WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Posted: July 15th, 2014 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"Submit Comment
While promoting "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes," Gary Oldman, who played Commissioner Gordon in "The Dark Knight" trilogy, was asked to share his thoughts on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice."

"They want to keep it going. Of course they do. But, it's Superman. Batman and Superman together. We shall see," he said. "The thing about ['The Dark Knight' director Christopher] Nolan, there was some grounding of reality to it. In our trilogy, and as fantastical and as big as The Joker was, it was based [on reality]... we could relate to it. But now we've got a Batman and we've got a guy who can fly who's an alien?! We'll have to see... It's got big shoes to fill."

Nolan has long discussed how Superman cannot be part of the world that his Batman exists in. Not only because he wanted to keep it as realistic as possible, but also because Batman would seem less interesting if the unstoppable Superman is right next door.

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 7:51:47 AM

Is Nolan still producing this series? I would getthe f*ck outof it, wash my hands clean of this mess.
jafinbham writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:05:57 AM

Translation: "What the hell are these greedy ass jews thinking? This stupid bullsh*t isn't going to work."
Cannon writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:20:02 AM


Just remember: he murdered Mathilda's family.

jafinbham writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:25:02 AM

Oh my god! I can just see his response now when he finds out that they've cast an Aquaman, Wonder Woman, and Cyborg.

"Well I guess they've just cast...EVERYONE!!!!"
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 10:16:26 AM

Gary and Liam are gods amongst men.
Words of Wisdom writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 11:35:00 AM

Existence is the path to visible possibilities.
Papillon writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 1:58:19 PM

ignorance is bliss.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 3:17:58 PM

I can agree with what he's saying. If you took superman and put him into Batmans world against all of Batmans villains, the stories would be over in 2 minutes. Superman would kick ANY of Batmans villains asses way to easy.

And obviously he'd f*ck up batman so it's going to be tough to see how they handle this whole film and which direction they take it.
PORN-FLY writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 3:27:03 PM

Right down the crappa^
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 3:47:52 PM

L.o.l. ^
hoddi15 writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 5:02:37 PM

Like to put Black Widow in the same team with Thor, Iron Man and the Hulk
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 6:10:09 PM

I like how Oldman is bitching that BvsS isn't as realisktic as Nolan's sh*t. One wonders what the dude is smoking. Probably ass. He should know that comic books aren't realistic, and comic book movies shouldn't be realistic at all. So it's not DC/WB's fault for trying to bring more of the films to screen without Nolan's realism, it's Nolan's fault for crafting a Batman that features none of the escapist fantasy of the comic books. Really, how does Oldman think DC can work around what Nolan has done? Put a jetpack on Superman and give him an exo-suit? Nolan f*cked up by taking Batman out of a larger mythical world and stripping him of any and all fantasy. Oldman needs to place blame where it belongs, and this one time, I think DC is in the right, just as much as Marvel is in the right for their fantasy films.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 6:11:14 PM

P.S. Shut up, Gary; you sound stupid as hell.
lawman writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:56:57 PM

Mink,

I disagree with you. Batman wasn't really fantasy based, on the level with actual SUPER hero comics, until fairly recently. It's base, and largely after, was a rich guy, out for justice, with toys, not powers. I think Nolan is more true to the actual Batman comics than anyone. It's always been reality based. Maybe loosely, but reality based none the less. Poison ivy, bane, penguin, etc. Mutations, genetic mix ups, whatever they were, they weren't flying aliens who could throw a barge with one hand. Oldman is right. It's going to be rough. I am SURE you will disagree and have multiple, long winded reason why, but that's MY two cents. And if you don't like it, you can French kiss my d*ck tip!
lawman writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 8:59:51 PM

Mink,

I disagree with you. Batman wasn't really fantasy based, on the level with actual SUPER hero comics, until fairly recently. It's base, and largely after, was a rich guy, out for justice, with toys, not powers. I think Nolan is more true to the actual Batman comics than anyone. It's always been reality based. Maybe loosely, but reality based none the less. Poison ivy, bane, penguin, etc. Mutations, genetic mix ups, whatever they were, they weren't flying aliens who could throw a barge with one hand. Oldman is right. It's going to be rough. I am SURE you will disagree and have multiple, long winded reason why, but that's MY two cents. And if you don't like it, you can French kiss my d*ck tip!
lawman writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 9:01:49 PM

And I am aware that the penguin and ivy weren't Nolan's characters. My point was that even as strange as they were, they were more plausible than a laser eyed alien. Your mouth, my d*ck tip. Make it happen!
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 9:50:44 PM

If Batman isn't fantasy-based then why do people call Nolan a genius for grounding his adaptation in the real?

You can't have it both ways.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 9:53:33 PM

Yes, just because Batman doesn't shoot fire from his eyes doesn't mean he's grounded in the real. It only means he's slightly less fantastical than his contemporaries.

Regardless, it comes back to what I said: Gary's a moron for wondering why BvsS is far more fantastical than Nolan's dry, insular and mundane take on Batman. What does he expect?
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2014 at 10:45:49 PM

Long story short, I'm right, you're wrong and no one cares but you, the multi-account troller.
lawman writes:
on July 16th, 2014 at 12:14:53 PM

^
Multi account? I've been here since '09. Not enough time to waste on multiple accounts. I'll leave that to the likes of dark side and the others. I also said it was MORE reality based. Implying still not 100% real but more plausible. But if being correct, even in your own mind, on a 3rd rate movie news site, gets you to that warm an fuzzy place, enjoy.
Evil_Disco writes:
on July 19th, 2014 at 7:19:43 AM

Gary Oldman - the only actor who ACTUALLY have the balls to say what's on his mind.
Every other Brown Noses in Hollywood should act like him.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved