WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs

Posted: July 21st, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" BombsSubmit Comment
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" remained at the top spot at the domestic box office by adding another $36 million to its $240 million worldwide total and beating three new wide releases, which all underperformed.

The first new wide release was "The Purge: Anarchy," which cost only $9 million to make and grossed $28.4 million. While that's a great performance, it's still less than the $34.1 million that the first film earned in June of 2013. "The Purge: Anarchy" landed in second place and has a 54% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Taking third place is Disney's "Planes: Fire and Rescue," which earned $18 million, compared to $22 million that "Planes" opened to in August of 2013. It cost $50 million to make, which means that it should have no problem becoming profitable, especially with foreign box office. The sequel has a 44% fresh rating.

The last new wide release is the "Sex Tape" comedy, starring Cameron Diaz and Jason Segel, which cost $40 million, but opened to $15 million, which is far less than expected.

"We made a sweet, funny romantic comedy with stars that we love, but the title is a little confusing to some folks," said Sony. The comedy has a lousy 20% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "Transformers: Age of Extinction" grossed another $10 million for a new worldwide total of $886 million, by far the best performance of the year. The film is now on track to break the $1 billion mark.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Papillon writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 6:55:54 AM

"Sex Tape" Bombs".


Good! The trailer put me off so I'm not wasting 10 on this boring sh*t.

The last time Diaz was relevant was in "There's Something About Mary".
Dirt writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 7:47:29 AM

The last time she was hot was The Mask.
jafinbham writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 7:51:03 AM

I'll have to agree to that. I couldn't get through the trailer of Sex Tape. Sets me off on a rant about why the studios are just hell bent on burning money these days. Who the hell at Sony has the pull to say "lets take 40 million out to the parking lot just to watch it burn."

Maybe it's a tax write off but I still don't get just burning piles of cash so Cameron Diaz can avoid porn for another year.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 8:15:02 AM

Dawn of the Planet of the Sex Tapes bombs, Cameron Diaz still set to return for 3rd film.
boogiel writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 8:19:27 AM

It's nice to see the Hollywood sewer-pipe get rejected once a while. Heck, not even a naked Diaz could 'stimulate' the box office returns of her film!
Papillon writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 8:42:15 AM

Not to mention the god awful "The Other Woman"! That was really terrible.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 8:56:20 AM

When Diaz was hot I may have given this a shot.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:34:30 AM

"We made a sweet, funny romantic comedy with stars that we love, but the title is a little confusing to some folks," said Sony.

Have you idiots seen your own adverts?
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 11:04:29 AM

Lil Rachel from Batman Begins is all growed up



lawman writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 11:22:13 AM

*****JUST LEARNED THEY ARE MAKING "TRIPLETS". A SEQUEL TO "TWINS". ****

Is this old news? I f*cking threw up in my mouth. As Eddie Murphy is the third brother! WTF?!!!
Deckman writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 11:31:40 AM

I took a girlto go see "Sex Tape" it was okay. I didnt expect much, but I secretly knew it was gonna be terrible. As much as I love Jason Segal, I dont think he can lead a movie well enough by himself. Cameron Diaz is beyond dead to me and honestly, I wouldnt be surprised if this movie killed her career.
ProfMovies writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 11:40:45 AM

I 'knew' SEX TAPE would be a big, smelly turd. In the same way audiences rejected ZACK AND MIRI MAKE A PORNO, whether either film had intrinsic merit or not, titles like that are not going to go over in fly-over country.

I'm sure the Hollywood hot-shots, sitting in their ivory tower offices, were CERTAIN they had a winner in SEX TAPE; but they never seem to learn anything more vaulable than who is getting the best quality coke at the moment.

This summer has been shameful, and the studio executives are where the total blame should be placed!
Dark17 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 12:00:00 PM

http://m.ign.com/comments?url=http%3A%2F%2Fm.ign.com%2Farticles%2F2014%2F07%2F21%2Fthis-is-the-rumored-plot-for-star-wars-episode-7&id=53cc590a7add260efed649b3&type=ign-articles&title=This+is+the+Rumored+Plot+for+Star+Wars%3A+Episode+7+&layout=default#comment-1495543462a
Words of Wisdom writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 12:25:27 PM

Existence corresponds with pure choices.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 12:36:45 PM

Sex tape looks pretty dumb.

I can't believe nobody's made a planes joke yet.
Is everyone feeling okay? Haha
Dark17 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 12:52:04 PM

sounds like a ridicolous plot for star wars 7
id say I think we all agree this sh*t is going to be worst then the prequels
Papillon writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:01:32 PM

@Dark18 and counting...

How's your mum from dodgy Miami?
Papillon writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:07:44 PM

I just watched "The Strain" and 3the Leftovers".

Both are utter sh*t!

I seem to be the only one to love and appreciate "Ray Donovan".

Can't wait for House of Cards in 2015!
Papillon writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:08:47 PM

* The f*cking HBO's LEFTOVERS!

God curse on you Alex!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:11:28 PM

@jafinbham
Why do you think Sony is in such poor financial ruin? Besides Spider-Man they have no franchises to promote and they handle the material they do have poorly. The f*cked up part is Lionsgate is now doing well because it started buying DVD rights to old shows along with anythin else that could get. Course better for a studio to be a white for business as stay alive then go Sony's route and have a few films they f*ck up.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:12:40 PM

whore for business*

GET AN EDIT BUTTON PLEASE!!!
Dark17 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:28:27 PM

bullit is that you??? your other gay alter ego?
Papillon writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 5:51:29 PM

"bullit is that you???"

Yes, it is me.

"your other gay alter ego?"

That can only be your inbred f*cking JB wanker bro!

Still, is your f*cking mum walking straight after I paid her a courteous visit?
lawman writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 6:57:39 PM

^^^

Hahahahaha
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 7:03:37 PM

How the f*ck does a movie like Sex Tape cost 40 million???
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 7:34:57 PM

JJ Abrams unveils SW7 Starfighter

https://movies.yahoo.com/news/hot-trailer-j-j-abrams-unveils-star-wars-122254814.html
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 7:36:02 PM

RDJ tops list of highest paid actors for doing nothing

https://www.yahoo.com/movies/superhero-robert-downey-jr-tops-the-forbes-list-of-92451295192.html
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 7:37:32 PM

@papillion/Bullitt
Good to have you back man! I guessed it might have been you but I didn't want to make assumptions. Course how many people use Steve McQueen profile pics here. LOL
Dark17 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 8:23:23 PM

http://nypost.com/2014/07/17/marvels-new-captain-america-will-be-african-american/

what why must they do this abomination they are going to ruin this charachter with a niger and the whole franchise as well. whoevers idea this was should terminated immediatley
Dark17 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 8:39:16 PM

first a female thor now a n*gger steve rodgers way to f*ck sh*t up marvel
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:41:07 PM

HOLY f*ck... The ending to The movie Arlington Road is the single greatest and insane ending ive ever seen.

Everyone needs to watch that movie. Wow..
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:43:38 PM

"Everyone" saw it like fifteen years ago.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:44:27 PM

BTW, same guy who Arlington Road wrote...wait for it...Transformers 4.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:49:26 PM

Really lmao And really? Everyone's seen this! I was just reading an article called "The best movie you never saw: Arlington road". Going on about how it's not known to many people and has gone under the radar.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:51:16 PM

Pretty sure everyone here has seen Arlington Road, Tanny. Only the casual movie-viewers, the summer tentpole groupies, might have missed it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:57:21 PM

Sad that I hadn't seen it earlier. f*cking loved the film. Lol So.. Whats next! Maybe End of Days lol
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 9:58:39 PM

End of Days is godf*ckingawful.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:07:40 PM

Does anyone else here create comments for news that hasn't yet been posted? No? Well I already have comments for the Star Wars plot news, the news on Johnson's San Andreas, the news on John Fasano's passing, Mark Ruffalo musing on Hulk's next villain, and so forth and so on.

Really, it's sad when you can make your comments before the news is delivered. It's like Minority Report or something.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:08:22 PM

Damn.. The writer from Arlington road went on to write complete trash lol
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:09:06 PM

@mink
Yeah...never seen Arlington Road. I just have so many movies to watch it never crossed my radar. I'll get to it though.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:15:16 PM

Kruger has made plenty of trash

minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:22:19 PM

@Tanman: you should try this one out when you get a chance

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0071970/
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:29:59 PM

Looks good enough for a view minky ^
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 21st, 2014 at 10:40:53 PM

TArdytothepartyMAN
jafinbham writes:
on July 22nd, 2014 at 3:30:48 AM

@Sleuth
I don't think Sony is in financial ruin. They invented electronics pretty much. Huge mega corporation with many facets. But holy sh*t. Don't they have anyone running a major studio that should be able to say "40 million for a movie called Sex Tape starring Cameron Diaz? I don't know 15 people that would want to see this crap. Therefore this is bad business. It's like putting cash in a fireplace. The bean counters upstairs won't like this. Let's make a film that doesn't suck instead."

There was a book in 1997 called Hit & Run: How Jon Peters and Peter Guber Took Sony For A Ride In Hollywood. About what douchebags they were. If you've never seen that youtube clip of Kevin Smith talking about writing that Superman script it's really worth watching

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgYhLIThTvk

Just listening to him talk about these meetings at Warner Bros. is awesome. Meeting with Jon Peters listening to him say Superman has to fight a giant spider in the third act. And watching Man of Steel at the end when that machine grows squid arms all I could hear was Kevin Smith talking about Jon Peters saying Superman has to fight a giant squid monster in the third act. Watched the credits and BAM Jon Peters listed as a producer on it. How do these crazy ass people get into positions where they run studios?
jafinbham writes:
on July 22nd, 2014 at 4:00:24 AM

@Porn-Fly
That little boy on the fire escape in Batman Begins who catches his periscope is Joffrey on Game of Thrones or at least was.

I've always wondered why Tommy Cruise wouldn't let his old lady be in the sequel.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved