WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek to Direct "The Shining" Prequel, Called "Overlook Hotel"

Posted: July 18th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek to Direct "The Shining" Prequel, Called "Overlook Hotel"Submit Comment
Mark Romanek, the director of "One Hour Photo" and "Never Let Me Go," is in negotiations with Warner Bros to direct "Overlook Hotel," which is a prequel to Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" movie and is based on Stephen King's original prologue to "The Shining" book which was cut prior to publication in 1977.

The film will tell the origin story of the haunted hotel through the eyes of its first owner, Bob T. Watson, a robber baron at the turn of the 20th century. Watson scaled the remote peaks of the Colorado Rockies to build the grandest resort in America, and a place he and his family would also call home.

Former "Walking Dead" showrunner Glen Mazzara wrote the script.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 7:42:40 PM

Some damned big shoes he has to fill.
Evil_Disco writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 8:21:41 PM

Well.. It can't possibly be any worse than "The Shining".
Admit it: It is a boring, sh*tty movie and it's only worth watching just because of the brilliant Jack Nicholson.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 8:25:28 PM

f*ck. Off.

The shining doesn't need a damn sequel.
If you want to do something related to The Shining, Make the film adaption of the sequel book that Stephen just wrote. I've read nothing but good things.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:02:34 PM

http://discordia19.com/main/the-shining-prologue-before-the-play
Words of Wisdom writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:03:00 PM

One's movement alleviates a symbolic representation of self-knowledge.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:08:05 PM

King of F5.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:12:19 PM

I have to agree with Evil Disco. Kubrik tried to make an art house film out of a King novel. It just dragged and I really hate The Shining more than 2001: A Space Odyssey.

If I were Mark, I'd rather do "Doctor Sleep", rather than a prequel to The Shining. I mean, Brett Ratner did a revamp on "Manhunter" and they even did "Hannibal Rising" (*for example) as a prequel to THAT ... and both movies were total and utter sh*t.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:15:36 PM

I don't care what ANYbody says. In my opinion The Shining is amazing. I can't be the only one here who absolutely loved the shining? It's f*cking excellently made and is easily one of Kubricks best films.

The direction, acting, cinematography. Come on its a great f*cking film.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:19:01 PM

@Tanman: please don't be stupid and play into the blatant trolling.
Minkowski, King of WP writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:28:37 PM

Interesting.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 9:55:46 PM

Fascinating the things you can find on this dump when you look

minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:20:37 PM

minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:20:55 PM

minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:21:11 PM

minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:21:54 PM

lawman writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:27:38 PM

Crambo,

You better listen to Mink. He knows best. If he says it, it's a fact and there is NO reason to even second guess it. He's just the bees knees.
lawman writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:28:47 PM

Crambo,

Holy sh*t. The Labrynth!!!
trutsky465 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:38:18 PM

Frank Darabont is really the only person who has made Stephen king books into faithful adaptations.

but really since this is more a cult film now days. I say make it into s miniseries, like they are doing with damn near everything else now...
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:39:10 PM

I sometimes overlook trolling for factual opinions. My bad minky and LOL MinksMomsVagina hahaha

That's the best one haha
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:43:00 PM

Trutsky-

He's had several ones adapted by others who were alright. Just don't expect masterpieces, that's all. I've always enjoyed Dreamcatcher, Misery, Shining, The Mist, IT, Langoliers, Green Mile, Shawshank. There's plenty good ones. BUT there's also a lot of horrible ones.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 10:48:07 PM

Most was awesome.
Langoliers was kinda crap but I still enjoyed it overall.
trutsky465 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 11:00:42 PM

Langoliers, green mile, shawshank redemption the mist and shining were the only imo faithful adaptations that lived up to the books and actually the shining is last on that list, prolly my least favorite Kubrick film. But still a bad Kubrick film is still better than most others. Would have been interesting though to see his version of A.I and his napoleon film with Pacino in the lead...
trutsky465 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 11:25:47 PM

What made the shining so awesome was the fact that Stanley just let a drugged up Nicholson run around on set with an axe. That's brave ..
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 11:49:55 PM

Have you ever seen Room 237? ^

Look it up. It discusses the controversies of the film. Many of which are complete horsesh*t, but it's still interesting.

I will forever love The Shining. It will always be my favorite King adaption. I guess this is just one of those examples of "everyone won't love what you love" things. There's nothing wrong with it. I'm sure I dislike fils that people here adore. I've just always loved Shining. That's just me.
lawman writes:
on July 18th, 2014 at 11:51:02 PM

Tan,

Kings movies are decent but if you read the novels, the movies suddenly aren't as good. Thy just don't translate to screen well. They are so much more creepy in his books. That's my opinion.
APCHEM writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:05:06 AM

Tan,

Room 237 is great. I liked it better than the movie. That's just me thoug.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:05:44 AM

@Tanman: don't listen to the deranged CHUD...The Shining is great in both forms and both media bring to the story different qualities not present in the other. People who say other otherwise are clearly quite stupid.
lawman writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:08:55 AM

^^

I was wrong. Kings books translate perfectly. Mink again has shown me the way. What was I thinking? Just the best ever.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:13:15 AM

^^Hush, psycho and seek out some much-needed therapy. Pretty sure your free ObamaCare covers it.

Damned persistent five-year multi-account emotionally-damaged troll.
trutsky465 writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:15:09 AM

@Tan thanks for the recommendation. I'll def check it out soon.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:24:56 AM

Lawman-

I can only agree because he has many B movies made at a low budget. But I bet if you remade those with a bigger budget and a better director they'd be decent.

@APC
I saw it in theaters and found its theories worth a mention.

@mink
Finally someone can agree in a sense. I found Te shining to be some what of a masterpiece. Very very well made.

@Trutsky
No problem.
APCHEM writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:30:31 AM

@lawman


Yes it was well organized and we'll put together. A lot of the theories were very thought provoking. The moon one is a tad crazy.
APCHEM writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:32:08 AM

^tanman

Sorry wrong person
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 12:37:57 AM

lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 1:11:55 AM

@ap

That was my fav. Although its far fetched, it's still kinda possible in an odd way.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 1:56:50 AM

tanman invite chloe grace moretz to planes 2! you are in for sure
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 2:18:31 AM

You know this one's going to be a smashing success. You can tell from the title. Overlook Hotel. Much better than The Shining. Or Doctor Sleep, which was a daring update that would been better served with Straub aboard.

But hey, kudos to the guy who made Robin Williams more than a fading, aging...who was I talking about again?
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 2:22:14 AM

Mink-

Are you as drunk as I am?...
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 2:28:07 AM

I wish I were drunk on something, tanman.

So did the minktroll go to bed? It always amazes me to see the same accounts flare up at the same time and disappear at the same time whilst saying the same thing and pursuing the same psychological goal.

When are people going to realize what happens on here matters not one damned bit?

I wish I had something good to watch because I've been studying networking all f*cking day and my head hurts like a whore's *sshole.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 2:30:13 AM

Mmmmm, fresh strawberries are so good. Better than blackberries, which always make me sh*t like a f*cking fire hose.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 3:11:05 AM

I don't really have anything to recomend mink. I've probably watched 6-7 films this week but all are typical films everyone's seen.

For now I'm just drinking beer lol Grandmas Cough medicine! ;P
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 4:42:44 AM

I here ya. Watching episodes of 48 Hours I found on youtube while learning some of this network sh*t. f*ck me, OSI and TCPIP are c*nts. Watched 11:14 last night only to remember I had seen it before. Decent film with some truly clever writing and inspired cinematography thanks to Shane Hurlbut but the digital look of the film is dark and grainy, thanks to early digital cameras, I'm guessing.

Oh well.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 4:51:17 AM

Nighty-night and sleep tight, my little deranged troll friend.
jafinbham writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 5:34:39 AM

If anyone's bored, I heard that Kody's mom puts out.
Evil_Disco writes:
on July 20th, 2014 at 8:45:56 PM

The Shining as a movie sucks. And overrated. And boring. Plus: It's got Shelley Duvall (spelling?) in it.
I'm amazed over the fact that a cave woman
The book however..
Evil_Disco writes:
on July 20th, 2014 at 8:48:32 PM

Dammit!

*I'm amazed over the fact that a cave woman like that could get a part in a movie with/by Nicholson/Kubrick.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved