WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film

Posted: July 25th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third FilmSubmit Comment
Director Matt Reeves recently said that even though the "Planet of the Apes" franchise will have to return to the 1968 film, there are plenty of stories to tell before getting there. But according to "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" writer Mark Bomback just revealed that the original film is definitely on everyone's minds.

"The challenge that we're up against and I think we'll be even more aware of it in the next film is how we circle back to the original franchise's fundamental premise that apes have taken over the earth and humans are their prey," he said. "How do you get back to the 1968 universe that started it all?"

Bomback continued: "Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver, who wrote 'Rise of the Planet of the Apes,' did something really brilliant where they launch the Icarus [the spaceship in the original 1968 film]. I remember when I read the draft I said, 'What a great idea.' At least the seeds have been planted in our universe to get back to there."

The third film is set to hit theaters on July 29th, 2016.

Source: CreativeScreenwriting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 5:52:43 AM

This series has no f*cking conflict. They should have dragged the rise of the apes out over three films instead of blowing their wad with the first one. We get it, it's planet of the apes, not planet of the humans. They rule, we don't. So where's the real conflict? Are humans taking the planet back? No.

And unlike the original films, which were nearly satirical B-movie fare, the new movies are dark and overly serious, which undercuts their appeal more then the originals, which knew they were little more than morality tales with bad art direction.
jafinbham writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:03:36 AM

@mink

Holy sh*t man. You just pointed something out I hadn't noticed before. They Chris Nolan'd Planet of the Apes.

Don't forget to drink your Ovaltine. Son of a bitch.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:06:05 AM

I prefer son of a whore, but thanks anyway.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:06:55 AM

jafinbham writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:20:18 AM

It's as if Chris Nolan is the Agent Smith of Hollywood. Infecting everything by copying his dark, moody bullsh*t into every film being produced. Shooting only 3 or 4 scenes in IMAX is obviously some sort of ploy to get everyone in an IMAX theater. But for what?

What's this British f*cker's master plan? Oh no. It' probably involves calling soccer football or feeding us fish'n'chips. Or those stupid white wigs their judges wear.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:28:59 AM

lol


Nah, Hollywood's a teeming nest of unoriginal f*ck saws, so they witnesses TDK blow peoples' little minds and said "we need lots more of that sh*t right the f*ck now!". Clone and copy. They want money. They WORSHIP money. So they make more of what people are showing down their gullets.

Like McDonalds. You don't go in to McD to see new sh*t on the menu. It's the same old fecal cuisine every day. A Big Mac. A McDouble. Those little nuggets that are baked from pink slime like Mexican Christmas cookies. The same old garbage people eat because the people prefer eating the same old garbage.

And like McDonald's, Hollywood offers up something new when a) the farm animals get tired of swallowing the same f*cking slop, or b) Farmer Joe next door dumps something different into the trough to make the farm animals go crazy with mindless infatuation.
jafinbham writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:30:08 AM

That British bastard is trying to Inception me, but it's not going to work! I know damn good and well Matthew McConaughey would never go into space. You can't take your shirt off up there. I don't give a damn how much AIDS you give him.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:30:23 AM

*shoveling *witnessed
jafinbham writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:39:20 AM

That means when a film like Triangle comes along, it's the McRib of Hollywood.

More McRibs Hollywood! Because lord knows when I think Bar-B-Que, I think Mickey D's!
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:42:25 AM

When I think of BBQ, I think of Paul Walker.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 6:43:44 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JEemPBebP4
xtlhogciao writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 7:14:21 AM

So, am I supposed to be reading this as Bombavl contradicting Reeves' statement? Because what I see is

Reeves: We'll get to the '68 version, but there's a little more to tell before we get there.
"But.."
Bomback: We have to make the next story have stuff in it that will link it to the '68 version.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 25th, 2014 at 8:51:52 AM

@Jafin

"Cant take your shirt off in space"
Lol.. Good one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved