









cress writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:48:20 PM

^numerous grammitical errors
cress writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 5:54:34 PM

grammatical. ....oh, the irony...dumbass
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:33:14 PM

Happens to the best of us cress
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 6:34:05 PM

Yep.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:04:12 PM

It was a lot fun. The way going to the movies used to be. Certainly won't be forgotten any time soon. Maybe not quite this hen's Star Wars but a hell of a lot more fun and entertaining than any of those sh*tty prequels and at the very least this hen's Ghostbusters.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:05:19 PM

Hen=gen. f*cking auto correct.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:07:17 PM

@cress

I thought it absolutely preposterous how quick Kid Osborne injected himself with the serum, transformed, and then suited up as GG immediately! All in under 5 minutes!

That kind of sh*t only happens in cartoons, which is what I decided I must be watching amongst similar silly sh*t throughout the film.

2 out of 10
Dark17 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:30:10 PM

wtf a a n*gger captain america ???? seriously hollywood wtf are you idiots smoking. what is this sh*t captain america more like captain africa or captain n*gger or captain sh*t. thanks for flushing not only this series but the whole marvel franchise down the sh*t toilet.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 7:33:52 PM

@cress
Yeah ASM2 was terribly written with poor development on all the character relationships. The worse one was where Spider-Man goes to Harry's place to tell him he can't help him. That makes no sense to me why he would do that, just to anger Harry. The Gwen/Peter relationship was so irrational that by the time we get to her death, it's just a mush of mixed feelings. They break up, they don't, they lack common sense. Why was Gwen always with Spider-Man in front of tons of people?!
The Keyboard Warrior writes:
on August 4th, 2014 at 8:08:13 PM

f*ck all this guardians of the galaxy noise, bitches, I want to hear something good, not you losers slapping your gums about nothing!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved